Name.  Paul White

Age. A little over twenty one, (again).

Where are you from.  Originally I am from Portsmouth, an island city on the Hampshire coast.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I have since been adopted by the kind folks of Yorkshire, where I now live with my wife, a senile cat and five fish!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

At present I am in one of those strange stages which many writers find themselves in every now and then. When creating new work is not the prime reason for getting out of bed in a morning.

I have one completed book for which I am ‘seeking representation’, then I have one other book that I am making a number of adjustments too, in accordance with an agent’s suggestions.

I have yet one more work ‘on hold’ while I review, edit and re-write.

Further I have recently contributed to three various anthologies and written two stories for a sci-fi website. (Sci-fi is not my chosen genre, so I found that quite challenging).


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

The very first writing, that was recognised as such, was a short poem about the ‘Angel of Death’, this was a task set by my school English teacher when I was around six or seven years old. The poem was published in that years school magazine. (I still have a copy!).

But I really started to write seriously in 1975/76. But like many writers I was very self-conscious about my work and much lay hidden away in brown envelopes and cardboard files for years

For instance, my eBook Miriam’s Hex was at first or second draft stage for twenty six years before I plucked up the courage to re-write, edit and publish it!

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Not until I published The Abduction of Rupert DeVille, in fact not until I had sold a few copies of the book and realised that people actually enjoyed what I was writing did I dare consider myself a writer.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always loved reading and, as a child, I used to make-up bedtime stories to tell my younger sisters. So, in hindsight, it seems a natural progression. But it was my wife’s ‘jollying’ that gave me the final push to get-my-head-down-and-write-seriously.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I have a personal writing style, one which directly interacts with the reader. This does not mean all my writing has the same narration, quite the opposite in fact. I alter the narration and the viewpoint for differing tales, sometimes for differing characters within the same story.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Finding a tittle is always a challenge, I don’t know anyone who is completely, absolutely, totally convinced that any title is the right one. You just have to find some you like, share it with those you know, look at the books out there and….well, take a flying leap, go with and keep your fingers crossed!


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No….well not a single message. Throughout ‘The Abduction of Rupert DeVille’ there is a lot of soul searching from the three main characters, Rupert, Carla and George. Within their thoughts are questions and uncertainties we all hold, maybe these carry some message….or maybe warnings? You will have to read the novel to find out!


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?


I do not think that any author can write a whole book without at least a little of themselves bleeding onto the page. From that point of view there is a good deal of reality and a large chunk of me in there somewhere. What the reader perceives as the truth are often lies, while the lies are just that, unless they are the truth.

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have often said that many books have influenced me, ‘Down by the Dockside’, ‘Garp’, Cider with Rosie’, ‘Catch 22’, ‘The moon and Sixpence’, ‘Under Milkwood’, ‘The long March’ ‘The Art of Japanese Management’, I could fill a whole page and still not scratched the surface of inspiration.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now I am reading three books, the main one is ‘Cryptonomicon’ by Neal Stephenson.

Then there is ‘Alphabetical’ (Non-Fiction), a book about the story of the history and formation of modern letters in out alphabet.

The third book is a collection of short stories from Duncan Ralston, and Indie author, called ‘Sweat & Blood’. I have offered to write a review for this one.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Sqiud Mcfinnigan has me hooked with his book ‘Honeysuckle Lane’ I have only read a few excerpts from this so far but have his book on my cloud reader, it is the next on my TBR list.

I also have Kris Nacole with ‘Love him Back’ and Elizabeth Horton-Newton and her novel ‘Riddle’ to get to soon.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I always have too many things floating about. I should really concentrate working on a book I have given the working title ‘Lucky?’, which is coming along slowly, but is destined to be a major work, a novel of some 160/70 thousand words….so it will need heavy editing and pruning out….or maybe not….maybe it will need to be much longer to tell the whole tale?

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love my writing, my fiction writing to provide a large enough passive income to support me until I shuffle off this mortal coil! But I don’t think I could ever stop writing.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The best way I can do this is to suggest you visit Sneak Peek where you will find excerpts from all my books. https://takeasneakpeak.wordpress.com/ You will also find the same from many other indie authors.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

For one of my current projects, ‘Life in the War Zone’ I have been to Helmond Province in Iraq, Cairo in Egypt and Lebonaon.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have designed all the covers of my books. I feel that I must place my mark on the outside as much as my words are within.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Read a lot, consistently and write even more.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Enjoy the story.

Take what you will, how you will from each book, from each tale. As long as my words connect with you, touch you in some way and the story stays with you long after you have closed the finale page, then we shall both be happy.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Generally it is either humor or pain!

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I guess that would have to be Adam. I would walk into the garden of Eden and put him straight on a few things about women!

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

‘Ouch, you’re standing on my foot’

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website is http://paulznewpostbox.wix.com/paul-white I try and keep this updated with the current ‘things’ I am up too.

If you like writing why not visit ‘Ramblings from a Writers Mind’ where I blog about writing. https://ramblingsfromawritersmind.wordpress.com/

If you like reading ‘A Little more Fiction’ has a number of my shorter stories you can read for free. Why not take a look? https://alittlemorefiction.wordpress.com/

Authors Amazon page http://www.amazon.co.uk/Paul-White/e/B00CJCT5DK

