61mxw5uRsUL._UX250_

Name  Renita D’Silva

Where are you from

I grew up in India but now live in the UK

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I studied Electrical Engineering and worked in IT, giving up when my children were born.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My new book, A Sister’s Promise, is out on the 2nd of July. If you don’t want to wait until then, it is available for pre-order here: UK: http://amzn.to/1EZxpfa
US: http://amzn.to/1FpR5fv

51DZW5tgopL._UY250_


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I love stories and have been making them up in my head for as long as I can remember. When my youngest started school, I enrolled in an Adult Education Creative Writing Course, indulging my passion. I started off writing short stories and when they got published, went on to write a novel, my debut, Monsoon Memories.

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

It’s always been my secret dream and I cannot believe I am living it! I still have to pinch myself now and again J


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It started with a picture of two young girls, sisters, sitting on a veranda, sipping tea and spinning tales, while rain causes havoc in the fields. Two girls, on the cusp of adulthood, their future a blank slate waiting to be filled. What happened to them, I wondered?

I am of the opinion that our memories define us. They are our bridge to the person we once were and our benchmark for determining how far we have come. I wondered what it would be like if you couldn’t access those memories, if you had to wipe out your past because of something painful that happened to you. If you had to start anew in another country, and had to build a new persona for yourself from scratch, blocking everything that came before. What would that make you? How would you cope?

All these questions percolated in my head and wound their way into my debut, Monsoon Memories.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My books start as pictures in my head. If, when I read back what I have written, it matches, somewhat, the images in my head, I am happy.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I find titles very hard, much harder than writing the book! How does one go about condensing 100,000 words into a succinct couple of words that will tantalize and draw the reader in, while also conveying the message of the book? I have to thank my wonderful publisher, Bookouture, for the title of my latest book, A Sister’s Promise.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think with all my books I tell stories about ordinary people in extraordinary situations, how one moment, one decision can affect so many lives.
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

All my stories are quite plausible and could happen in similar circumstances.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No. My stories are pure fiction conjured up by my overactive imagination. Having said that, the descriptions of places are gleaned from places I have seen and experienced.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Andersen and Grimm Fairy Tales which made me fall in love with books and stories.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, which is just the most sublime book of all time, in my opinion. I almost don’t want to read the sequel. What if it doesn’t live up to the perfection that is ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’?

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy which consumed me. And allowed me to dream, secretly, that one day, I too could write a book.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Secrets of the Last Nazi by Iain King. It is fabulous. Turns everything you have believed on its head.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Secrets-Last-Nazi-mindblowing-conspiracy-ebook/dp/B00WWRPVHQ

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Too many to count. But recently I read Alchemy: a story of a perfect murder by Chris James. Wow, a fabulous book! One of my favourites of all time.

UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Alchemy-historical-psychological-suspense-thriller-ebook/dp/B00TOEHXK8/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1433611992&sr=1-2&keywords=alchemy

US: http://www.amazon.com/Alchemy-historical-psychological-suspense-thriller-ebook/dp/B00TOEHXK8/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1433612034&sr=1-1&keywords=alchemy+chris+james


Fiona: What are your current projects?

My latest book, A Sister’s Promise, is out on the 2nd of July.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My publisher, Oliver Rhodes, of Bookouture is a fount of knowledge and wisdom. He is also very patient and always answers any queries, however silly. I am incredibly lucky to be published by Bookouture.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. A very fulfilling one at that J


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, although if left to myself, I would never be ready to let it out into the world. I would be constantly tweaking and changing. In that respect, having deadlines is a godsend.
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I fell in love with stories when I started reading at the age of five. Since then, I have always been making up stories in my head.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s the blurb:

Two sisters. Bound by blood. Torn apart by love.
My sister – the glue that held our family together and the gatekeeper to the memories of our shared childhood.

The girl I made a pact with – to protect each other for life.

The woman who destroyed my family, my future.

And the only one who can save my daughter.

Set against the dramatic backdrop of India, A Sister’s Promise is a powerful, emotional tale of family secrets, love and the ties that bind sisters together. 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Harper Lee. I love the way she gets inside the child’s head and tells an amazing tale, getting across a powerful message, but never losing sight of the story.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I was very lucky in that I got to travel to India for the launch of my debut, Monsoon Memories, over there. That was an amazing experience.
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The wonderful Bookouture.
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part is fighting my self-doubt, overcoming it. It hits me halfway through every book and I have this strong urge to give up, to delete everything, a voice in my head telling me it’s rubbish. I have to keep writing through it, persevere and then another ten thousand words on, my characters start speaking to me again and I am over the bad patch.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up. Remember that you only need one person to say yes and it might be the next person you send it to.
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for reading my books.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Andersen and Grimm Fairy Tales

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading, Cooking, Spending time with family.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A librarian; a book reviewer; work in a bookshopsomething, anything to do with books.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do! It is:

http://renitadsilva.com/

 51UVJZxigYL._UY250_51xARuou79L._UY250_513JwFjnIeL._UY250_

 

Amazon Author page UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/Renita-DSilva/e/B00DH9TUNY/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

 

Amazon Author page USA   http://www.amazon.com/Renita-DSilva/e/B00DH9TUNY/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1