Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name.

Niki Mitchell

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Chicago, and moved to Whittier, California, at age six.Currently, I live in Hesperia, California and Meridian, Idaho.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

I met my husband at nineteen and have been married for over thirty years. I graduated from California Polytechnic University with a Liberal Studies Bachelor Degree. Years later, I received a Master’s Degree from Azusa Pacific. The past thirty years, I taught elementary school children in Hesperia, California and recently retired.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I have completed my fourth book in the Kurious Katz Series entitledKurious Katz and the New Friend. Also, I sent my fantasy romance novel, A Cowboy’s Cupid to my editor. It should be on the market the summer of 2018.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

The first story I remember writing was about my pet rooster, Richard. My teacher read it out loud to the class.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When Roane Publishing offered me a contract to include ‘Love’s High Tide’ in their anthology, Summer’s Sweet Embrace, I felt official.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I looked through photographs of a past Christmas where my cats destroyed our Christmas tree. The pictures made the story fun and easy to write.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

At first I called my book Mischievous Cats and the Christmas Tree, but it didn’t sound right. Friends and family helped me brainstorm ideas. Kurious Katz worked.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I tend to be apantserbut am working on being more of a plotter. Formattingebooks can be a pain with picture books. I can’t tell you how many hours it’s taken to figure out how to get my pages to look right.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Whether I’m writing children’s books or romance, my characters come from my crazy spin on things. Kurious Katz uses photographs of my cats.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

In writing romance, it helps me visualize the setting. I might visit a place before I write and later travel to another location to get motivated

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My graphic designer son helped me design my covers.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Curiosity and imagination make life interesting.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I like Jaylee Austin. She writes action-filled romance about the world of faes.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My colleagues at school encouraged me.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Writing is a full-time career. Along with developing a story, I also have to keep active on social media and continue learning my craft through classes and writer’s groups.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

As a matter of fact, I replaced a photo because it will fit much better in my next Kurious Katz book.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I’m great with conversation, but sometimes struggle with getting inside my characters head.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Marshmallow, the cat, should be Reese Witherspoon and Johnny Depp would be a perfect Taffy.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up. Get in a critique group. Take online classes. Join a writer’s group.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for your support. My cats and I appreciate it.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

A Snow Covered Christmas by Linda Lael Miller.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I’m pretty sure it was Harold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A sappy romance movie often makes me cry. My friends have to ability to make me laugh so hard I’m crying.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d like to meet Dr. Seuss because he allowed made up words acceptable. I’d like to see how his brain worked.

 Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Besides playing with my cats, I enjoy reading, taking walks, water aerobics, photography, and traveling.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Heartland is one of my favorites. I love the setting and the storylines.Once Upon a Time is another great show. I love how they incorporate real life and fantasy.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

As far as food, I’m a definite chocoholic. I lean toward greens and turquoise. I tend to listen to oldies and rock, mixed with jazz or classical.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Besides traveling, I would read. A book can immerse you in another world.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Kurious Katz for Kurious Kids should be up and running in 2018. With my teaching background, I will be postingideas, activities, and worksheets for Kurious Kids and their parents. Check out: https://kuriouskatz.weebly.com/

Email: kuriouskatzbooks@gmail.com

Websites:https://nikimitchell.weebly.com/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Niki-Mitchell/e/B014M2EHSW/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14189015.Niki_Mitchell?from_search=true

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/161826311239585/

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorNikiMItchell/