Name Zrinka Jelic

Age 51 going on 52

Where are you from

Born and raised in today’s Croatia, for the past 30 years calling Canada my home.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  I have diploma in Early Childhood Education and Business Accounting. Quite two different fields, I know. I work in an office, as a Credit Analyst, which is credit and collections department but as it seems it’s a department that handles everything.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My seventh book titled ‘Dangerous Benevolence’ was released on March 7th by The Wild Rose Press.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote for as long as I can remember. Or maybe back then I’d call it scribbling. There were stories written at the back of every school notebook. My mind would start wonder during the math class and I had to get the story down. Kept me out of trouble. The teacher thought I was writing down the notes from the blackboard.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Not until I wrote my first full length novel “Bonded By Crimson”

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Many things, and as I wrote it the inspiration changed. I found one writes website where authors give comments on each other’s work. At first, people were nice, but there were those who were there to discourage, belittle and even ridicule.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write in third person limited POV, meaning I only take one character’s POV per scene or chapter and for the most part stay in POV of the main characters. Don’t show secondary characters’ POV. ‘Dangerous Benevolence’ is written entirely from the male’s protagonist’s POV. I find to keep the mystery going and only show one POV keeps the reader glued to the story. Otherwise much could be given out by showing other characters’ points of view.

Fiona:  Why did you go with Tirgearr Publishing?

I only have one short novelette published by Tirgearr titled ‘Deck The Halls’, it’s a Christmas paranormal story.

Fiona: Would you recommend other authors to go with Tirgearr Publishing?

Yes, absolutely and have done so.

Fiona: What help does Tirgearr Publishing give a author?

Fiona: How did you come up with the title? It was hard coming up with the title for ‘Dangerous Benevolence’. The story was originally published under the title ‘Gypsy Stone’ by CHBB. That title didn’t work, people were expecting a story about gypsies, though there was mention of gypsies in the story, that is not a main focus. I browsed the titles of suspense romances and found a book with title ‘Deadly Benevolence’ and thought, that may work. But it was already taken. So I Googled ‘Dangerous Benevolence’ and to my delight, no book under that title was out there.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Of course, as is in all my novels. In this book, the message is for the teenagers not to rush to grow up. They will be grown up with grown up responsibilities soon enough, but while they still can, enjoy this last bit of being kids.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic? All of it can be realistic.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? It’s a mishmash of real people and events and what could’ve happened if things went horribly wrong.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Just finished a book by Dakota Lane titled ‘Gothic Lolita’. A different and interesting concept.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’ve started on a new book, but after three trials writing the opening chapter, it just doesn’t work. I’m stuck. The book wants me to write it, but words aren’t flowing.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do and it can be. For me however, it’s mostly a hobby at this time. Since I cannot survive on what I make with my writing, I have to take on a full time job. My job is demanding, I stare at the double computer screen all day and work with numbers, pulling copies of old checks from the system, finding errors in check applications, having people to correct them. By the end of the day, my eyes are tired and all I want is to relax. Writing is one way for me to do it.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Maybe add small details, as they say the devil’s in details, but wouldn’t change anything to the overall story.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s the unedited excerpt from the book that’s giving me grief at the moment, tentatively titled ‘From Hell, With Love’

Danica floated out of her body and grabbed the highest rafter to stop her ascend before she hit the high roof. She stared down at the two blockheads who used her as a punching bag suspended from the low beam, and shouting the same questions over and over again.

Who sent you?

No one.

Who do you work for?

No one.

Idiots hadn’t realized they’d killed her some minutes ago. And even if she was still alive, she couldn’t answer them. They’ve broken her jaw in couple of spots on the first day they’d chained her to that plank. How long ago was that? A week? In this cellar with covered windows where the daylight didn’t penetrate, always seemed to be night, no wonder she lost all track of time. At some point she’d realized no one would come to her rescue. For days she clung at death’s door, but the death took her sweet time.  Finally, Peter, the man she stupidly mistook for her brother delivered a blow to her head that ended her torture.

His fist clenched ready to strike again, he ceased midair. “Dude, I think she’s dead.”

The second guy stopped too. “Nah, she’s not. You’ll see.” He grabbed the pail. “Here comes your ice bucket challenge.” He splashed the water over her body.

Dani shivered, though her dead and ethereal body remained the same, she’d experienced many such icy water awakening.

“See,” Peter said, pointing both hands at her corpse. “I told you.”

“Damn.” His accomplice dumped the bucket on the hard, cold concrete floor. “Why did she call you her brother?”

Peter shrugged.  “Why are you asking me? We couldn’t beat it out of her.”

“That song she hummed, you know it?”

“Never heard it before.” Peter proceeded to cut her corpse loose.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Mostly finding time to sit and relax enough to get me started.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’m discovering authors every day. The list of favorites is too long. The newest of my favorites is Dan Brown. Loved his ‘Angels and Demons’. Wish if I could write something like that.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, I can do most of the research on the web. If I have to travel it would be just to Toronto but if it’s anything on the other side of the world, I wish I could afford to do it.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Cover artists with the publishing house. I bought one cover for my self-published title ‘The Wedding Date’ the couple on it truly represented the couple in the book.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The story trickled down in small scenes. When I usually have the whole story in front of my eyes, this one was just slow in coming together.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I always learn something from my writing. Either through researching the history on the locations or people or equipment they may be using.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

The best advice I can give is to stay true to your voice. Many beta readers and critique partners are good to help you out with scenes or paragraphs, but at the end of the day it’s your story and if you don’t agree with their suggestions, discard them and go with your gut feeling. It’s never wrong.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for choosing to read my books. You have no idea how much that means to the author.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not really. It would be many years ago and memory isn’t what it used to be.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Good comedy and Hallmark commercials.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I like to work out, I could easily spend a few hours at the gym.

Fiona: What is your Tirgearr Publishing page and do you have a website/blog?

https://www.amazon.com/Zrinka-Jelic/e/B007AIQCMU/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1522055100&sr=1-2-ent

http://smarturl.it/r9za0k