10498305_1448662942072577_4949324619006771715_o

Name Meghan Quinn

Age 28

Where are you from Southern California

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  I grew up in Southern California, Temecula to be exact, where the sun is always shining. I played sports my entire life and received a full-ride scholarship to play, which I ended up taking. Side note, my Love and Sports Series hit’s close to homeJ I graduated with a degree in Human Development which I don’t use, so good job me and I got a job right out of college with Special Olympics. I had to commute and hour and twenty minutes (one way) every day to work and it was awful. Music only went so far, I would start talking to myself and then someone in my head would talk back, it got pretty serious, to the point where IW as wondering, do I go see a psychologist or do I write this stuff down? I decided to go wth the cheaper option and write things down, that’s when Caught Looking, my first novel, was developed.

I now live in Colorado and I absolutely love it here. I am obsessed with peanut butter, I am married with five kids (all animals) and have the ability to border on the line of totally crazy and complete hot mess.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have a new romantic comedy standalone coming out April 2nd called The Virgin Romance Novelist. It’s fun, hilarious and so beyond awkward at times. I can’t wait for everyone to read it!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

The talking people in my head…see above J

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Hmm…I guess after I wrote my first book, Caught Looking. It’s still hard to believe that I write, it just seems more like an extension to my over active imagination.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Who doesn’t like hot baseball players? Honestly, I wish I could remember where the idea came from. I really think it stemmed from those long drives and me talking to myself constantly. Fun fact, I have the worst memory.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I love writing in multiple POVs as well as adding humor whenever I can. If you don’t laugh out loud with one of my books then I did something wrong.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I’m going to answer this for The Virgin Romance Novelist. It’s such a long title and I shorten it to TVRN all the time but I felt like it was necessary to have such a long drawn out title because I really wanted people to understand the book from the title. I first called it Sex Not Required but it didn’t really speak about the book.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Every female virgin goes through that awkward moment of seeing their penis, trying to figure out where your hands go during sex and all the things that could go wrong during the heat of the moment. Its okay, you’re not alone.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

A lot of it, some of the “incidences” the main character, Rosie, goes through either happened to me, a friend or a family member…so very realistic and so damn funny.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes, yes and yes to all of the above.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

Hmm, anything by Marie Force. She was the one who taught me that you can have stories within stories and you don’t have to just stick to one POV, you can have multiple and really beef up the drama.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Marie Force, I just love her so much.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Pact by Karina Halle. Loving it!

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Ryan Ringbloom, love her stuff. I feel like we are very similar in style. Humorous and just like to have a good time. Her book, Books, Blogs, Reality is really good.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m currently working on a proposal with my agent, fingers crossed and I’m also working on the last book of my Bourbon Series, Forever a Jett Girl. The series takes place in New Orleans and is all about exquisite debauchery. Check it out!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Bloggers, they are the most selfless people I know. They spend their days pimping out authors because they believe in them and for what? Nothing, they are amazing and if I could squeeze all of their boobs I would!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Oh, hell yes! I’m just itching to leave that real job of mine.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My latest book…hmm, maybe not kill someone, although they were getting annoying and I just wanted to get rid of them. If I could do over something in my writing career, I would have hired an editor at the beginning instead of thinking I could do it all myself.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

The damn Kindle got me! I was reading so many books, just wishing I could change the way things happened that I thought, why not write my own books so I can actually control the characters.

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? Excerpt from Forever a Jett Girl…

I had to come up with a plan and fast.

Clearing my throat, I looked up at Rex through my lashes – playing the ever pathetic victum – and said, “Hi, Rex. Can I…come in?”

Good stutter, I congratulated myself.

Act weak, act fragile, act like you’ve been torn up into shreds, I coached myself. Give him your best Oscar worthy performance!

“I would want nothing more than to have you in my home, kitten. Please, come in.”

“Thank you,” I said meekly as I stepped inside his home and took in the surroundings.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Descriptions, I love writing dialogue but describing things is so hard for me, I really have to sit and think about it. I’m not as prolific as I would like to be.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Marie Force, she knows good sex and happy ever afters, can’t go wrong with that recipe.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I travel a lot of my current job, at least once a month, so I use those travels and experiences in my books.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design all of my book covers, the only ones I don’t design are my Hot-Lanta books. Hang Le is the wonderful creator of those. She does amazing work.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I can’t really think of anything right now. I was embarrassed when I laughed out loud from something I wrote. Who laughs at themselves?

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I really enjoyed writing a standalone and I enjoyed writing a romantic comedy. I feel like it flowed so easily.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Spend money on an editor, they are worth it!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for being a part of my stories and falling in love my characters. I couldn’t be more grateful for all your love and support.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I can remember loving Pipi Longstocking in second grade. That girl is crazy with her hair and horse. I want to be her neighbor!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Hiking, baking, spending vast amounts of time on social media, petting my dog Gertrude and procrastinating.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Reality TV and comedies. I am such a trash TV viewer, it’s embarrassing but I just can’t look away. Friends is my all-time favorite show though, I can watch it all day, every day.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I like spaghetti and meatballs and donuts and burgers… so healthy. Color would have to be pink and teal and then music is pretty much anything but heavy metal. I don’t particularly care for today’s country, I’m more of a 90’s country girl when Alan and Garth ruled the air waves. I like anything I can dance to, including Its Raining Men. Watch out, I will hump our leg if that song comes on.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have liked to be in some kind of entertainment form. I love entertaining and my family will tell you I like to be the center of attention but I don’t believe that at all…

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? I have a website, its www.authormeghanquinn.com.

Amazon Page http://www.amazon.com/Meghan-Quinn/e/B00G2PREA6/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

51dVZErUldL._UY250_51cSFz7bFXL._UY250_51IYEmTlqEL._UY250_5157yZ3d8vL._UY250_

Thank you so much Fiona!!