Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello! I’m Skye McNeil and I’m 27 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Skye: Originally, I’m from Ohio, but now I’m more of an Iowan.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

Skye: I have an Associates of Science in paralegal studies, but would love to go back to school someday to finish my bachelor’s degree. I have two cats, both rescues, and two dogs, one rescue and one too cute to be a rescue. I’m married and have an adorable daughter.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Skye: My book, Appointed By Fate, is coming out September 30, 2017 and I’m beyond ecstatic for everyone to read it.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Skye: I began writing stories as a child, but didn’t write my first full-length novel until I was seventeen years old. I write to explore new worlds and to fall in love over and over. Who doesn’t love that?

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Skye: I first considered myself a writer when I finished my novel at age seventeen. My English teachers even edited the first versions.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Skye: My first book, currently unpublished, was inspired by Scotland as it’s a historical set in that country. I like the idea of leaving a legacy for my daughter. My grandparents inspired me to write and share it with others, so I hope to follow in their footsteps.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Skye: The title Appointed By Fate was created due to the story of an attorney who was given/appointed her first homicide case. Fate makes its debut as you read.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Skye: I write predominately romantic suspense and romantic comedy. I like to read books that keep you on the edge of your seat, but still manage to make you fall in love with the characters. At times, it’s difficult to attain a good balance.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Skye: In Appointed By Fate, there are a few realistic scenarios included. For example, I am also from Ohio and grew up playing with a boy from across the street. There is quite a bit of truth in this story since it stems from my childhood.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Skye: I don’t get the chance to travel as much as I’d like. I try to write about places I’m familiar with so I can visit them if they’re nearby.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Skye: My publisher Hot Tree Publishing takes care of the cover, but I did choose the model 😉

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Skye: I want my readers to know that life doesn’t go as planned and that’s okay. Life has a way of showing you sometimes the best things happen when you least suspect.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Skye: I am a big fan of Cristina Hodgson lately. She has a unique style of writing. She’s new to me, but has been around for some time. One of my favorite writers is Maya Banks. The Scottish historical novels are my personal favorites, because men in kilts…yum.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Skye: I’d have to say my friend, Zach, really encouraged me to pursue writing. He’s been a constant cheerleader as I work through my career.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Skye: Yes! I’m still fairly new as a published writer, but there’s nothing I’d rather do than write full-time.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Skye: Good question. I don’t think I would. The love triangles in Appointed By Fate are stellar in my biased opinion.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Skye: I did a ton of research on criminal law procedures. Of course, it helped for writing the story, but it’s also helpful for my current job as a paralegal.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Skye: Oh, sigh, that’s a writer’s dream come true. I’d have to say, Katherine McPhee for Joci and Chris Pratt as Cameron.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Skye: Don’t give up. The rejection emails sting, but if you keep going, you’ll get there. It’s an uphill battle even after you sign on the dotted line.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Skye: Book 2 in the Mobster files will hopefully be out sometime in 2018, so there’s more Cameron and Joci to come!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Skye:At the moment, I’m reading Taming a Jackaroo by Sidney Valentine

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Skye: It’s been so long, but I vaguely remember reading a book about Pocahontas.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Skye: I hate when animals die in movies or shows. That always makes me cry. As for laughing, I’m pretty easy going. I enjoy wit and banter over jokes.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Skye: I’d really love to meet my ancestors. They all traveled from Europe and the UK. To meet one of the founding members would be incredible. I want to understand where I came from and why I am the way I am. I think meeting a great grand-somebody would help me piece it together.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Skye: In my free time, I enjoy photography and playing volleyball. Of course, reading is a fun hobby of mine as well.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Skye: Currently, I’m obsessed with Game of Thrones. I’m also enjoying the show Hooten and the Lady. It’s hilarious.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Skye: My favorite food is pizza; favorite color is blue; and favorite music is country.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Skye: Though, I hate to think about a time when I cannot write, I would love to travel the world if it came to that.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Skye: Head in the clouds, heart on the ground.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Skye: Yes! My website/blog is www.skyemcneil.com and I have several social media accounts my readers can catch me posting.

https://www.facebook.com/skyesthelimitwriting

https://www.twitter.com/Skye_McNeil7

www.instagram.com/mcneilskye

https://www.goodreads.com/skyemcneil