Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Lynn McPherson, author of The Girls’ Weekend Murder, The first book in The Izzy Walsh Mystery Series. I’m 43 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m originally from Calgary, Alberta, Canada but I’ve been living in Oakville, Ontario, Canada since I was a teenager.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am a happily married mother of two. My other loves include adventure, travel, and writing. I have a Honour’s B.A. from McMaster University where I studied Social Science. I’ve had the opportunity to work, study, and live in various parts of the world, including Vancouver, London, Seoul. Before I started writing I had an amazing experience as a small business owner, working from spring until fall, then escaping the cold Ontario winters to discover such beautiful places as Australia, Mexico, Thailand, and Indonesia. Once I had children, my career choice no longer suited my lifestyle. I was excited to change paths and move on to the next chapter.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing as a way to experience adventure without having to leave the house. Staying home with the kids is an incredible journey in itself, but I needed to have something just for me.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news. 

I am thrilled to report that I signed a contract for the second book in The Izzy Walsh Series. It won’t be out for some time, but I’m looking forward to it already. Each book is a standalone story, but it has the same central characters who live in the same fictional New England town.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably the first time I saw my book in a bookstore. It was a good moment.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Before I start writing I know the beginning and the end. Other than that, the book goes where the characters steer it. Probably the challenging element has been ensuring the correct terminology is used from the 1950s. Simple things like that can be tricky.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I can definitely see a lot of myself in the central character, as she and I both have a tendency to get ourselves into trouble. The town of Twin Oaks also reminds me of Oakville, the town I live in. But that’s about it.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A Toronto-based artist. His name is Kerrin Hands. I would highly recommend him.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I love the classics. They are beautifully written and always a pleasure to read. I also love Harry Potter. J.K. Rowling did an incredible job of creating an alternate reality so I’m always happy to visit the wizarding world. But I can’t deny I’m a lover of cozy mysteries. In particular, author Rita Mae Brown and the Murder She Wrote book series by Donald Bain keep me smiling all the way through.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I cannot answer this question without mentioning my amazing husband. In addition to him, I am also lucky enough to have a few close friends were instrumental in their encouragement and support.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not yet. In a few years, I may have a different answer.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned that I need to have a set time every day I dedicate to writing and nothing else.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Hm… I’ve been watching The Crown so the first person who comes to mind is Claire Foy. No doubt she’d be incredible.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Enjoy your time writing and don’t worry about anything else until you’re done.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

The four main women in the book have become like virtual friends to me. I hope they feel a connection to them the way I do.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading The Freedom Broker by K.J. Howe and Still Life by Louise Penny. Both are excellent.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book that stands out is Nancy Drew, The Secret of the Old Clock.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry? 

 

I like funny movies. The last one that made me laugh out loud was the remake of Vacation with Ed Helms and Christina Applegate. It’s hilarious. The first day of school always makes me cry. I miss my kids!

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d love to meet Kate Rice (1882-1963), a Canadian adventurer and prospector, and writer. The description says it all.

 Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I like to snowboard, read, watch movies, travel, and try new things.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I already mentioned the 2015 adaptation of Vacation, and The Crown (on Netlfix). I also loved Bates Motel, also on Netflix, and all of the Indiana Jones movies.

 Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I am vegetarian but I’m trying some vegan dishes from The Oh She Glows cookbook (great stuff). I love bright colours. I love punk rock.

 Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Probably watch a lot more movies.

 Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I’d have to think about that more.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

www.lynnmcpherson.net

 

https://www.amazon.com/Lynn-McPherson/e/B06XX6531R/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1