Name Lily Luchesi

Age 22

Where are you from Los Angeles, CA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m a Chicago born, LA-living Italian girl. I have had a difficult past, but am a proud survivor of many emotional and situational issues. I am an LGBTQA rights activist, animal lover, feminist, and fangirl. I love going to comic conventions, watching TV, and playing video games. I am happily single, an insomniac, and I graduated high school at fifteen. I gave up being a psychologist to live my dream of being a writer.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well, on January 8th, Vamptasy Publishing published my second novel, Miranda’s Rights. It is the second book in the Paranormal Detectives Series, and it follows my protagonists Danny Mancini and Angelica Cross as they fight evil paranormal creatures in Chicago. However, things get complicated when a woman Danny believed was dead for over twenty-five years returns.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always made up stories in my head, usually fan fiction of my favorite animes. When I was eight, my second grade teacher gave me the love of taking those ideas and putting them into words. I’ve been devoted to my craft ever since.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t think there was a time when I didn’t consider myself a writer. Even when I was just a kid, I always knew this was who I was. It’s not just a job for me, it’s my whole life.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Well, my very first book I have on the backburner, so I won’t talk about that right now.

The first book I had published was Stake-Out, the first book in the Paranormal Detectives Series. And I was sitting on the couch, watching a crime drama and I thought to myself, I wonder what would happen if a cop’s perp turned out to be a vampire? I have always loved vampires, and it was a idea I really got into. I finished the book in less than four months.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Hm. Good question. I like to be very precise, I like to make sure my characters have their own voice. I like to use pop culture references and puns as well. I like to think you know it’s me when you read my work, and that as I release more books my voice will be more recognizable.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Each title in the Paranormal Detectives Series will have a police-base. Stake-Out, Miranda’s Rights, and the books following will also have police themes that can also be used for vampires. I don’t want to reveal the other titles yet.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are two different messages I hope my readers get: be open-minded, which is Danny’s message. Don’t believe stereotypes, don’t judge on a whim, and don’t be prejudiced.

Angelica’s message is to be your own hero. Despite your disadvantages, despite your doubt, despite everyone telling you you’re a freak or will amount to nothing: tell them to go screw themselves and be the hero of your own story. Use your pain to make life better for yourself and for others if you can.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

The location is the most real part of it. I grew up in Chicago, and I wanted to write the good and bad into my city as well as I could. The building the Paranormal Investigative Division is located in is a real place, as is Danny’s neighborhood. As the series goes on, I’ll take the characters to other major locations in the city and its suburbs.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My grandfather was a Chicago police officer and my mom used to work for the sheriff, so some of the things I know I learned from my mother.

Angelica’s attitude and her drive to succeed come from me. She was told she isn’t good enough because of what she is, she went through major traumas and she came out on the other side stronger and better.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Many books influenced me. Mainly Stephen King, Edgar Allan Poe, Charlotte Bronte, Arthur Conan Doyle, and of course Bram Stoker. Specifically, the Cirque Du Freak series by Darren Shan, The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod by Zac Brewer (nee Heather), and the Vampire Kisses series by Ellen Schreiber were big influences on me.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I read anything and everything. I love Stephen Kozeniewski’s work, Rue Volley, H.G. Lynch, and a few others in the indie scene. Right now I am reading Kozeniewski’s Every Kingdom Divided and am reading an ARC of Fake It by Victoria Kinnaird.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

The ones listed above, as well as Mary Fan, Elizabeth Montgomery, Jennifer Raygoza, Hope Daniels, Carmilla Voiez, Krysten Lindsay Hager, and Caherine Stovall are just a few of the greats of this generation.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

On February 4th I have an erotica horror story called “The Devil’s Dozen” that will be released in the Death, Love, Lust anthology. It is F/F and focuses on Friday the 13th and the angel of death.

I have also nearly completed the third book in the Paranormal Detectives Series. I hope to have it in to my publisher in a week or less!


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

God. I was down, He lifted me up. I was depressed, He gave me something to be happy about. I was ready to quit, He sent me a reason why I shouldn’t.

