71yNluM53BL._UX250_

Name Patricia A. Rasey

Age 52

Where are you from Northeast Ohio

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc I like the small town life, always have. I still live in the same town I was born in. I like to say I don’t get out much, though now that both my sons are grown and on their own, my husband (of 31 years) and I are now getting to travel just a bit. My favorite destination is the beach, probably because I live in the flat farm grounds of Ohio. I started out my career because my favorite pastime is reading. I enjoyed creative writing in school and thankfully I was able to put my daydreams to use.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 My book Gypsy: Sons of Sangue, book 3, comes out April 28, 2015. I’m pretty excited about the release since it’s been awhile since the last one came out. 2014 was a trying year because of some family related issues, but 2015 had a better outlook.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was 29 years old when I decided to put my creative writing courses from school, as well as my active imagination, to use. My kids were both tucked away in school, and I need another outlet, other than reading. At the time I was a stay at home mom.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 I think after the second novel was written. Not because it was published, but because I stuck through the writing of two 100k novels. It wasn’t until my fifth written book when a publisher took a chance on me and published my 4th and 5th novels. Since then, I have gone on to publish all my books except the very first. That one was for practice.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Reading romance. I loved to read it, and one day, knowing the imagination I have, I just sat down at the desk and started typing away. I never looked back. I don’t think the ideas stopped rolling since.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I think every writer does. My editor said to me once, it doesn’t sound like a Patricia A. Rasey novel. She was talking about the first book I wrote, and why I decided it was best to leave that one collect dust. I think somewhere around book 4 or 5, though, I hit more my style.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 It depends on what I am writing. Each one was a different process. Sometimes running different ideas by friends. Other times, if it’s a series as I’m writing now, I have them all in advance or a couple of books out it will come to me whose book is up next.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 That Happy Ever Afters are indeed possible.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

 I write paranormal romance, so I would say maybe it’s partially realistic. I do hope, though, that through the telling of my world, the reader believes in my story.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 No. Not usually. I won’t say sometimes things don’t slip in, as life happens around us and affects us in many ways. But for the most part, the tale is completely a figment of my imagination.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 Two authors influenced me. Sandra Brown because she was always a huge inspiration and I loved her work. Lara Adrian because she is a genius at what she does, a great friend and mentor.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 Red, White & Screwed by Holly Bush


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are far too many to mention here. I read a very wide variety of authors.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

The Sons of Sangue series. I just finished book 3 in the series coming out at the end of the month. Now, I am preparing to write book 4.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Lara Adrian has been my biggest supporter over the years. If not for her, I may have given up on my writing years ago. She’s a great inspiration and friend.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 I do, but it’s a second career. I also work a fulltime day job. I work for a software company for writers called WriteWayPro.com, MyAuthorBiz.com, and a site for readers, MyBookCRAVE.com. I use both WriteWay to write my books in, and MyAuthorBiz to help me keep the business end of being an author straight.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Not sure at this point because it hasn’t come out yet. For the most part, I think we always feel there are parts we could have maybe done better. Learning the craft of writing never stops.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Just through reading and my imagination. I love the written word.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

How about the one I finished since I technically haven’t started book 4 yet? Gypsy is a member of the MC Sons of Sangue, a coven of vampires residing in Oregon. He was always the one member who wore the rose-colored glasses. In Hawk (book 2), something happens to him and he finds himself mated for life to a woman he does not want. He’s bitter and angry. Now, he needs to find his way back to the fun-loving vampire he once was. It’s quite the journey, and you’ll likely hate him before you love him.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time to write and market myself. Working a day job, and having a family, takes a lot of time away from writing. So I have to make myself take the time or it would never get done.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Lara Adrian. She is a genius at what she does. Her writing is flawless.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 Do you mean conferences or research? I go to conferences on occasion. I don’t do a lot of them throughout the year, but I try to hit a couple events. For research, no. I usually travel for pleasure and a little down time since I work two jobs.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 Frauke Spanuth from CrocoDesigns.com has so far done all my covers.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 Probably plotting. Since I am by the seat-of-your-pants style writer, I loosely plot. Until I get in the thick of it—then I must force myself to plot the rest out.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That as a writer, no matter how many years you’ve been writing, you’re still learning. It’s not easy to write a book, no matter what anyone says. Good writing, takes hard work.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Persistence. Don’t stop because of frustration. We all experience that many times over. Keep at it and one day you will get there. Never stop learning and believing in yourself.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I adore each and every one of you. Please know, I write my books for you. Thank you for reading them!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 First fictional novel for pleasure was Harold Robbins’ The Betsy. And I still own that copy.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 I cry easily anyway—movies can make me cry. But I would say meanness of any kind can make me cry. Laugh? A good spirit, a good joke, myself at times.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

 Probably Sandra Brown, because I adore her work. She’s one author I would love to have the chance to meet.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

That I had a big heart. Because being kind to others is an award in itself.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading and watching movies.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love chick flicks of any kind. So romantic comedies. I watch very little television as I spend my nights writing. Currently, though, I am watching The Red Road and The Voice.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Chinese / Red / Rock to Country

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 Being a detective would have been really awesome. Funny, my brother is now one.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? www.PatriciaRasey.com

Amazon Page  http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-A.-Rasey/e/B000APKIGG/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

51hqg7xtcUL._UY250_51dS6rHwvAL._UY250_415DzaZE-zL._UY250_51oJ66vEl8L._UY250_51BhLrk4AEL._UY250_51LsbpUm0ML._UY250_