Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Hello! It’s wonderful to meet you, thank you for this blog – it’s a wonderful way to meet authors and learn about people in the writing community.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hiya! Thank you for having me on your blog! My name is Rose Wallin, and pen name is Roze Wallin, I’m 29 years old.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Wyoming, USA, but have lived all over the States. I’ve moved nearly 50 times in my life, so I’m from all over. I currently live in Southern New Mexico.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a Spiritual Christian. I’m lucky enough to have been married to my best friend for a little over 11 years. I have no children, but a home zoo filled with animals I adore caring for. One of my favorite rooms in our home, is my guinea pig room, were I have quite a few piggies I’ve taken in through my rescue, Rozie’s Guinea Pig Oasis. I also co-run an exotic pet shop and rescue, Desert Rat Exotics. When I’m not writing, I’m caring for some form of critter or customer.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I published my latest book, “The Endo Chronicles” in March. It was written in honor of/about women who live with the condition endometriosis, which is listed as one of the top 10 painful conditions a human can have. I’ve dealt with this condition since I was 7, and while it’s taken more from me than I like to admit, I’ve met so many incredible women with endo over the years. The 6 women featured in this book were inspired in various ways, by women I’ve met and been inspired by.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember, and tried writing my first novel in middle school, although it’s never seen the light of day. It had been a long-held dream of mine, to be a published author. I finally took the plunge after completing a NaNoWriMo novel in 2016, and since then, I’ve published 8 titles.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have considered myself a writer since elementary school, when I began writing short stories and poetry.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had a line run through my mind when I was cooking, and thought it was funny. When NaNoWriMo came along that year, I decided to jump in and try writing a novel, and that line came back to me. It inspired a novel, as well of the rest of the trilogy that followed.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title, “Desi Pere” is actually a Latin word broken in half. It’s the name of the main group featured in the novel. The sequel, “Sospi Tare” is another Latin name broken in half, and is the name of the group that opposes the Desi Pere. I’ve always loved Latin – I took it as my language choice in High School, and it’s stuck with me ever since.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I don’t think I do, no. I write in whatever style fits the story I’m telling. I like to think I’m a bit of a chameleon; I change to fit whatever the story needs. The most challenging part, is when a novel requires a style I haven’t written in yet, or is a genre I’m new to writing in, and I have to learn and adapt.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

None of my books are realistic, apart from “The Endo Chronicles” which has several of my own life experiences in it.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Not often, no. I’ve travelled quite a bit in my life, so I tend to rely on those experiences.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design my own covers, which has been a bit of learning process over the years. I haven’t gone to school for it, but I’m fascinated with graphic design and love learning as much as I can about it.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are messages in each book, they’re all a bit different.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’m hoping to find some new authors soon, I’d love to find some new series to dive into. My favorite writer is probably Chaucer, although Shakespeare has definitely been a long-time inspiration.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Honestly, God. He’s been my rock through the whole process, helping me get stories right, and giving me the strength to keep going, even when it seems pointless.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

In a way, yes. I’m not sure what will happen with it, but it’s what I love to do, and I don’t see myself ever stopping.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think so, no, I’m pretty happy with it.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

The challenge of telling the stories of 6 different people and their families, mainly. It was an adventure.

 Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

This is a challenging question! With 6 lead characters, the easiest way to answer is probably to link my Pinterest board, which has my vision inspirations and actor choices for each character.

I also have a listing on My Cast where readers can add their suggestions for actors to play each character, or to get a good idea of the suggestions others have made.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Have fun with it! Writing is difficult, publishing is even more difficult, and the whole process can be exhausting if you’re not having fun.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

My biggest dream is to write stories that entertain and make people think. If people read my books, I’m honoured! That’s a dream come true right there.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m not reading anything at the moment, unfortunately.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It was my children’s Bible, when I was 2. I learned to read so that I could read that book in particular.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Just about anything will make me laugh – I love to laugh. I don’t cry often though, it takes quite a bit to get my tear ducts to wake up.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Oh gosh, that’s a long list.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I am definitely a serial hobby lover. Most anything artistic, espeically painting and jewelry making, reading and writing (obviously), making music, dancing, hiking, walking, cooking, graphic design, video creation…there’s quite a bit.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My favorite show is Friends, and I rewatch that at least once a year. Tied for first place is Supernatural. I also enjoy the comic book series shows like The Flash, Arrow, etc. Gilmore  Girls, Mash, I Love Lucy, The Dick Van Dyke Show, Stranger Things, Boy Meets World, and a few anime shows are some other favorites. I don’t enjoy watching anything with heavy romance or bedroom scenes, or obscenely gory, but I’ll watch most anything, espeically with action and adventure.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Italian food is my jam, and my hips are proof of that. My favorite colors are purple, black, silver, red, and green. I’ll listen to any genre of music, but I am a bit picky with the lyrics I’ll listen to – words are powerful, and I don’t enjoy entertaining songs with lyrics that promote violence or rape. I enjoy every genre though, each has their place and I’ll listen to whatever the moment demands. Music is my lifeblood, I can’t live without it.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’d probably get back into acting. I used to be an actress, and was pursuing that as a full time career for years. I still may get back into it, but for now, I’m happy writing the stories instead of portraying them in person.

Fiona: You only have 24 hours to live how would you spend that time?

Having the best dance party of my life, and spending time with people I love.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Spread love, and keep creating. Ciao for now!

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Yes! I have a website, a wordpress blog, a blogspot blog, and a newsletter! I’m also on facebook and have a group where I post updates and teasers

Amazon Authors Page USA  https://www.amazon.com/Roze-Wallin/e/B01BCPEKKC/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

UK  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Roze-Wallin/e/B01BCPEKKC?ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1&qid=1562962172&sr=1-1

Book Links

“Desi Pere” (Swirling Secrets #1)

“Sospi Tare” (Swirling Secrets #2)

“Prae Lium” (Swirling Secrets #3)

Or for ease, the whole Swirling Secrets Trilogy

“A Throne for a Dog”

“Marco Polo Psycho”

“Sandy’s Fight” (Controlled Chaos #1)

“The Endo Chronicles”