Name  Jenny Old

Age 70 years

Where are you from  Ashmore on the Gold Coast. Queensland Australia

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I attended Boarding School in Sydney, then completed my nursing training in Melbourne. I travelled to Europe for 12 months before moving to the remote Northern Queensland cattle country to develop a property from scratch with my husband Rick. Now live at the beautiful Gold Coast. We have two sons, daughters-in-law and six grandchildren

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have recently published my first book after 10 years intermittently working on it.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always loved to write, but the idea of writing my story of 18 years in a male dominated world came to me, with encouragement from my mother, to compile all the handwritten letters I had sent to both families and write my story. We did not have a telephone, hence the letters and both mothers kept them

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer? 

I think when I saw my name on the cover of my book. I am now an AUTHOR!!!!

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to highlight the importance of the role of the women in the Outback and share my story, which is pioneering, but in modern times….the 1960’s-1980’s

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Honest, simple and with humour.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

‘McAllister’ is the name of the property we developed. I did have another name until the week before the final edit!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes. Determination, commitment, dealing with the difficult times with optimism and a sense of humor and LOVE will conquer all!

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All true

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

“How to win and Influence People” by Dale Carnegie.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t have a favourite author, I love different books.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

A friend, playwright, author, actor and mentor, who helped me edit my book, Donald Macdonald

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I have left my run a bit late!!!! However, I will continue to write. I have another book in my head, ready to go.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nothing

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I always loved English Literature at school and have always been an avid reader.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My story, 18 years spent in a male dominated world without any conveniences at the beginning. Despite all the hardships, it was a period of my life that I loved.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

What to put in and what to leave out!!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I will be travelling to promote my book, to the Gulf Country (next week) and to my hometown. I will be doing many presentations, telling my story

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

InHousePublishing

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The editing. It went on forever!

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learnt so much about myself. I look back and wonder how I did what I did and realize that I have become a much better person and a lot stronger through my experiences. Also, the importance of the role of the woman in the Outback.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

Jessica Marais

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Start. Write without analyzing. Let it flow, then edit.….

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Enjoy my story.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I have just finished the Neapolitan series by Elene Ferrante

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My sons and my grandchildren do both!

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Puccini, my favourite composeer

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She always looked on the bright side!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love gardening and I have been learning Italian for 6 years. I love it!

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love fils and shows based on a true story, or shows that make me laugh

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music  

I love all foods, especially Italian. Blue. I love all music apart from loud rock. Arias from Puccini and Verdi.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have loved to have done horticulture

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.jennyold.com

 

Jenny Old Author Interview

 

 

 

Buying link USA https://www.amazon.com/McAllister-Jenny-Old/dp/192549702X?ie=UTF8&keywords=jenny%20old%20mcallister&qid=1462689557&ref_=sr_1_1&sr=8-1

 

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/McAllister-Jenny-Old/dp/192549702X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1464849833&sr=1-1&keywords=McAllister+by+Jenny+Old