Untitled-1

Name: Lindsey Jayne

Age: 31

Where are you from: Derby, England

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I grew up with a fab childhood where you were ‘weird’ if you didn’t spend at least 2 hours after school outside in the fresh air with a bunch of friends! Where you could a 10p mix and actually have 10 sweets, where you could walk to primary school with your mates and not your parents, and where a library van used to come to your village once a week! I loved it!

Soon as I hit high-school…nothing really changed haha! I still spend time outdoors, I lived for anything creative, involving art (it’s what I studied all through school) and we went on your traditional Butlin’s holidays as a family and got hounded by all the park mascots dressed as animals with oversized heads!! I cannot complain!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well…I’m not just an author, I’m also a recruitment consultant and it takes up a large part of my day working full time! Night times and weekends I’ve been cramming as many edits in for the impending release of the second Faction series book (due 25th July) as well as creating book swag for other authors.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing years ago, in all honesty. In school, writing short stories and poems for whatever classes required them. But I didn’t start to properly write until about 2-2.5 years ago. After my partner bought me a Kindle and I binge-read for weeks on end, I decided I wanted to give it a go because I love stories! I love the fantasy worlds, I love creating someone special from the very depths of my imagination and sharing it with whoever wanted to know.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t know if I still do now, lol!! I’ve been asked to sign a book this weekend (at an event I’m not actually signing at – just attending as a reader) and I think it might hit home then!! But it also felt a little more real when I actually held a paperback version of my first book for the first time!

 

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Easy…Teresa Gabelman and her Protectors series. Hot books full of everything you’d want with alpha vamps and the fight for their women!!! Loved them then, love them still!!

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Someone likened my style to JR Ward, which I took as a massive compliment!! I have a set of rules I follow about what words to avoid and to try and SHOW the reader what’s in my head, rather than just TELLING them. I like to convey emotions quite deeply and my descriptions are usually full of prose!

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Depends which book haha. We’ll go with my debut, Invoking the Witch. I wanted a double meaning, and for those that have read it, you may realize that Invoking is the double meaning. But I won’t give away why, just in case I spoil anything for those that have yet to read it.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I hadn’t thought about it, because it’s paranormal, so it’s not really a world we live in lol. But there is an underlying aspect to the book that could very well deliver a message of “don’t stand for no crap!”

 

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Again, it’s paranormal, so not a lot. But the aspect I speak of is something I personally went through and dealt with to a degree. Not 100%, but enough of the emotions I experienced spilled out into some of the situations the main character finds herself in.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Same as previous, really. Some of it is loosely based on what I’ve been through, but nothing in particular in that book from anyone else’s life events.

 

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life? a mentor?

To be honest, I read a lot of World War books back in school, which really puts things into perspective when you’re that age and you see what potentially could’ve been your ancestors/relatives up there on the memorial walls.

Other than that, my most influential authors are Teresa Gabelman, Melissa F Olsen and Ashley Stoyanoff. They’re all current authors, but they’ve had a big impact on me and where I took my writing. I also have a lot of respect for people like Maya Angelou and Bob Marley. Some of their teachings are quite profound.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I haven’t even had chance to read anything for the past few weeks, but I have two Shade books to read by Bella Forrest as well as Pucked by Helena Hunting. It’s been on my TBR for a while now and I got told off for not having read it sooner!

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I love Victoria Ashley’s stuff…she is so dirty, it’s awesome! I’ve also recently been captured by the likes of Maria MacDonald and CJ Fallowfield.

 

 

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m about to release my third book, which is the second in a series and after that I have book 3 to work on, alongside a short story project and a full length erotic novel that I hope to have released by Oct this year.

 

 

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My partner. He’s put up with a lot of neglect and ignorance while I do what I do lol!

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to, but it’s a difficult market to properly get into. I’m quite happy doing it as a hobby and self-publishing all the way, but you never know!! I’d also love to make a career out of the swag that I make because I really enjoy it.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My latest one is still going through edits lol, but the one before that was an erotic novella, and I probably could have researched it more because I’m British and I was writing an American based story, so I didn’t get everything spot on.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

After I received my Kindle and O.D’d on reading!!

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I can certainly share the blurb for my impending release:

 

 

 

Conquering the Witch – Book 2 in The Faction Series:

How do you take control of your present, when the past threatens to destroy you?

Four weeks have gone by since Elora Lincoln’s kidnap. Four weeks since evil witch, Cassandra tried to murder her and sacrifice her unborn child in the name of her deadly beliefs.

Elora is fighting on, determined to be able to protect the ones she loves from her enemies, getting to grips with the magic gifted to her from a long line of Superior white witches, and learning to cope with what happened to her and her daughter.

Not to mention her ex-boyfriend, Daniel’s bloody attack on DCI Amelia Ellis.

Nightmares of the brutal assault plague her, but not only that, something from her past is trying to warn her – but warn her of what? She struggles to understand.

