Name: J.D. Walker

Age: 42

Where are you from: I was born in Kingston, Jamaica and currently live in Atlanta, GA. By day, I’m an executive assistant (whoopee!). I’m married to a wonderful man and we’ve been together for 18 years.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I had a box set released this past Saturday called “Heavy Metal Blues.” It’s a compilation of four stories that I loved writing, and each one connects to the other. This coming Saturday, the next story in my “Let it Beatle” series – “Can’t Buy His Love” will be re-published. I can’t wait!

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always dabbled in writing, whether poetry or songs, but an event in my life truly made the difference. In 2013, I had major cancer surgery. I was depressed for months and my husband was at a loss to help me through it. In September of that year, I came across JMS Books and for some reason—I don’t remember why, now—I decided to send in a short story (5k). The acceptance letter I received truly lifted my spirits and started me down the road to where I am now. I’ve always enjoyed reading—I’m rabid, really. But writing my own stories? I love that.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The minute I had something published, I considered myself a writer, though there’s always something to learn.

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The need to find a way out of severe depression and dealing with difficult and persistent health issues.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Strangely enough, I seem to write differently, depending on the publisher. Not sure why… Other than that, I tend to create quirky, snarky characters that give as good as they get. The subject matter varies, but has a romantic slant, naturally.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

When it comes to book titles, inspiration can come from anywhere. I could be walking down the street and see the wording on a sign and decide, at that moment, that it would be perfect for a story. Sometimes, my husband comes up with titles, too. The titles in the “Let it Beatle” series are all his.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I would like my readers to believe that they all have it in them to be happy and successful in life and love, no matter what is thrown their way.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All of my stories are fiction. Here and there, a scene might be loosely based on things I’ve seen or what might have happened to someone I know, but most of the stuff comes out of my head. Trust me, it’s madness in my brain matter.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I am a lover of the written word. I will read anything, any subject matter, genre, as long as it’s interesting. So it’s hard for me to say what would have most influenced me. I think everything I’ve ever read, and continue to read, has had an impact.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love Megan Derr! Her ability to create a fantasy world and world-building boggles the mind. I read her books voraciously (including under the bedcovers, when I should be sleeping—please don’t tell my husband). I simply find her brilliant and would love to be as good a writer and creator of characters and stories as she is.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The fact that people actually read my stories and enjoy them keeps me going many a day.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to be a fulltime author! That would be frickin’ awesome.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Actually, no, I wouldn’t. And If I missed something, I can learn from it for next time.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I don’t remember. I just found, one day, that I was putting words to paper, and that was it.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The story that is coming out on October 15th with JMS Books is called “Can’t Buy His Love.” It is part of the “Let It Beatle” series and is about a man (Wheeler) used to getting his way with men, and the guy who couldn’t care less (Gregory). Wheeler has to be willing to change to get the man he wants, and Gregory has to overcome fear and a horrific incident in his past to let Wheeler in.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes, the words just don’t come. I typically write my stories in one sitting, which makes for a long day, but when the ideas are flowing, for me, it’s best to get them down on the computer before they float away. Sitting in front of the screen and waiting for the words to come can be frustrating, but eventually, it passes.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I’ve never traveled for my books. I typically prefer to promote online. But I won’t rule that out…

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Each publisher I work with does its own covers. I love them!

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

There typically isn’t much that’s difficult about writing any of my stories, unless the research is strenuous. But once that’s done, the ideas form and it’s usually smooth sailing, unless the characters stop talking to me, for some reason.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

My characters tend to surprise me, and I always forget that until it happens. I’ll be typing a scene, and all of a sudden, one of the MCs will decide to do something totally opposite to what I was thinking. They never fail to shake things up.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Hmmm…let’s see: if “To Catch His Mate” were to be made into a movie, I would love to have Gerard Butler play Felix Cotter and Alexander Skarsgård play Tyler Panterone.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never stop writing! Even if you get busy with life, or don’t feel inspired, jot down a paragraph, a sentence, something! Keep the creativity flowing. You never know where the inspiration will come from, and you should always be ready for it.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for reading my stories! I wasn’t sure what would happen when I was first published, but you have made being a writer the best thing ever!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading the “Lost Gods” box set by Megan Derr. I know, I know, I’m addicted.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I wish I did. It was probably a fairy tale or children’s story of some sort.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Movies, TV shows, good friends, my husband, make me laugh. Poverty and war make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

There are so many on my list of people to meet. But, I would love to sit down and have coffee with Scarlett Johansson. I find her to be a splendid actress, who chooses roles that suit her and may or may not be popular, and is ever graceful. She is intriguing and has so many layers I’d love to get to know.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“She never held back.” I believe in living life to the fullest, as much as possible, and I’d hope that when I die, I will have done that.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Sure. I’m a musician (guitar, piano, banjo), singer-songwriter, artist, crochet and knit enthusiast, lover of movies (yes, even the subtitled stuff), and languages (German, French, Spanish).

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The list is long, but includes: Daredevil, True Detective, Three Musketeers, Archer, Orphan Black, Vikings, Outlander, Game of Thrones, Elementary, Copper, Deadwood, Torchwood.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love the color green! I am a fanatic for fruit and smoothies, pasta (gluten-free), potatoes, salads. Music – all kinds!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Performing as a singer-songwriter worldwide, or being an artist and having pieces in galleries around the globe.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website:  www.lifebyjo.com/jdwalker

Blog: www.lifebyjo.com/blog

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/J.D.-Walker/e/B00JZ0HGA8

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100011939403485

Twitter: https://twitter.com/authorjdwalker

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/walkerjd

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/jdwalker

 

 

My next release is “Can’t Buy His Love” on October 15th at JMS Books. Here’s the link: http://www.jms-books.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=29_94&products_id=1894.