Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Ginger Elinburg and I’m 43.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from Southeast Arkansas, out in the sticks.

Fiona: A little about your self (i.e., your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a wife (nineteen years today), a mother of three and I am also the human of a spoiled rotten pooch.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m currently working on a few stories for a future book that I hope to publish before 2019.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in middle school to escape from life. I remember writing my first horror story in seventh or eighth grade before switching over to poetry for a few years. Now I write mostly paranormal and suspense.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When one of my first poems won a school prize. It wasn’t a big deal to anyone except me.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

A Ouija board. That’s not even a joke. I was playing with a few friends and “the board” said my house was haunted by a little girl named May. Soon after, I started building this whole world in my head about what happened to this little girl and pretty soon, Wicked Welcome was born.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Not really sure. To be honest, I think I put it there as a place holder and it kind of grew on me.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I’m a “pantser” writer. I don’t plan anything out and I’m usually surprised at the turns my story takes. The thing I find particularly challenging about writing in the paranormal genre is trying to write something that hasn’t already been done to death.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There’s a little bit of my life in every book I write, not a lot, but enough that people who know me have said, “I heard your voice when I read that.”

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I don’t travel, unless driving to town counts. I have had some of my best ideas while driving to the grocery store.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve designed and created every one of my covers. I’ve even taken a few of the pictures myself.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My books are mostly fantasy, so there’s not really a message in any of them.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Shay Bell, S.E. Isaac, B.W. Ginsburg.

 My favorite author, Stephen King. His work is some of the most twisted I have ever read, and I enjoy every single second of it 😊

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Rachel S. – When I met her, everything about my life as an author changed. When I wrote Wicked Welcome, I put it up after being turned down by ONE publisher (this was before I knew about self-publishing). I was at work one day and happened to mention it to my new-found friend and she encouraged me to look into publishing it myself. She didn’t just mention it once in passing, that’s not her style, she kept at me until I finally caved and dusted my manuscript off. I love her for that.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, at least, I don’t think so. I like the new direction it took today, and I can’t wait to see where these characters take me.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned that I can’t force my characters into a situation just because I think that’s where they should be. It’s their story, I’m just their voice.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

If Wicked Welcome was made into a film, I’d want Emma Stone to play Morgan.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Write when it feels right. Don’t force it; you’ll not be happy with it and you’ll probably be mad later.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Go in to my books with an open mind, watch out for the twists and turns, and I hope you enjoy my stories. If you do, leave a review. If you don’t, same thing. Tell me what works and what doesn’t. Help me grow to be a writer you’d recommend to others without hesitation.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Abandon by Blake Crouch

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I remember reading was Savage Surrender. I was fourteen and hiding in a closet with a flashlight.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh at stupid things and cry watching Dodo videos.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet?

Stephen King

Why?

He fascinates me.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I guess my hobby would be taking pictures.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Paranormal Witness, Law and Order: SVU, Sex and the City, Grey’s Anatomy, DIY…

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Favorite foods – Pizza, burgers, cake

Colors – Black, red, green, and grey

Music – As long as it’s not country, I’ll listen to it.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Photography.

Fiona: You only have 24 hours to live how would you spend that time?

With my husband and children doing whatever they want.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“Just because I’m dead, doesn’t mean he’s single.”

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

https://igetlostinwords.wordpress.com/

 Amazon Author Page

Wicked Series

Hunted by Death

Hunted by Death II

Draçon

Whispered Deceit

Sharp Edges

Killian’s Pass

Always Girl