Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Brandy Dorsch.  I am 38 years young.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I currently live in Pittsburgh, Pa.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am a married mother of three.  My husband and I have been married 17 years in just a few weeks.  We have two sons, ages 16 and 13 and an angel daughter that we lost a few years ago. I work for a hospital as a medical coder and I enjoy it.  I am an amazon one click hoarder.  I have several thousand books on my ipad and my TBR list will take a lifetime to work through.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am currently getting ready for a signing in July called Kiss and Tell.  I have been invited to write in Kindle Worlds.  We are doing a project called The Bennett Witch Chronicles based on Bonnie Bennett from The Vampire Diaries.  I am excited about this.  I have a writer’s retreat that I am participating in this August.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote poetry in high school but I didn’t start writing till a few years ago.  I have always created stories in my head but never thought to be a writer.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

*snort*  I don’t consider myself a writer.  I usually identify as a reader or blogger before I even think of being a writer.  I have taken some time off of writing to care for my husband and I am just starting to pick up again.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

A few years ago I was selected to be part of an exclusive group that works with Avon Publishing.  I was reviewing books for them on a regular basis and started blogging.  Not long after that a group of the girls and authors decided to participate in NaNo (National Novel Writing Month).  I joined them.  I wrote my book in 9 days.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Everlasting Hunger.  Actually, my youngest son came up with it.  He thought it sounded “vampirey.”

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I don’t feel like I have a particular style.  I currently write paranormal romance.  The difficulty with this genre is trying to find something a little different to make your book or characters unique to everything else that is out there.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Very little.  When I was struggling to figure out what to write, my husband reminded me to write what I wanted to read and that is where Everlasting Hunger came from.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No, I don’t do any traveling for them.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Rachel Mizer over at Shoutlines Designs.  She did the covers for Everlasting Hunger and Eternal Beginnings.  Jena Gregoire designs my websites and she did the cover to the #AmWriting book that I am involved in.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Just to have fun and that not everything has to be the way society dictates.

 

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I live in the world of Indie writers.  There is always someone new that I am discovering.  I don’t have one favorite writer.  There are too many that I love to read over and over again.  I just finished the final book in the Fallen Crest Series by Tijan.  She amazes me with the way her characters have developed over the series.  I am a huge fan of Julia Quinn and her Bridgerton Series

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

There have been a lot of people who have encouraged me to follow my dream of being a writer.  I had a boss a few years ago that allowed me to write at work on my downtime.  He always told me that he admired that I was willing to step out of my box and do something extraordinary.  He passed away from cancer at 33 but I still think of him often.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

LOL! Not for me.  I sell books every month with Amazon but not anything that would allow me to do more than go to the movies.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Well, I am currently working on five books so at this point there isn’t anything I would change.  I like the direction that they are heading,

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, I am a pantser.  This means that I just sit down and start writing.  I have learned that I need to find a way to be more organized with my writing and outlines.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Honestly, I have never thought about it.  If it was optioned I think it would be better for tv than a movie.  I would love to see Stephen Amell in the role of Jasper.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Believe in yourself.  It is easy to see reviews and think that you are a failure or that you should quit but just remember that opinions are like a$$holes, everyone has one.  You don’t have to live your life based on someone else’s opinion of your work.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Don’t give up on me.  I know it has been awhile since I have published everything but I am getting there.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Nothing at the moment.  I have several that I need to review but haven’t decided yet.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I don’t.  I do remember that I picked up my first Harlequin at 10 and I never looked back.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My kids and my friends make me laugh.  My husband’s battle with cancer makes me cry.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would like to meet Joan of Arc.  She was an amazingly powerful and strong woman.  She faced difficulties that would have broken many people but she stood fierce in her beliefs.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading is my hobby.  There is nothing better than a hot bubble bath, a glass of wine and a good book.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I am a TV/Movie junkie.  I love all the Marvel films, romantic comedies, Dramas, anything horror based (especially Wes Craven movies) anything by Joss Whedon, and pretty much anything that catches my eye.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Coffee is a food group for me.  I love chocolate and pizza.  Sushi is a must have as well.  I am an eclectic when it comes to music.  I listen to everything from CCR to Justin Bieber.  I love Halestorm.  They are one of my favorite bands.

 

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would continue to read and support all of the amazing authors that I have grown to adore over the years.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Nothing.  I plan on being cremated.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

They can follow my author stuff at brandydorsch.com.  If they want to follow my review blog it is romancebookworm.com.  I also run a blog that sends out daily emails with sales and bargains on paranormal and urban fantasy books.  It can be followed at paranormalandurbanfantasybargains.com.

My personal FB page:

https://www.facebook.com/brandy.dorsch

Author page:

https://www.facebook.com/authorbrandydorsch/

Blog Pages:

https://www.facebook.com/RomancebookwormsReviews/

https://www.facebook.com/paranormalandurbanfantasybargains/

Twitter handles:

@romancebookworm

@pufbargains

#AmWriting: http://amzn.to/2rNoH5O

Link to Everlasting Hunger: http://amzn.to/2rec7zI

Eternal Beginnings: http://amzn.to/2qSoU9Q

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Brandy-Dorsch/e/B00EHIM716/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1495565597&sr=1-2-ent

Thank you so much for taking the time to talk to me!  I am beyond grateful!

 

