Rebecca Besser

Name: Rebecca Besser

Age: 30+

Where are you from: United States of America

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc :

I was home schooled for most of my education. I’m a graduate of the Institute of Children’s Literature. I’ve been a wife for 14 years and a mother for 10.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Bec: I’ve recently re-released my zombie novella, “Undead Drive-Thru.” I’m working on the sequel, “Undead Regeneration,” and will be releasing it soon. My next “to be released” publication will be in an anthology entitled, “Anything But Zombies!” from Atria Books (S&S); it will be released as an ebook in May of 2015.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Bec: I’ve been writing most all of my life. I won my first writing award when I was in 1st grade. So, I wouldn’t say I began writing, but that I was born to write. I’ve always had a way with the written word.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Bec: 1st grade. See answer above.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Bec: A painting by Justin T. Coons inspired my first book, and my second! He’s an amazing artist.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Bec: I tend to be a more character drive writer.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Bec: I tend to pick titles that have some thread or meaning for the story itself, which is what I think a title should.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Bec: Yeah: There is always corruption.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Bec: I tend to use modern day settings that are as realistic as possible.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Bec: No.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Bec: I can’t think of anything or anyone specifically that have actually “influenced” my life.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Bec: I’m currently reading two books: 1) The Cost of Living by David Moody; and 2) Lost Voyage by Chris Tucker.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Bec: I have loved all the books I’ve read by Courtney Rene and Mark Taylor, although they’ve both been on the writing scene for a few years now.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Bec: I’m currently working on “Undead Regeneration,” the sequel to “Undead Drive-Thru.”


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Bec: I’ll do three. These are three writers who have always supported me and been there when I needed anything (I consider them by “big brothers” in horror): 1) Joe McKinney; 2) David Moody; and 3) Gregory L. Norris. Check them out! They’re all great rights and super amazing human beings!


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Bec: Yeah, since I work at home and writing/editing is part of my actual business.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Bec: Nope.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Bec: I was always good with words and loved reading. I was born this way.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Bec: Here’s a short excerpt from “Undead Regeneration”:

The scream that echoed through the apartment was ripe with terror. It tore violently from Kyndra Thornton’s throat as she bolted upright in bed. Her eyes shot open, but she didn’t see the familiarity surrounding her. Her mind told her that she was in mortal danger, her emotions believed it – they convinced her that her cause to be frightened was real. Her jaw throbbed from an old wound, one that brought horrors with it, horrors of a zombie and a crazy woman from her past.

“It’s okay, honey,” John Daniels said, awakened by her scream. He reached out to comfort her from his side of the bed.

The hand that came toward Kyndra wasn’t human; the skin was hanging off with puss and blood dripping from the claws at the tip of each finger. She screamed again and lashed out at the hand reaching for her, punching it.

“Ouch, damn it,” John growled, sitting up and rubbing his bruised hand. “What did you do that for?”

Kyndra whimpered and shrank away from him as he moved, violently thrashing around to free her legs of the covers. She fell to the floor with her legs still tangled in the sheet and cried out.

“Ky, what’s wrong?” John asked, trying to reach for her again to help her.

A grotesque zombie face peered at Kyndra from above, growling unintelligible sounds at her, reaching for her trapped legs. She fought harder.

“No!” she screamed and clawed at the floor, trying desperately to drag herself away from danger.

In the faint illumination of the street lights shining through the blinds, Kyndra spied a weapon she could use to protect herself just a couple feet away. The possible weapon was a baseball bat that stood in the corner, and it was the only thing she could focus on at the moment. She didn’t have any time to waste since a blood thirsty zombie was attacking her.”  ©Rebecca Besser, 2015. All rights reserved.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Bec: Having time to do it. I work at home and spend a lot of time with my family. I have to work writing in between other things in life sometimes, and it can be difficult.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Bec: Linda Rios Brook has captured my attention with her Reluctant Demon Diaries series (Christian). Her books make me think of things in way I never have before, based in things I’ve learned and studied my entire life.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Bec: No. I don’t travel much. I would love to go to some conventions, but haven’t as of yet.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Bec: “Undead Drive-Thru,” was done by Justin T. Coons. “Anything But Zombies!” was someone at Simon & Schuster. “Undead Regeneration” I did myself.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Bec: Considering that I’d previous written articles and short stories, the length was the hardest part. I felt like I had to draw things out because I’m used to working within low word count restrictions.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Bec: A writer always learns something when they write. Technic and technical,  as well as new ways to tell stories, so yes, I’m sure I learned something.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Bec: Learn as much as you can about your craft and don’t lean completely on editors. They are there to help you, not clean up your mess.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Bec: Sure. Thank you for loving me and my work!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Bec: No.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Bec: I would say ironic or dirty humor and soul crushing sadness.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Bec: No, not really. I’m not one to have hero worship.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Bec: Just the basics like the date and whatnot. I want people to enjoy their memories of me freely and don’t want to direct their feelings by telling them what they should remember me for.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Bec: Yes. I like reading, watching movie, cross stitch, crocheting, cooking, baking, hunting, etc.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Bec: There are too many to name. Currently, I’m obsessed with The Hunger Games and Divergent movies.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Bec: Food = Mashed Potatoes or Sloppy Joe. Colors = Black, Green, Blue, and Pink. Music = Metal or Alternative Rock.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Bec: Study to be a chef.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Blog: http://rebeccabesser.wordpress.com

Website: http://www.rebeccabesser.com

 

 _UndeadDriveThru6x9-HQUndead Reg Front Cover 1Anything But Zombies Cover