Name Suzie Lockhart

Age 51…ugh

Where are you from Pittsburgh, PA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

Born in 1966, I was adopted by a lovely older couple who had tried to have a baby for 20years. I discovered a love for writing in 5th grade, and was highly encouraged by many English teachers to WRITE! But I was also good at art… I graduated from Norwin Senior High School in the fun & fabulous 80’s, and a little later that decade, graduated from The Art Institute of Pittsburgh. I was a ‘Jack—or Jill-lol—of all trades; I worked in retail, then back at the Art Institute as an Admissions Rep. After my third baby, I freelanced as a caricature artist, a Pampered Chef Representative, and a jewelry designer. It was after I had my fourth child, my only daughter, that writing called me home.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

In elementary school, I was painfully shy, and often bullied. In the fifth grade, I had an amazing English teacher who helped bring me out of my shell…through writing!

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 

When I got my 1st story, ‘Instinct’ published in Dark Moon Digest’s ‘‘’Frightmares: A Fistful of Flash Fiction Horror’. I was able to let my mom, who supported my writing 100%, know I finally was going to be published…two days before she passed away.
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

That is something I am still working on. A few years ago, my middle son & business partner, Bruce and I completed an 85,000 word YA novel. A few agents requested the manuscript, but ultimately, they turned it down. The initial idea has changed and evolved, and we are working on something new. It is also a Young Adult book, but is top secret for now.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I have written Horror, Young Adult, Dark Fantasy, and I just sold my first Erotica short story—under a pseudonym. Together, Bruce and I have about 50 short stories published, and have edited several anthologies. Three of those placed in the top ten in the P&E Readers’ Poll.
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

We came home from vacationing in our favorite spot, Wildwood, New Jersey. We were refreshed, and discussed in detail what we felt we needed. Let’s just say…we went from really hot to really cold.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The novel will deal a lot with people fearing what they don’t understand.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There will be parts drawn from real life experiences. I can say no more.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

J.K. Rowling.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any newauthors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

As mentioned above, J.K. Rowling. There are other authors whose work I greatly admire, such as: Robin Wasserman, M.R. Carey, Stephenie Meyer, Lisa McMann, and Scott Westerfield.  Right now, reading submissions for ‘Killing It Softly, volume 2’, I have read so many outstanding stories that it is hard to narrow down to just a few authors. Besides, I don’t like to play favorites-lol!

 

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My good friend and former neighbor, Lesley Boatright. She is a busy teacher and mom, yet she took the time to read not only quite a few of my short stories, but our entire young adult manuscript. My Aunt Gloria and birthmother, Linda, also took time out of their hectic lives! Thank you all!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Writing and Editing, yes.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would write it faster!

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Through the encouragement of my 5th grade teacher.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Due to the success of the first volume of ‘Killing It Softly’, my publisher, Digital Fiction Publishing decided to do a second volume. I just completed reading submissions for #2! I am also working on a poetry anthology for Lycan Valley Press.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Softly-Digital-Fiction-Anthology-ebook/dp/B01LX96Q69/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1495505519&sr=1-1&keywords=killing+it+softly

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Not trying to edit my work as I go. And writing something every day.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The publishers I work for take care of that.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Imagining the future.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

We were so naïve writing our first manuscript! I miss that, however…it’s much more difficult now.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

No way! I’d rather be behind the scenes!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t. Give. Up…!!!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

‘The Ones’

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Nancy Drew…all of them!

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I like ‘Inside Voice’ humor. I hate to cry.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Of course, I’d love the opportunity to take a stroll with Jesus Christ, as I am a born-again Christian. However, the slightly darker side of me would love to meet Mary Shelley…I am a true oxymoron!

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Something nice. I often feel as if I do and say the wrong thing. We recently memorialized my Grandfather, who was a WWII vet…a paratrooper. He was an amazing guy; everyone adored him. He had a great sense of humor, and a sunny disposition. It made me want to be better…

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I make jewelry sometimes. I love to read, naturally.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

That list is LONG!!! Walking Dead, Homeland, Scorpion, Better Call Saul, I Zombie, Billions, Orphan Black…The best movie I saw this past year was ‘The Arrival’. Brilliant!

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Mack’s Pizza in Wildwood, New Jersey. Black. I like a wide variety of music, from Sam Cook to Aerosmith to Lady Gaga.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

An artist. Or a football player. A wide receiver, to be exact. If I was a guy. A big, fast, strong one.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I mostly promote through Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/Suzie-Lockhart-authoreditor-519626704905620/

https://www.amazon.com/Suzie-Lockhart/e/B00DTIG29I/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_12