Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello! My name is Emanuel Andrei Cosutchi. Friends and relatives call me Andrew. I’m 40.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I live now in European Union, Romania, Iasi city.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I work as Software Tester for a small local company. I studied Computer Science at Technical University from my city.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I finished the first three volumes of my space opera Starship “Apple of Discord” on November 2017  and I am  preparing now to submit the first volume to several publishing houses from abroad.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I became writer because I love the Sci-Fi and Fantasy genre. Once I was a consumer like everybody. This mean I watched movies, I read books and played games. One day I decided to create my own Sci-Fi universe and I start to write.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think I did this after I published my first Sci-Fi novelette called The restoration on the spring of 2017. I know, I started to work late as writer but I did it when I was ready. I preferred to focus all my attention and energy in order to develop my space opera Starship “Apple of Discord” instead to publish something else.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had many ideas but I used only the time travel and alien contact themes for The restoration.  This is published on all Amazon websites and I ran promotions often, if the people are interested.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I chose the title The Restoration because one of my characters isn’t content about the present and wants to alter the history. I was inspired by Greek Mythology for the title of my space opera Starship “Apple of Discord”.  You can read the legend of the famous golden apple here: http://www.thetrollbane.com/Starship-Apple-of-Discord/

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Although I like the hard Sci-Fi, I am like a storyteller.  This mean I love to present my characters and the plot using stories.  I love to describe alien worlds, alien civilization, alien creatures or plants and of course alien technology.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I was tempted to create my characters this way, but I thought this is not such a good  idea. If  I would start to borrow bits of my life to my books, I would tempted to do this even  more therefore I will not reach  my goal to create Sci-Fi or other genres which I want to writer later.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I would like to travel, but now I have no resources. I visited already couple countries from Europe then United Stated and Mexico, but I would love to visit Asia or South America in order to gather material for my books.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed the covers of  all my books until now.  I asked for professional help and I paid an young artist from  my country for some pictures for my space opera Starship “Apple of Discord”.  I think he did a good job since everybody loves the redhead android which he painted at my suggestion.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Of course! Nobody is really alone. Everybody needs a friend to survive and thrive.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I know about the work of couple of my Facebook friends:  Bruno Bernard, VON KRAEMER, Jane Easton, C H Clepitt, Louise Blackwick, Simone Camilleri, Ashlie Harris, Stephanie C. Fox.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I would like to thank to all my friends from Facebook for helping me because English is my second  language. Also I would like to thank to all my beta readers for helping me to fix the errors from my books.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I would love to become a professional writer.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I am confident that people would love my space opera Starship “Apple of Discord”.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

For all my books I used knowledge from math, physics, psychology, chemistry, geography, history, astronomy, computer science, robotics, biology and xenology.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I would love to see my space opera Starship “Apple of Discord” turned into a movie or movie series. Or even into a 3D cartoon. For the role of my hero Adam, which is the only Human, I would like to see Bruce Willis or Nicholas Cage. I have many other characters too but all of them are… aliens or robots. I don’t know how will look other actors or actress with this CGI tech  therefore I don’t  have  other preferences. Oh! Almost forgot: I would like to see Peter Dinklage in the role of a space pirate, called The Honorable Lamdhak. Cross the fingers people, perhaps my space opera Starship “Apple of Discord will become a best seller then a movie!

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

I will quote myself: “If you can’t provoke any emotion, there’s little point in writing.” – Emanuel Andrei Cosutchi

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Always describe because you are using only words.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Last book I have read was Them and Us: How Neanderthal Predation Created Modern Humans by Danny Vendramini

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

First I read a comic magazine from Romania.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love comedies or funny scenes from the books. Although I am 40, I shed tears like a kid when I saw the last scene from Star Wars: Rogue One, when the planet Scarif is destroyed and Jyn Erso and Cassian Andor face the death.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

“I would love to meet Albert Einstein.”?

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I like to read / write / travel / swim / use the computers and various tech.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love both Star Trek and Star Wars. I watched other movie series too: Babylon 5, Battlestar Galactica, Lexx, Farscape, Game of Thrones, Lord of The Rings, The Hobbit, The Vikings, Big Bang Theory and many more. I like comedies, dramas, documentaries, Sci-Fi and Fantasy movies too. I watch an Youtube video channel called CinemaSins  so I have nightmares that one day my space opera Starship “Apple of Discord” will be there too.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I love fruits. My favourite colour is blue. I love all music genres.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

This will be a dystopia in progress therefore I will be busy with the survival. But I will keep records. Or a chronicle.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“Dying is bad for you. Don’t do it.” – Emanuel Andrei Cosutchi

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Website:  http://www.thetrollbane.com/       (all links to my social media are here)

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ACE977

https://www.facebook.com/starshipAppleOfDiscord/

 

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Emanuel-Andrei-Cosutchi/e/B072B69GSV

Twitter: https://twitter.com/eurowizard

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/andrei.cosutchi/