Name C.G. Elmore (Charlotte)

 

Age 49

 

Where are you from Rota Spain (military base)

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

 

I live with my black cat Salem in Oklahoma City and have four grown children. I have three girls in the service. Two in the Airforce and one is retired Navy. I used to teach cosmetology and love teaching. I am currently a full-time college student working toward a degree in English.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

It is Christmas time, I have set up a new tree and bought all of my presents. We have two big Christmas parties coming up at the building I live in, and I am cooking some sweets for that soon.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 I began writing when I was six, for my own entertainment, and because I enjoyed it.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 When I was 15.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 The first large book I ever read, by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss. (Ashes in the wind)


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 Not that I am aware of. I am still working on my own style.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 I generally will plot the book out some in my mind and get a real sense for the book, I then just ponder on the book for awhile until a good title comes to me.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 I always hope my books will relay a sense of good moral aspects.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?  

 Contemporary I hope is very realistic. My children’s series, House of Charming, is a fantasy about a talking cat.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 From my own experiences or understandings.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 In the beginning, Kathleen E. Woodiwess’ books, then Harry Potter and now I really enjoy Georgette Heyers regency Romances.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 Frederica by Georgette Heyer.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 I enjoy the Goulfriends series by Rose Pressey.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

 Currently I am working on House Of Charming book 2 and a set of Cozy Mysteries.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 My mother.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 Yes.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Yes, and because it is digital, I am doing so now.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 No, it has been there as soon as I was able to read. I have always been an avid reader.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 Mocha & Macabre, the first in my cozy mystery series is set in the West Virginia mountains and has two friends in search of one’s father who has disappeared amongst a house fire. A shadowy figure and a town walker hold clues and secrets that bring them together are exposed.

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Just not procrastinating.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 Georgette Heyer has such a great grasp of period language and superb researching of the times she writes about. Her words flow flawlessly and she is a great example to try reach for in one’s own writing.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 I do travel as much as I can and use this for inspiration. I research locally and online tho for the most part. We have a large Metro library here in Oklahoma City.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 I designed most of my covers. I don’t have a website to share on the other ones.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 Constantly rewriting and editing.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 I learned in my first book that it never seems to be finished. You just have to give it up after awhile.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 Write. That is the biggest secret. Just do it.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 I appreciate my readers and feel privileged when they read my stories.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 Little golden books, Johnny Appleseed.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 My Cat, My kids.

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

 I would like to see my Grandma again. She died when I was 12, and I would like to get to know her better.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ? 

 Mother. Because that has been my biggest challenge and who and what I am at heart.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

 I love my cat and animals in general. My outside activities are visiting with the homeless and just talking & listening to them.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 I love Downton Abbey, and lately have been enjoying Mr. Ed on youtube.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

 I love bright colors and Reggae music. I love most foods. Chocalate anything is probably my favorite.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 Teach at a college level.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? 

Author C.G. Elmore 

 

