Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Heidi Angell… and I have to think… 36? Yeah, I was born in 81.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Montana, spent a few years in Kentucky, most of my young adult years in South Carolina, and move to Utah about 5 years ago. So, kind of everywhere?

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am a bibliophile, lexicomaniac and wordsmith. I live, eat, and breathe books. And when I’m not completely wrapped up in books, I hang out with my teen boys and husband watching movies, going swimming, camping, and having fun.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am so excited to share that I am re-releasing the Clear Angel Chronicles through Catterfly Publishing, an imprint of OWS, Ink. Elements of a Broken Mind re-released with a beautiful new cover by Jo Michaels, the beginning of September, and Angel’s Dance is scheduled to re-release in November, and the third book will release in 2018.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Oh goodness, I have been writing ever since I first could. I’ve always been a storyteller and writing is just a natural medium for that. I knew I wanted to publish after my 1st grade teacher taught us the sections of the book by having us create our own.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always considered myself a writer, but when my first book was finished and in the hands of an agent, I finally welcomed thinking of myself as an author.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first published book was Creative Exercises to Inspire. It was created around an inner city summer program I designed to keep my neighborhood kids off the streets. I had just learned about self-publishing, and wasn’t really impressed with the contracts my agent was getting for Elements of a Broken Mind. I figured I would test out self-publishing. It was everything I hoped for and more.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For Elements of a Broken Mind? Oh it was tough. I actually think I created a poll. It was sent out to my agent as All is Well. When the contract ended, I sent it to a few friends and several said that they loved it, but the title was a bit too esoteric. Everyone gave a bunch of recommendations and I ended up putting out a poll of the top 3 or 5 options. The readers all voted for Elements of a Broken Mind.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Sticking to one? Lol, seriously though. I have 9 books in 5 different genres? Yeah. And I think it’s safe to say that each series has a very different flavor that fits the genre it was designed for, but I had to stop myself jumping into a new series and genre this year until I wrap up at least one of my series.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

With The Clear Angel Chronicles, there are several characters who’s personality is very much based on people I know. The description of her psychic experiences are very true to those who claim to be psychic. And her struggle with migraines is very much based on my own real-world struggle. I also did a ton of research on police procedures, even consulting with a real police officer in a small town to try to get the information as accurate as possible.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I do a lot of travelling as I’m a wondering spirit, and a certain amount of that ends up in my books, but it wasn’t planned-for-work travel. Just real life influencing my work.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Jo Michaels read the books and was inspired to create the new covers for me.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I’m like an ogre, lots and lots of layers! I hope that readers get the thing that they need from it when they read.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 

Oh goodness, so many. I literally had so many coming at me all the time that I had to start An Angell’s Life of Bookish Goodness, just so I could put it all out there.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My friends. They were actually more supportive than most of my family. My darling Stephanie Mitchell-Phillips and her sister would go with me weekly to write at the local coffee shop. When I was receiving contracts that seemed questionable, my dear Linda Ryals Smith encouraged me not to settle and pointed me to self-publishing. When I decided to publish Elements, my Meggers, Megan Elliott, and baby brother Michael Sampson provided content and line editing.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Um, 9 books in and 10 more planned already? I sure hope so, otherwise it is an awfully time-consuming hobby 😉

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I am always all about making things better as my skills grow. With my latest book I’ve written, it was meant to be a stand-alone, but the story just keeps growing I am currently at 175K words, but there aren’t any clean spots to break it into a proper novel (60-80K words). This is the first time that I decided to write the series straight through and will be trying something really experimental. I’m releasing sections of the book in e-book over the next several months back to back, and at the end will release the paperback as one giant compendium.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

That I have a problem? Lol. No, I am just kidding. But seriously, this story has grown so much!

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

For Clear Angel Chronicles, I don’t know who I would cast as Clear. We’d have to find someone unknown, but I hope they would choose someone Native American and not white wash her. For Grant,  AdrianGrenier  physically is pretty perfect, but I don’t know if he could bring the tortured depth. He’s always so warm and sweet, lol.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Build your audience, have faith in yourself. Don’t settle for less just to get a deal. At the same time, stay humble enough to find the constructive in the criticism.
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you. For reading, for reviewing, for providing constructive criticism. Thank you.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished The West Woods by Suzy Vadori. Not sure what I’m starting tonight.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Nope. My mom has been reading to me since I was in the womb, so…

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Lately it seems like everything. I’m pretty emotional of late. If it’s funny, I laugh. If it’s sad or super sweet, I will probably cry. Sometimes I laugh when I probably should be crying, and sometimes I laugh so hard I cry!

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Hundreds. But if I could only pick 1, I would probably say Deborah Sampson. She’s a relative of mine, and was the first woman to receive an honorable discharge from the US Army and dressed as a man to fight in the Revolutionary war. She’s kind of my idol and I hope to write her story one day.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Besides writing, reading, and wordy goodness? I guess swimming, but only in the summer time.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My viewing interests are as diversified as my writing and reading. Right now my family are watching Rick and Morty, Containment, Super Girl, and Bleach together. This weekend we are planning to watch The Fifth Wave and a documentary together.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Oh my gosh, all these hard questions! Lol. Food- I’m not really picky. Depends on my mood. Colors Black, Red, and Blue in that order. Music is as eclectic as my other artistic interests.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Ah, you tricked me! I was going to say “write scripts” agh! Um, probably act or direct. I am a story teller. I will find another medium to be able to do that.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“Took over the book world 1 day at a time while being a loving wife and devoted mother.”

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

Yes, readers can find me at www.heidiangell.com