There were friends who were also there for me: Stephen, Nadine, Mary, Krysten, Krista, and Katie.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do. It is hard to make it in the indie book world, but I think it’s possible with a lot of hard work, investments, and a solid team behind you.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I love the way it turned out.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As I mentioned, I loved to make up stories in my head and my teacher helped me enjoy writing as a hobby. My mom used to write poetry and I was always surrounded by books, so I suppose it was inevitable!

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is a quick snippet of Miranda’s Rights:


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Making the paranormal feel real. I want readers to pick up my series and say, “Wow, I can see this happening in the real world.” I want you not to just enjoy it, but to believe it and to live it.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Stephen King. He makes ordinary things seem frightening, he can scare the living daylights out of me without needing to resort to excessive use of gore, and he has entertained me with every single book he has ever released. I hope to, one day, be able to do what he has done over the course of his career.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No. Everything I need is in my head already or easily obtainable via Google.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Rue Volley is my cover artist and I absolutely LOVE her work. I was a fan before I signed up with CHBB Publishing, and when I found out she was doing my covers I was ecstatic. She’s brilliant, and I wish I had one tenth of her talent.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writer’s block. I get terrible writer’s block because of my depression, and it was very hard completing my work and getting through it.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Never give up. When Stake-Out was accepted, I was ready to give up. I had a file full of rejection letters, and then my current publisher offered me a contract.

Another thing I learned was to never judge your own work! What I found to be [insert negative adjective here], my readers loved. It was surprising for me, and very pleasing.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I have three things to say: never give up, expand your horizons, and write what you love. I never thought I’d ever write erotica, but I did and I enjoy it. I never wanted to write anything but a vampire story for my debut novel, and here I am: writing a series of them. Doing what you love and what makes you happy is the most important thing.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Don’t pigeonhole yourselves into what type of books you read. Read everything that comes your way and take something from every book.

I love readers’ enthusiasm. I am a fangirl myself, and I can relate to how it feels to get a new book in your hands or on your Kindle. Enjoy every second of reading; don’t let people make fun of you for being a bookworm. It’s the most fun I’ve ever had.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I started reading on my own when I was two and a half, so it was a Winnie The Pooh book. The first chapter book I read was Mary-Anne Saves The Day from The Baby-Sitters Club series.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I’ve lived a hard life, so I try to find something to laugh/smile about every day. I love to Google cute animals, read satire, and watch my favorite TV shows to smile.

What makes me cry? Bigotry. Hatred. Homelessness. Hunger. Violence.

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

That’s a hard question. I think J.R.R. Tolkien. He has entire worlds in his mind and I would love the chance to pick his brain. I have a million things I’d like to know!

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“She never gave up.” Because I didn’t When I was suicidal, I fought. When I was homeless, I survived. When I was hungry, I lived. Like Jared Padalecki says, “Always Keep Fighting”.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to play video games. Usually mobile games like Candy Crush and anything Sonic The Hedgehog. I also like to dabble in graphic design and I love to read (of course). I also love comic books. I am a total nerd and proud of it.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a part of the SuperWhoLock fandom, I love The Flash, Arrow, Big Bang Theory, and Hannibal. I love The Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit trilogies, anything made from a Stephen King novel, 10 Things I Hate About You, anything with Johnny Depp, Heath Ledger, Jared Leto, or Lindsay Lohan.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love food. I love to cook. I especially love Italian (my heritage).

I love black and red.

I love MUSIC. I listen to everything and have a playlist just for my series. I especially loved rock and metal. My favorite band is My Chemical Romance.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have been a child’s psychologist. I use my studies in that area to enhance my work.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do have a website. There you can watch book trailers, get information about upcoming releases, see my dream cast, join my street team, and sign up for my free newsletter. http://lilyluchesibooks.wix.com/lilyluchesi

 

http://amazon.com/author/lilyluchesi

http://facebook.com/lilyluchesi

http://twitter.com/LilyLuchesi

http://instagram.com/lilyluchesi

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7369101.Lily_Luchesi

 

 

Book links:

http://smarturl.it/Stake-OutBk1

http://smarturl.it/MirandasRightsBk2

http://smarturl.it/InThreeWords

http://smarturl.it/LoveSucks