Name  Robin Wyatt Dunn

Age 36

Where are you from

Born in Wyoming. I’ve lived in Los Angeles since 2009.

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Visiting Student, Oxford University 1999

BA Fordham University 2001

MA UT Austin 2004

MFA Chapman University 2015

Most of my family lives in California, like me.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest news is I am hard at work on my latest novel, which is also my first book of “straight” literary fiction. No aliens or interdimensional portholes! Just love and war in the Middle East.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written poetry most of my life. I started writing fiction after the Wall Street crash of 2008.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After 2008

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The Wall Street crash

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

It tends to be a mix of genre and literary; but for this book that has changed a bit.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The working title is ‘Black Dove.’ Based to some  degree on my reading of ‘The Song of Solomon.’

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The interconnectedness of love and war.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

In this particular book almost none of it; I’ve never been to Israel for instance but much of the book is set there.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Gene Wolfe is one of my favorite writers, and Ursula Le Guin. Of course I love Faulkner and Joyce.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

He’s not a new author any more, but China Mieville’s work continues to amaze me. My friend Anatoly Belilovsky’s work is very strong. He writes short stories; I keep encouraging him to write a novel.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I was fortunate to be an artist in residence at the Chalk Hill winery this January. Also I am grateful to the colleges of Los Angeles who keep me (intermittently) employed.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s definitely a vocation. Most writers and artists don’t really ‘choose’ it; it chooses them. Same for me.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not really, no.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I always loved stories; again, all writers will tell you this. They’re magic.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a little L.A. moment in my work in progress:

 

The American road courses through me like heroin, a numb pleasure that reminds one of how the human sensorium extends and how limited its expression is. We take turns at the wheel headed to all her old haunts in Los Angeles, though there is no reason why she would return here. Except that Israelis love Los Angeles.

 

The city punishes me, and her shelter is eternal. Even if extinguished in a nuclear blast Los Angeles is like Jerusalem now, indestructible, no matter its physical form.

 

We knock on all the doors we know. No one has seen her. We eat tacos on Crenshaw under the blinding sun, rubber dust exhaust and smog filtered with a distant sea air, a cocktail finer than the finest mixologist’s, a primordial soup ordinating the conscious mind as a gnomon does the sundial:

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Doing it! Ha ha. Discipline is hard.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I’d like to more; it’s expensive. I went to Baltimore last Fall and had a fun time at the Book Fair. Also I recently read from my last book, Conquistador of the Night Lands, at Mysterious Galaxy books in San Diego.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Barbara Sobczyńska

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finishing it!

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

It’s hard to get rich writing!

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Christopher Walken

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep at it!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thanks for reading!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading The Third Policeman by Flann O’Brien

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but I loved Frog and Toad.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I like sarcasm and dark humor. I think irony makes me cry;  tragic irony.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d like to meet Gene Wolfe; I’ll have to track him down at a convention.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I’ll be cremated!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Hiking

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Some of my favorite directors are David Cronenberg, David Lynch, Wim Wenders, Werner Herzog. Recently I enjoyed the British TV series ‘River.’

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Bangers and Mash. Blue. Radiohead.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A film director with an actual budget.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://robindunn.com/

 

Link to my writing:
http://www.robindunn.com/writing.html

Amazon author page:
http://www.amazon.com/Robin-Wyatt-Dunn/e/B006RL8CPG

Thanks!