Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello, my name is Nicole Heinz, and I’m 33 years old.

Fiona: Where are you from?

Virginia Beach

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a mom of two wonderful children, Lucas and Lily Rose. I grew up surrounded by a pretty big family, and really, that’s the most important part of my life.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

So, I’m working on a few different projects at the moment. I’m hoping to release a collection of short horror stories in the next few weeks. After that, I’ll be releasing a full length horror novel.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Probably around the age of twelve. I remember writing tons of poetry and songs very early on.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think everyone who writes is a writer, so maybe I’ve always been one.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

A dream. A lot of my work is based on my dreams/nightmares.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Honestly, it just sort of popped in my head one day, and it fit perfectly.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I wouldn’t know what to call my style, per say. I just write from a place that I think the reader would appreciate. As far as challenges go, I think a writer is always perfecting their craft. We get better with time and experience.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The Afterwards is mainly a fantasy novel, so it’s not a very realistic story in general. I did feel a special connection with my main character, Ruby Wynn. I’m sure my own personal experiences influenced her character, but I wouldn’t say as a whole.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

The only place I travel is through the dimensions of my own mind and imagination.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A fellow author and cover designer, CK Green.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, definitely. I want people to know that being strange or different is a beautiful thing and not something to be feared.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

It’s hard to name all the new authors, there’s so many. I will mention Mar Garcia who recently published, “Beautiful: A Broken Little Tale”. She really has a knack for capturing the essence of an emotion with her words and art.

My favorite writer of all time would probably be Charlotte Bronte. Her story telling ability is magical.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Mar Garcia, definitely. She runs The Bold Mom, a shelter for special, beautiful minds. That’s where I first started sharing my poetry and entered a writing contest that I just so happened to win. She’s a very special person and really encouraged me throughout the process.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Probably not. It’s my first book, and I’m sure it’s not perfect, but it was a good start for me.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, I learned that editing is a truly dreaded thing. (lol)

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I’ve thought about this for years, actually. Ruby Wynn would be played by Amanda Seyfried. She was who I envisioned from day one.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Never give up on your dreams.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Well, it’s all for them obviously. I hope they will continue reading my books and their support has meant the world.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I wish I had the time to read, ha-ha. I’m focusing on my writing as I’m getting closer to publishing again.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

As a child the first book that I read that stuck with me was, “Tuck Everlasting” by Natalie Babbitt.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Everything. Ah, let’s see. My children make me laugh all the time. I don’t cry much anymore, but there’s a few books or movies that bring it out of me every once in a while.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

James Dean. I think we might’ve been soulmates in another life. Just kidding. I just find him super interesting, and his acting was something that touched me many times.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I do a lot of reading when I’m not writing. I love bookstores and going to the movies. I’m very simple. Sometimes I think the spirit of a 95 year old lady has been trapped inside me.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Stranger Things. Other than that, I just recently started watching Netflix which offers a lot. Not much for TV.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

My favorite food is sushi all the way. Favorite colors are black and purple. I love almost all music, but as I’m typing this, I’m listening to Lana Del Rey, Shades of Cool.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Yikes. I’d sing all my stories out loud until someone brought writing back, ha-ha.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“We shall not cease from exploration. And the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.” T.S Eliot

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I can be found on my author page on Facebook and Instagram. And here’s a link to my novella, The Afterwards. Thank you!

https://www.facebook.com/nheinzbooks

https://www.amazon.com/Afterwards-N-Heinz-ebook/dp/B078338ZH3