Name   Rachael Richey

Where are you from  

I currently live in Cornwall, was brought up in Hampshire and then spent fourteen years on the Isle of Mull

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I am married with a grown-up daughter (who scarily got married in August), a fifteen year old son and a lop-eared bunny.  I have a degree in History and Art History from the OU.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The third book in my NightHawk Series is due for publication in February, and the fourth book is currently with my editor.   I am also trying to get an agent for my fifth book which is unconnected to the series.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing since I was about seven when I used to write stories about my dolls and teddy bears.  By the age of ten I was writing stories about a whole school full of imaginary girls who had completely unbelievable adventures.  I kept dabbling with writing for years, but never quite finishing a novel, until February 2012 when I suddenly sat down and wrote Storm Rising, the first of the Nighthawk series.  This led on to the following three books and I haven’t stopped since!  I constantly have stories and characters roaming around in my head so I don’t really have any choice!

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I used to say I was a writer about twenty years ago when all I’d really done was start a couple of novels and submit a few short stories to magazines.  But I didn’t really consider myself  a writer until I wrote Storm Rising.  I think the amazing feeling of having completed a full length novel (and quite a long one at that) made me realize I could legitimately call myself a writer!

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Now that depends on what you class as my first book.  If you mean the first one I had published, Storm Rising, then it all came from a single scene that came into my head.  From that grew the idea of a story, and eventually that turned into Storm Rising.  The original scene wasn’t actually in the book in the end either.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really.  I write in all sorts of places and at very strange times of the day.  I have written some of my best chapters in the early hours of the morning.  Just realized that may not be what you mean by this question.  I sometimes try to be organized when I’m writing, and plan how the chapters are going to go, but most of the time the characters decide where the story is going to go, and quite often surprise me!

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title is the name of a song that the hero wrote and that his band play.  It seemed to fit.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No.  😀 It’s meant to be enjoyable escapism, but with a slightly darker edge.

 

 


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

I hope it all is!  It’s all things that could actually happen.

 

 


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really the main events, although some of the minor things probably are.  The main character dresses like me, but she’s much more interesting!

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have been a huge fan of Daphne du Maurier since I was a teenager and would dearly love to be able to write as well as her.

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I seem to be spending so much time editing my own books I haven’t had much time for reading lately, but one of the last books I read and enjoyed was Five Go Glamping by Liz Tipping.

 

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Liz Tipping and Claire Douglas

 

 


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Well, I’ve been trying to decide what to write for NaNoWriMo.  I started a chick lit novel a couple of months ago but seem to have ground to a halt with that for the moment.  The other possibility is a sequel to a book I finished writing back in the summer.  I have the idea for that rolling around in my head at the moment and it’s quite an enticing prospect.  Or I may do a fifth book for the NightHawk series.  I’m very indecisive!

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I belong to a brilliant group of writer’s on Facebook.  We are all very supportive and they have been amazing.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.  I long for writing to be my only career, but until it starts making proper money I shall need to keep the day job!

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.  😀

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Well, I have loved reading ever since I learned how to do it, and my parents were very encouraging with that.  Also my father loved to write and was generally sending manuscripts off to publishers, or submitting to magazines.  That was of course in the days when everything was done by post.  Much easier now!

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

This is an extract from Storm Rising – my first book:

Abi saw the car as she came along the main road. There were never many tourists around in November, and to see a strange car parked in the lay-by was worthy of a second glance. Probably someone who got lost, she thought to herself as she turned down her track.

She had spent the day with one of her clients in Penzance, sorting out the artwork for their new marketing campaign, and she was very glad to be home. She had lit the fire before she left the house that morning, and the chimney was smoking cheerily as she got out of the car and headed for the front door. As she turned to close it behind her, she once again noticed the strange Range Rover parked on the main road. She paused for a second, then shivered and closed the door. For some reason the sight of it had given her a little chill in her heart. She shook her head in exasperation. What was she turning into? The events of the past week must really be taking their toll.

She tossed her jacket down on the sofa and went into the kitchen to put the kettle on. As anticipated, the little cottage was very warm and cosy, and Abi anticipated a lovely warm relaxing evening. Although she was very fond of her friend and neighbour, she couldn’t help hoping that Chris wouldn’t pop over. She really fancied a night to herself.

She made a cup of tea, cut herself a slice of cake, carried them both over to the fire, and sat down on the hearth rug. A basket of logs stood to one side of the woodburner, and Abi opened the doors and tossed another log onto the already roaring fire. She gave a little shiver of pleasure. She really liked to be warm. She was going to enjoy the evening.

She leant back against the sofa, extended her legs in front of her, and took a large bite of cake. No sooner had she done that than the doorbell rang. Abi rolled her eyes and tried to swallow her cake.

“Come in, Chris, the door’s open!” she called, spraying crumbs in all directions.

After a moment the door slowly opened and a deep voice said, “I’m not Chris. Can I still come in?”

Abi leapt to her feet and swung round to face the door. For the last ten years she had dreamt of the moment when Gideon Hawk would appear on her doorstep, and now it had finally happened she had no idea what to do. For a few long seconds they stared at each other, neither daring to speak. Then Abi took a tentative step forward and nodded her head jerkily.

“Yes. Come in,” she croaked, her mouth suddenly dry, adding automatically, “Mind your head.”

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Not really.  Once I come up with story (usually the hardest part) then it just flows.  I love characterization.  That’s the easy bit!

 

 


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Daphne du Maurier.  She paints a picture with her words.  She also crosses several genres with her work, which I love.  It’s great when a writer is that versatile.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Well that would be nice.  I would love to go to all the places that feature in my books.  However, I have set a couple of them in places I know well (Cornwall, South Wales and Paris), but one of my books is set almost entirely in New Zealand where I have never been.  It’s amazing what you can get from Google Maps!  I also wrote a whole scene in New York using a map of Central Park and have been told it was very accurate.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Tina Lynn Stout.  She is one of the designers who work with my publisher, The Wild Rose Press.  I love her designs.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The first page!  Get that out of the way and I’m fine.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

My grammar and spelling have improved!  Too many things to list to be honest.  But it has given me masses of confidence.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up.  Always believe in yourself and don’t be disheartened by rejections.  Just keep writing.  The more you do the better you get.  And very important, keep reading.

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Please buy my books, you won’t regret it!  😀

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I’m afraid not, but apparently I read Little Women when I was seven.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Oh that’s a hard one!  Depending on my mood, practically anything!

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Daphne du Maurier.  I would love to talk to her and get inside her head.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Here lies Rachael Richey Author – and a link to my Amazon page!  😀

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I like drawing, and of course reading.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Now you’re asking!  I adore the Die Hard movies, and Kill Bill, and Terminator, and Star Wars, and possibly my favourite film (which most people seem to fall asleep to) is Reds.  As for TV I love Doctor Who, Downton Abbey, Frasier, Modern Family, Fawlty Towers and This is Jinsy.  And loads more!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza, chocolate and Pinot Grigio.  Colour changes but at the moment bright blue.  I like lots of music, but since I wrote the NightHawk series I have got very into grunge and really like Nirvana.  I also love Bruce Springsteen, Neil Young and Joan Baez.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Air Traffic Controller.  Very nearly went to train as one when I left school, but ended up going to agricultural college instead.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes.  http://rachaelricheybooks.weebly.com/

These are other links:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B00T38BXSI   Amazon Author page

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00T1OK4ES   Amazon link to Storm Rising

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B010CE70CE  Amazon link to Rhythm of Deceit

 

 

Due out in February