Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Hello Fiona and thank you for giving me the opportunity.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Nico J. Genes. Regarding my age I will just quote a friend of mine: “Nico you have no age!” Her remark was of course funny to me, but yet I feel that keeping a young heart one can’t grow old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Romania and soon after I finished my studies I moved to Slovenia. In the past 5 years I lived between Slovenia and Croatia. Currently I am in Slovenia, outside is raining and part of me would like to go back to the seaside to enjoy the sun and the sea. Who knows where will I be tomorrow?

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

In terms of education I have a master degree in Economics. After almost 16 successful years of working in marketing and sale, facing some health issues, I had to quit my dream job in cosmetic industry. My family and friends are spread all over the world and I wish I would be able to see them more often. I am really grateful though for the technology that allows us to be in contact all the time.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am currently writing on my second novel, which is a sequel. I feel that this is such a cliché answer. So I better mention that I discovered yesterday a great combination of vanilla ice-cream and forest fruits. Yummy:-)

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I remember I was writing from time to time when I was just a kid, although I never mentioned anyone. First I was writing few dreams that felt vivid and unusual. Later on I even wanted to write a novel. But only in October 2013 I started writing it and lack of time put everything on pause. Finally in 2016 my life took a different course and together with it I managed to fulfill my wish for writing.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I never considered myself a writer per se, but the moment I published my debut novel it was official. Keeping your book in your hands is such a satisfaction.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I am sure that authors have different answers to this question. I remember precisely where I was and what I was doing when the idea for my debut novel came to me. I think a mix of life and imagination inspired me together with my desire to help people and make this world a beautiful place to live in. And so my novel it is more than a love story as it has a message. I wish many people will get to it.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I asked closed friends and family for suggestions. I had mine of course, but the moment my brother in law send me his proposals and I saw MAGNETIC REVERIE I felt “That’s it!”

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I notice that I write easier in first person, but otherwise I believe my style is specific to myself only. And here my statement is based on the comments of my readers. To quote one:  “Easy language, short descriptions, highlighting some thoughts that many authors avoid when writing. Your book is super OK.”

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There are elements in the book that are based on personal experience or preference, some are from friends and the world around me, but majority is a product of my imagination.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Almost all the places I mentioned in my debut novel I visited already prior writing and I found it a lot easier to talk about them. Otherwise this is part of the research when writing a book. If I say that I went to Ljubljana and the city itself isn’t relevant to the story, I will not consider so important to go there, but if I want to use specific details then yes traveling prior or during the process it is a must.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My first novel is self-published and the company offered me the possibility to pick a picture suitable for my cover from a photo stock and then they did the final layout. I was so lucky to find a picture as I feel it represents perfectly my novel.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The main message wrapped up subtly in a romantic novel is to help awake anyone that still has any prejudices regarding non-traditional relationships and to make people question about their own sexuality? Can we be sure that we are what we think we are?

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

My favorite author is Erlend Loe and I like his writing style andthe message. Otherwise it is part of the “business” to connect with fellow authors and I am happy for it as among them I already have new really good friends. Here I would like to mention at least one, her name is Tina-Marie Miller and I simply loved her debut novel “Everything happens for a reason”.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Beside my family, majority of my friends were really excited that I am going to get published. It is impossible to mention all of them. But there were so many telling me that I am their inspiration.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see it more like a way of life, like something that now that I started and I wish to do as long as I can psychically and mentally:-). It is a journey in the world of words. And one can never run low on words, isn’t it?

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

In terms of content no, as I wrote it exactly the way I felt it should be written. In terms of publishing, I would chose a different path.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes of course, but you realize more in the process of editing. They say that with every book you become a better writer and I do believe it is true. Like anything else in this world, experience comes with practice. So I am one book less on the way of the better writer I am becoming:-)

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Lana – Alicia Witt, Claire – Ruby Rose. But it is important to see the chemistry between them to make the film successful. I would like to talk to you one day and see that IF from the question is replaced with WHEN.

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

If you go indie/self-publishing, don’t ever publish your book without proper editing. If you go self publishing be careful whom you chose to collaborate with. Be persistent and patient!

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Don’t judge!

Allow love to be lived in this world no matter what.

Always follow your dreams no matter how impossible they may seem.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

“Broken pieces” by Martha Perez, actually another author that I came across recently.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I wish I did.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I am a very emotional person and I can cry easily but I love to laugh, and it feels so good when I do.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Michael Jackson. I am a big fan and I am terrible sorry that he died so soon and I also never got the chance to go to his concert. Maybe in another life…..

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Beside reading and writing, I love to travel. I love seeing new places and meeting new people. I enjoy nature in any form. I love creating and enjoying anything good that life has to offer.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My favorite genre are romantic comedies.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Green, blue, pink and orange. My favorite dish is an eggplant salad made by my mother. It’s a Romanian specialty and my mom cooks the best. I am also a pizza lover and I love coffee. Music is constantly part of my life, lately I am into Latino mood.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Do I really have to imagine that?;-)

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Death frightens me so I don’t even want to think about it. I love life too much!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

In parallel to my novel writing I started my blog (www.nicojgenes.com ). There is also one page with information about my book, but the site was mainly created as a way to interact with people all over the world. Here I write about life in general and how I see it. I encourage people to take a look, maybe they can find something for them in there. My motto is “We are all different and it’s OK!”

fb.me/nicojgenes (my profile)

https://www.instagram.com/nicojgenes_writer/

https://twitter.com/NicoJGeness

www.goodreads.com/author/show/16764698.Nico_J_Genes

www.nicojgenes.com/blog

Links for Magnetic Reverie (my debut novel):

fb.me/magneticreverie (my book’s page)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1946641723/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1494996487&sr=8-1&keywords=9781946641724

(video trailer)