Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Seelie Kay. Suffice to say I am “kissing” 50.

 Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Wisconsin (USA). I moved back there after living in Chicago, Minneapolis, and Richmond, VA.

 Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I write sizzling sort stories about lawyers in love, with a dash of kink. I’m a “recovering” lawyer and former journalist, but have been writing and winning writing contests since I was a child. I got my undergraduate and graduate degrees at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities and my law degree from St. Louis University. I also attended Northwestern University. I have a son and a man friend, and enjoy cooking and entertaining, good wine, great books, scintillating conversation, live musicals, and road trips to new places. I have a weakness for French pastry, in particular pain au chocolat.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Thus far, I have four books coming out this year (so far). Kinky Briefs, Quatro came out 2/24, Kinky Briefs, Cinque will be released 6/2, The President’s Wife in July and The President’s Daughter in December. I am working on the sixth book in the Kinky Briefs series and several other projects.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was a very quiet child, probably because I was one of five kids and could never get a word in. I started reading when I was three and writing shortly thereafter. For some reasons, instead of voicing my childish protests out loud, I penned them. Fortunately, my mom saved some of my notes, written in crayon. I won my first national writing competition when I was in third grade and things just took off from there.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

There was never a point when I applied the label, it was just always something I did.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wrote my first non-fiction book under another name in 2002 and have since ghostwritten books others for professionals. My decided to write erotic romance several years ago when recovering from multiple surgeries. I needed something to do and had so many ideas running through my head. I discovered that I enjoyed it.

 Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Kinky Briefs series I a play on the type of stories I write. The characters are kinky lawyers and in law, we call our legal memos “briefs.”

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Once inspired, I just go with it. I write until the idea plays out—sometimes eight hours at a time–and then come back to it when I have time. I can honestly say I have never used an outline in my life.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Let’s see, I write about lawyers and the law, so obviously I draw from past experiences and people I have met. However, my characters are a conglomeration of many different personality quirks and foibles. I just never found any lawyer, judge, politician, or other person in Lawyerland so interesting that they were worthy of being featured as an entire character.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

In my imagination, in my dreams, yes. Never physically, though.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher has staff who design covers. Luckily, the designer I work with understands my vision for my books. She is awesome.

 Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think several themes have emerged in my books, most obviously that I believe in the power of fantasy, as well as romance, love, and commitment.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

My favorite writers are J.D. Robb (Nora Robert’s Dallas series), James Patterson, David Baldacci, and Lisa Scottoline.  I read up to five books a week and I am always looking for new writers who capture my interest. But I don’t rely on just one book. I look for consistent quality and entertaining plots. There seems to be a lot of one-hit wonders out there.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My support comes from former teachers, friends, my editor and publisher—eXtasy Books–as well other authors. Several groups have been particular helpful—The NuRomantics and Marketing for Romance Writers.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It has been my career in some form my entire life. Right now I not only write books, I ghostwrite for others. That is how I make a living.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I probably would have focused on more storylines and characters that could be continued in subsequent books. I was not prepared to develop such strong affection for soeme of my characters, such as the Sheikh.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

That I worry too much about getting to “the end.”

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Because I write short stories—10 in each Kinky Briefs—my characters span a wide range of ages and characteristics. But if I was casting the story for the Sheikh and the Wisconsin international law attorney, I would cast a younger version of Omar Sharif and me. (Hey, I had a full theatre scholarship to Northwestern University.)  Seriously, why would I allow someone else all that pleasure?

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Just do it. The more you write, the better you get and the easier it becomes.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

If you enjoy my stories, please leave a review?

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

J.D. Robb’s “Dark in Death” and several historical romances.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Don’t laugh. It was most definitely one of the “Dick and Jane” books. Later I became a Nancy and Cherry Ames fan.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Life. But I chose to be happy and seize the joy in each day. So I find the humor in life. I laugh, a lot.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Benjamin Franklin. I have long had a crush on him. What an incredible mind. I imagine we would have intense conversations into the wee hours of the night. He was also somewhat kinky, so I imagine he would be quite entertaining in other areas as well!

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I am a foodie and great cook. My life tends to center around trying new foods, recipes, wines, and desserts. I love farmer’s markets as well as organic gardening. However, I also love art, music, and theatre, and enjoy getting out to museums and live venues. I also to crochet and read.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Scandal just ended, but Olivia Pope was me in another life. I also love The Good Doctor, Designated Survivor, and Bull.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Anything chocolate: Pain au Chocolat, triple chocolate mousse cake, French silk pie, turtle brownies, etc. Color: Blue. Music: I love opera. I play it when writing.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Buy a hobby farm and raise goats and chickens, while tending a hydroponic garden, fruit bushes and trees, and stocked fish pond. Then I would open a cooking school for disadvantaged and disabled children.

Fiona: You only have 24 hours to live how would you spend that time?

With my son, having a picnic on the lake, explaining the legal arrangements I have made to ensure he thrives.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She chose joy.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My website: www.seeliekay.com, my blog: www.seeliekay.blogspot.com. I am also on Facebook and Twitter.