Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name.

Hi my name is Nakendra Harris-Mason

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am from Los Angeles Ca, but I reside in the IE

 Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am a 33 year old author I will be 34 February 7th, well what can I say about myself, I believe that I have a drive and a force to go after whatever it is that God called me to dohere on this earth and that’s withanything I put my mind to do, rather it’s going after my dreams, goals and visions or even if it’s helping someone out.I’m the 3rd child out of 7 I’m a twin, I have a twin sister, I also have 3 brothers and 2 other sisters. My mom was a single mom but she did her very best with raising all of us. Far as education wise and my accomplishments, I have my highschool diploma, followed by my AA degree in ministry. I received a Queen Swagger AwardTrophy,and also a GirlsWho Rock AwardTrophy. Now I hold the title of being a published author with two books out and working on book number three. I also became a health and awareness life coach, I’m a CBD Distributor for Total Life Changes Company, but with all that I do I let it have its patients. Mylife has not always been A pat on the back, it seemed as if it was full of roller-coaster rides, on and off even as a child,but what I’m glad I did do was held on. Even when the ride got bumpy,I still held on and it paid off. I am a loving wife, mother, daughter, granddaughter sister, and friend. I am a mother of 4 sons, yes, all boys. I am also a bonus mom; my husband Marvin has 2 sonspreviously before me, which we have now a total of 6 sons all together. I enjoy family time; I enjoy going places with my family making memories just enjoying life in general cause you only get one life.

 Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Well my latest news I’m working on my 3rd book titled (I Found Me,) it’s the second addition to my first book (Who Am I,)it will be available for purchase really soon.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was a little girl at the age of 8, but at the age of 13 is when I discovered that I knew how to write poems, short stories, and music, yes most definitely music.Writing is like my pain reliever medication, it has always made me feel at ease, it brings my thinking level down to a momentum. I have a way of thinking a lotand a lot of people with great minds all we do is think. I always come up with all these great ideas and there go my thinking level rising sky high, so with the writing it helps me bring it down a notch.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I first considered myself a writer when I was in high school 9th grade. People would pay me to write poems for them I would charge 2$ a poem I’ll never forget that, I use to walk around the school with my folder in my hand filled with poems. I would let people read them and they dang there wanted to take the book from me, but thinking back on that, I figured maybe this is me, maybe this is who I am. I even had the opportunity to write part of a song on one of Snoop Dogg records but when he found out my age, I was only 16 at the time I didn’t tell them my age I wantedto become this famousgirl rapper and singer. I was always mature for my age, but when they found out my age the song it couldn’t be released. I got confirmation one night that I was a writer when I was sitting in my room, I was 15 at the time,and there I was with a note pad and a pin sitting on my lap and I would just write. I heard a soft voice say (You’re A Writer.)I know that was nothing but God telling me who I was and what my purposewas, and that’s a writer and here I am going on 34 apublished author, with the full proof of knowing I am a writer through my books and God word don’t lie.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

God first and foremost, and as it follows also my struggle, my past pains, and my testimony is what inspired me to write my book.

 Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I prayed about it, and that’s when everything started flowing and the title and chapters came to my mind.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My style is very authentic I actually write how I talk, if that makes anysense,I’m very original and I most definitely try to stay in my lane when it comes to the writing game. The only challenging thing would be for me is if I ever give up, and giving up is not an option for me. So maybe that won’t be too big of a challenge after all cause I’m not giving up.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My books are all based on life itself, I love to write about myreal-life situations and experiencesand becauseof those experiences it uncovers my truth

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No I just work from home, I would work on my craft early in the mornings while my sons are at school, or I would even work at night when they are in their beds sleeping. My mornings and nights are peaceful so that’s when I take advantage of the quiet time and I just write.

 Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 Well my first book (Who Am I,) I had a picture of myself painted by a college student I would always support her because she was using the funds for college so I helped her out but didn’t think that I was going to use it for my book cover. I called her up like “hey would it be ok for me to use your work in my book she said “Hell Yea you can.I just laughed at her because how she said it. Even though it was still a picture of me I just asked out of consideration and the respectI had for her work. My second book cover I also did myself.

 Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, in the back of my book whereI encourage people all over the world, to keep on going until you get the results that you have been long waiting for, and never settle for less, If you think big, you get big.,

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I never really had a favourite author but I do have a few favorite books that I love reading,one of them is The Holy Bible, and two(The Four Agreements)by Don Miguel Ruiz and of course my books (Who Am I) and( Marriage made & what comes within )  All those books have meaning and they’re not just telling stories in the books but they are messages that you can gain wisdom and knowledge from.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 It was me, myself and God, and I was allowed to use LuLu’spublishing company as a plat form to create and publish my very own books but I did get a lot of support at both my book signings from family and friends even people I didn’t even know.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes,it has been a career for me going on 3 years now.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’ll keep everything just the way it is.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, I’ve learned that whatever I do,tell the story just the way it was. Don’t leave nothing out and be honest and truthful with my audience.

 Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I’ve always loved Vivica A Fox she is like my all-time favorite she can take a role and actually become the character. I so love her realness,and I love how she’s so blunt. I use to watch her on the Tv screen and I use to say she reminds me of me, I’m going to meet her one day, and in 2014 I got the opportunity to meet with her at one of my good friends Tomeka Holyfield GGTH event. The boxer Holyfield’s niece. Vivica Fox actually stopped and took a picture with me too she was so sweet and I was so happy.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Yes, whatever you do, make sure this is your passion, make sure that being a writer is something that you were called to do, make sure it’s something that you love to do, becauseif writing is what you love to do,then it will never feel like hard work and you can never get tired of it.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

My message is to inspire those that have less hopeat this very moment, the less hope that I had growing up, I want to encourage them and inspire them on their journey of life, and to help them rebuild their hope through my books, meaning if I can get through my down falls and short comings then anybody can get through whatever they go through in life.

 Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Currently I am not reading a specific book but the book that I do read ona daily basis is the Holy Bible the King JamesVersion and inthat book is where I found the truth about life, it’s also where I found my confidence, my strength and my way.

 Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, I remember the kid books at an early age that I adored reading, but asI got old enough to remember, I was handed a bible book.

 Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

What makes me laugh? well that’s easy, anything that’s comedy, even my Husband Marvin Mason he keeps me laughing on a daily basis, he doesn’t even do it intentionally,he’s just naturally funny even though he doesn’t think so but he is. I find humourin almost anything. Far as crying I rarely cry, but I do have a soft spot in my heart for those that go through things and can’t help themselves, I’ll drop some tears on that or if I lose someone I love or if someone I love is hurting. I have always been a tough cookie if that’s what you want to call it. I’m weird sometimes, I’ll cry over the silliest things even something someone did good or even something I did good, my husband did good or my sons didgood,ill cry and call it happy tears, or I’ll cry when I’m praise and worshipping that’s about it.

 Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would love to meet Tyler Perry, Oprah Winfrey and Ellen The Generous why them three because they are biginfluencers that have a gold mind andwhom I have always admired see now I can work with anyone of them on my career path any day.

 Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Yes, I do, actually I have a few, I love being ahairstylist, I also love singing, dancing, and acting and taking walks to clear my mind.

 Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I Enjoy watching lifetime I would sit up and watch lifetime all day really when I’m not busy or have anything else to do

 Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I love southern cooking, that good oldsoul food, I also love mexican food too, see that’s like one of my favorites. My favourite color is red,it was my dad favourite color as well, he passed away when I was 7 years old, due to gun violence so I still hold on to some of the little things I can remember him by. Even if that was liking the color red. When it comes to music, see I was born in the 80’s so I love that old school r&b music, the 80’s &90’s music andas my mother or grannywould say (them good oldoldies. )

 Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’ll remain humbled, because when you come from a place of humbleness you will always find ways to do something no matter what the career path may be.

 Fiona: You only have 24 hours to live how would you spend that time?

With Family and close friends

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

(Well Done)and whatever else my family put on there.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Yes, I have my link tree and on there you can find me and all of my info and social mediasites as well also where myreaders can purchase a copy of my books. Just click on the link.

https://linktr.ee/Mrsmason_2019

Thank you for considering me for an interview, this was so much fun.

-Author Nakendra Harris-Mason