Name: Andy Peloquin

Age: 27

Where are you from: Canadian by nationality, born in Japan to American and French parents.

A little about yourself:

As you can no doubt imagine, I had an unusual upbringing. Born in Japan to missionary parents, I have spent more time abroad than in my own country. I believe that my experiences and travels have helped to shape me as both a person and as a writer.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have just launched a brand new dark fantasy novel! Here’s what you need to know:

A faceless, nameless assassin. A forgotten past.  The Hunter of Voramis–a killer devoid of morals, or something else altogether? (Blade of the Destroyer–dark fantasy with a look at the underside of human nature)


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing seriously about two years ago. I found it provided a wonderful outlet for my innate creativity. I have ZERO artistic skills, and I’m not very good with my hand, but the written word comes naturally to me. Once I realized that I could use my writing as a means of indulging that creativity, it has become an addiction–one I don’t plan on giving up any time soon!


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself an “author” in March 2014 when my first novel was published (self-published). However, things are really sinking home now that this novel has been published by a small traditional press!


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The inspiration for this first book in The Last Bucelarii series came from an old piece of prose. I wrote a story about a man fleeing for his life, running from a terrifying monster. When I read it over last year, I realized, “What if I told the story from the monster’s perspective?” It intrigued me, and I set about writing a story about a character most would consider a terror or monster, but one that everyone could relate to. That is how the Hunter came into being!


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not really sure what that means! Heh.

I have a tendency to add a lot of internal dialogue to my writing, as I like to show the struggle in the characters’ minds and their thoughts and feelings.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title came about as I was thinking about this bad-ass, half-demon assassin. Why would everyone be so afraid of him if there were others like him? It made sense that he was special and unique, so he had to be the last of his kind. The title of the book itself (Blade of the Destroyer) has three meanings:

  1. The Hunter is the tool (blade) being used by the “villain” god: The Destroyer
  2. His dagger is HIS tool. Many people consider him a “destroyer” as an assassin, a bringer of death.
  3. His dagger also serves the purposes of “the Destroyer” (spoiler alert)


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Everyone, no matter how inhuman, is still human! This character is feared by an entire city, but deep down, he has the same fears, longings, and insecurities that we all deal with.

Also, I love to emphasize that the monsters to be feared are not demons, vampires, werewolves, Kaiju, or evil gods, but they are the things in our own minds that push us to do horrible things.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

All of it, and none of it. The voice in the Hunter’s head is based on the psychological concept of the “dark passenger”, or that inner voice that tells us to do bad things. Only for him, it’s an actual voice goading him to kill!

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I read an AMAZING book by an author named Drew Foote, called Angels to Ashes. It was a totally unique take on Armageddon and the war of angels versus demons, and I LOVED it!


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely! I plan to work hard and be successful enough that I can dedicate myself to my craft full time.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I have learned a lot about writing since I penned the last draft of the book, so there are a few things about the writing style I might change or pare down. However, I love the book with every fiber of my being, so I wouldn’t really change a thing!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I may not have been given any artistic talents, but most of my family has! My sister Marie Story is an amazing artist, and she came up with the idea for the cover. As you can see, they are as epic as the book itself.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Sherlock Holmes is the first book that stands out in my memory. I devoured the Complete Works of Sherlock Holmes in a few days after my dad gave it to me as a birthday present. Still the best birthday present to date!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite food is a toss-up between Japanese yaki soba, spicy chicken wings, and proper Mexican tacos. I can’t write without good techno/dubstep/EDM music, but I’m a sucker for hard rock!

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I find myself wishing I could have been an actor. I have a natural talent to acting and storytelling, so had things worked out differently, I believe I could have been a good actor in another life.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

You can find all my deep thoughts on http://www.andypeloquin.com. Bonus: I’m also giving away free books there, so take a minute to visit it and find out what kind of swag you can take away!

 

 

Book Cover:

 

Tagline/Elevator Pitch:

A faceless, nameless assassin. A forgotten past.  The Hunter of Voramis–a killer devoid of morals, or something else altogether? (Blade of the Destroyer–dark fantasy with a look at the underside of human nature)

 

Book Blurb:

The Last Bucelarii (Book 1): Blade of the Destroyer

The Hunter of Voramis is the perfect assassin: ruthless, unrelenting, immortal. Yet he is haunted by lost memories, bonded to a cursed dagger that feeds him power yet denies him peace of mind. Within him rages an unquenchable need for blood and death.

When he accepts a contract to avenge the stolen innocence of a girl, the Hunter becomes the prey. The death of a seemingly random target sends him hurtling toward destruction, yet could his path also lead to the truth of his buried past?

 

Book Info:

Title: The Last Bucelarii (Book 1): Blade of the Destroyer

Author: Andy Peloquin

Official Launch Date: August 21st, 2015

Publication Date: July 11th, 2015

Paperback Price: $15.99

Digital Price: $3.99

Pages: 298

ISBN: 1515038955

 

Buy Links:

Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Blade-Destroyer-Last-Bucelarii-Book-ebook/dp/B012EI9M4A/

Amazon Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Blade-Destroyer-Last-Bucelarii-Book/dp/1515038955/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25269614-blade-of-the-destroyer

 

Book Launch Event:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1625045874438351/

 

Bio:

Andy Peloquin: Lover of All Things Dark and Mysterious

 

Andy Peloquin–a third culture kid to the core–has loved to read since before he could remember. Sherlock Holmes, the Phantom of the Opera, and Father Brown are just a few of the books that ensnared his imagination as a child.

 

When he discovered science fiction and fantasy through the pages of writers like Edgar Rice Burroughs, J.R.R Tolkien, and Orson Scott Card, he was immediately hooked and hasn’t looked back since.

 

Andy’s first attempt at writing produced In the Days: A Tale of the Forgotten Continent. He has learned from the mistakes he made and used the experience to produce Blade of the Destroyer, a book of which he is very proud.

 

Reading—and now writing—is his favorite escape, and it provides him an outlet for his innate creativity. He is an artist; words are his palette.

 

His website (http://www.andypeloquin.com) is a second home for him, a place where he can post his thoughts and feelings–along with reviews of books he finds laying around the internet.

 

He can also be found on his social media pages, such as:

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AndyPeloquin

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/andyqpeloquin

 

www.linkedin.com/in/andypeloquin/

https://plus.google.com/100885994638914122147/about

https://www.amazon.com/author/andypeloquin

https://www.facebook.com/andrew.peloquin.1

 

10 Things You Need to Know About Me:

  1. Hot wings, ALWAYS!
  2. I never forget a face, but rarely remember a name.
  3. I’m a head taller than the average person (I’m 6′ 6″)
  4. Marvel > DC
  5. I was born in Japan, and lived there until the age of 14.
  6. Selena Gomez and Five Finger Death Punch are both in my playlist.
  7. Aliens are real, but it’s self-centered of us to believe that they would come to visit Earth.
  8. Watching sports: suck. Playing sports: EPIC!
  9. I earned a purple belt in Karate/Hapkido/Taekwondo.
  10. I dislike most Christmas music, aside from Trans-Siberian Orchestra.

 

Reviews:

“Creative, gritty, and beautifully dark…fantasy addicts will love it!” — Peter Story, author of Things Grak Hates — http://peterjstory.com/

“The fantasy world has a compelling new antihero…the Hunter will terrify and captivate you.” – Eve A Floriste, author of Fresh Cut

“From the first words on the page this fantasy holds the reader spellbound even after the book is finished…his character is very well-defined even if his past is a mystery. Root for an assassin? Oh, yes, one must!” — Carol Conley, for InDTale Magazine