Name Ailsa Abraham (also known as Cameron Lawton)

Age Old enough to know better, too mad to care. (pensioner)

Where are you from Narnia

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc 

Educated in Britain up to a degree in Drama with English Teaching (yes, two degrees at same time – busy student). Total mongrel, Scots/Irish with German Jew thrown in. Only child. Always consider animals more my family than people.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 Getting better. (No, this is news, I’ve been rather ill since doing a triple somersault off my motorbike)


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Aged six when I was disgusted with a reading book from school. I re-wrote the last half to my own satisfaction.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Most of my life. I have always written for the amusement of my friends.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I got involved in fan-fic and the group ganged up on me to submit some to a publisher – snapped up with a demand for a second and there I was.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 Not at all. I love doing all styles. Everything is a challenge and fun.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Which one? All my titles just popped into my head while walking the dog. My characters usually come up with them.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, in all of them although I try not to hit the reader over the head with it. Principally in many varied situations it is “don’t judge people before you know them.”


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

All my books are based in my own life. The paganism of Alchemy series,  military life in Cameron’s books. I never “guess” at things because I feel that show through.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Eve by Shani Struthers who is a colleague and friend of mine. She is also very interested in “other world” and we chat about it a lot when we get the chance.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Books 3 and 4 of the Alchemy series, the next book in Jack and Rory for Cameron and two other projects, both non-fiction plus I’m toying with branching out into crime under my own name. Cameron’s boys are military detectives so it is a genre with which I’m familiar


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

“Entity”? That’s an interesting way of putting it. I would say Nature. My shamanic path means I take to the green when I need comfort or inspiration


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes and no. I am retired from work on invalidity so I don’t have a “day job” but I’m realistic enough to know that very few authors earn a living wage from writing


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. They are like babies – you give birth to them and love them as they are.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As a very small child I was given Beatrix Potter (Nature again!) wee books which I taught myself to read and from then on I was a book fanatic.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, time and health. Although I don’t work I am the world’s most disorganised woman plus since my stroke I get blinding migraines if I type for longer than an hour.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, only in my head – oh and Shamanic journeying which is a different thing


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publishers designed the covers of both genres. I did the one for my self published funny memoir but wouldn’t do it again. Professional next time, please.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The synopsis and blurb. I can write whole novels faster than I can do thos


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? 

Yes. Thank you for buying my books and please leave a review. You cannot know how good that makes an author feel.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

On my own? Yes, I think it was Biggles but can’t remember which one. I was a real tomboy.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 Everything and anything. I laugh at things all the time as a weapon. I cry because I am a sentimental ole beast. I don’t cry at cruelty, I just get furiously Valkyrie-like angry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Yes, Jeanne d’Arc a religiously-driven woman who pursued her path despite every obstacle put in her way.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

 Yaaaaahaaaaaa fooled you! Just because it is the sort of thing I say now.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Motorbikes (yes still) knitting and reading. I am an avid fan of TV detective shows too

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Comedy, especially kids’ cartoons like Shrek

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Mainly vegetarian, purple and black, any music except rap.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Already done so much in my life, perhaps would have continued as a veterinary nurse which was one of the best jobs I ever had.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Facebook Page

Twitter
Website

International links – takes you to YOUR Amazon

Shaman’s Drum

Alchemy

 

Cameron Lawton’s Books (over 18s only)

 

Four Go Mad in Catalonia (comedy autobiographical)