 

Cassandra is still on the loose, and Faction General, Lucas and his team must align with another group to track her down before she succeeds in one of her ungodly schemes.

And then the unthinkable happens.

Cassandra kidnaps Elora again and, this time, she is taking no chances. The white witch has something she wants, and it isn’t just her baby.

As Elora lives through indescribable acts of torment orchestrated by the two people intent on bringing on her complete destruction, the Faction’s Second-in-Command, Deacon must battle unspeakable powers to save her once again.

But it’s not that easy.

Another force battles against them all, and it’s a lot closer to home than they think.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes! The first three quarters of the book! Lol. I struggle there because I know how I want it to end and I’m trying to fill in the beginning so I can get there haha. It’s a challenge to try and do it as a whole with working full time also. But it’s a rewarding challenge and I take more from it when I complete a project.

 

 

 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My inspiration…Teresa Gabelman. She writes so provocatively and you’re right there in the moment with the tension, the fighting, the arguments, the emotions. I love it. I find myself eagerly awaiting the next in the series because all the characters are so loveable that you just want to see them all get their HEA.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

For research? I haven’t yet, I haven’t had time for anything like that. God bless Google!!!

Event wise…I have some author events coming up over the next couple of years, so there will be plenty of traveling for that!! And I will need to get over my fear of flying!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did them myself.

 

 

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finding the time!!! No, but really, the fun part is the main bulk of the writing, the harder parts come when you have to do the edits and tweaking and then have to deal with certain websites when you want to get the paperbacks out!

 

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I love it! Ha! And that it’s a challenge and that you get to meet some really awesome people and do some really awesome things and get to go to some great places.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

It’s the cliché! Do it, just plain do it. Even if you think you’re no good, still do it because you get so much pleasure out of it. I love to create characters and scenarios, I could do it all day long. It’s nice to be able to create a world outside what you know, so if for nothing else, do it for the sheer joy, but make sure you get all over it!

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

That I love you, that I love the support, I love reading the reviews and, as horrible as it sounds, I love when people tell me they’ve cried over my books! Lol. It means I’m doing it right. I wouldn’t be able to do any of this if it wasn’t for the strong support system I have behind me from family, friends and fans alike.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Oh, God. No! Lol…it was probably something like Lord of the Flies when I was in school, or To Kill a Mockingbird…it will have been something like that. (If you don’t include the bedtimes stories my parents would read me at night time!)

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I will laugh at almost anything! I have a fab sense of humour if I do say so myself lol. It can be dry and sarcastic at times, but I have learned to laugh at life, take it all with a pinch of salt and enjoy the moments you’re supposed to.

But there are some things that can make me cry…PMT is one!! Doesn’t matter what it is…someone could say hello to me wrong…I’ll read into, PMT will take over and I’ll burst into tears lol. Emotional woman some might say, but I’m not. I like to think of myself as in tune with my feelings hehe. Obviously there are other things that make me cry, the usual kinda stuff (and I won’t name it out loud because it’s just morbid).

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to have a chat with my grandad. He died back in 1999 and I loved him to bits! (one of the things that makes me cry!) I’d love to have a day with him where I can tell him what I’ve accomplished, how far I’ve come, what I’ve experienced. It would be magical.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Lindsey J Thorburn (my real name <— don’t want that written, though!)

Renowned author!

Haha! Because I wish lol, but no, seriously, I don’t mind what’s written on there because I won’t see it, all I’d ask for is the picture of a book etched into the stone.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Oh yes…interior design, book cover design, computer games, watching movies, biking, basketball, martial arts…to name a few.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

It would be easier to say what I don’t like! Lol, I love so many. Most recently, The Walking Dead, The 100, Orange is the New Black, Penny Dreadful, The Strain, Big Bang, Once Upon A Time, NCIS, CSI, 24, Dexter, Game of Thrones, American Horror Story…I watch so many things!!

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

I’m limited to food because I’m intolerant to wheat, caffeine and dairy. But I love pizza!!! I have to make my own lol, and I like fish and my homemade meatballs in sweet gravy.

My favourite colours are lilac and powder blue.

And my favourite music…well, I don’t have a fave, I will listen to anything with a beat or a feeling of nostalgia. The one type I won’t really listen to, though, is metal and hard rock.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have loved to have been an interior designer/property developer. I have a real passion for that…always have.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

You can find me mostly at www.facebook.com/lindseyjaynewriter – that’s where I will mostly post, but I do have a couple of websites:

 

http://lindseyjayneauthor.wix.com/lindseyjayneauthor

http://lindseyjayneauthor.wix.com/ljbookcreations

https://www.facebook.com/pages/LJ-Book-Creations/615499755219957

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lindsey-Jayne/e/B00SQ2I6JG/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

Allegra 01 (1)Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00016]

Alt Invoking 4Invoking+Book+1+03

03Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000031_00007]