Name: Riley Bryant

Age: 40

Where are you from: Lived a few places in the US, but was born in California.  I’ve lived most of my life in Arizona, its mountains, and the Phoenix area.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  :  I’m married to Marissa Honeycutt, and have two small boys.  I work as Tech Support presently, but am seeking to move into a programming career.  For that I must finish my degree, an aim I hope to accomplish in the next few years.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I will be publishing a short story in the “Eros  – Indie Author Challenge 2015”.  It was a great honor to be able to work with so many authors, and to be a part of this great offering.  My Short Story is titled “Breeders”

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 I actually first fell in love with writing (fiction) as a child in grade school.  My teacher very much enjoyed a story I wrote and encouraged me.  I’ve loved writing ever since.  In high school I published in our schools literary arts magazine, and tried to publish in some magazines of the day, but was never able to succeed there.  Encouraged by Marissa, I have undertaken my love of writing again, and hope everyone enjoys what I have to offer.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 Well, I first considered myself a writer in High School when I was actually writing in earnest.  I don’t think I’ve ever lost that feeling, even though I did not pursue it for some time.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

I haven’t actually published a book yet, but have several ideas in the works.  The first one I will likely have available that is all my own work will be a collection of erotic short stories, dabbling with paranormal, science fiction and fantasy themes.  The stories’ initial inspiration was an idea I had of what it would be like to be caressed by a ghost, with the flesh moving under an unseen hand.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

I don’t know if I’d call it a style, but I write based on ideas.  An idea will occur to me and I will explore the idea through writing.  Since it forms from ideas, I will often times have a direction and plan for the story as I write, with specific details that move it along.  Since I do write from ideas, I often dabble in many different genres.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 The title for my short story in the Eros book came from the concept the story explores.  That story is about a world where men are endangered, susceptible to a disease that women are not.  As fewer men are available, those that are left become valuable for their ability to reproduce – they are breeders.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 Not any message really, but I want them to explore the idea with me.  Not just my interpretation, but perhaps the possibilities of what may be under those circumstances.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic? 

Well, it is the goal of any book to grip the reader, to suspend their disbelief.  Especially writing in paranormal and science fiction, you deal with what people may be afraid to believe, or what they can only partially grasp, but you have to write it in a way that they commit to it, that they wonder if it is possible.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

  All of my ideas have some point of inspiration, be it a story I’ve read, a picture I’ve seen, a movie or even my own experiences.  So, yes, but at the same time, each one comes from something different, so I can’t say they all come from one person or event.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor? 

The books/authors I’ve loved include Tolkein’s “Lord of the Rings” – Richard Adams’ “Watership Down”, Stephen King’s many works, Stephen R Lawhead, Terry Goodkind.  The list goes on.

I cannot fail to mention Marissa Honeycutt and her Life of Anna series, without which, I would not be where I am today.

Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Truly with all I’ve been trying to do writing, I haven’t had much chance to read, but I am looking forward to reading the works of the other authors in “Eros” – not just their contributions to that, but their other works as well. 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? 

Marissa Honeycutt J

Fiona: What are your current projects? 

The collection of short stories I mentioned.  I’m also working on a collaborative book about a Dragon and Slayer set mostly in modern times.  Additionally I’m working out a story I will call “A tale of two Owners”

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 My teachers in school really encouraged me to write.  I cannot thank them enough, and appreciate the work teachers do to inspire and encourage every day.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 I would love to be able to live off of my writing.  I see it as a lifelong pursuit, but cannot count on it to cover all of life’s costs yet.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.  I can’t say that I would.  My Breeders story may become a full length novel however, as the idea still has avenues to pursue.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, it was when a story I wrote in grade school garnered attention and praise from my teacher.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? This is a small part of one of my short stories:

Natalie awoke with a start as a peal of thunder rolled through her room.  The dream had been so real to her, the images so vivid.  Her body also felt it, still hot and aching for the touch that had been.  She almost wished she could go back into that dream.

Lightning flashed outside and lit up her room like a strobe, and in that eerie light she caught a vision of the man from her dream, still lying next to her, that wolfish smile on his lips.  Instinctively she tried to pull her hands between her and the man, but found, like in her dream, her arms wouldn’t move.  A quick glance told her that her hands were bound, the ropes from the curtains coiled around her wrists, holding her fast.

Fear filled her, quelling the desire of moments before.  Was she being attacked?

Again the room was lit up, and again the white light gave color and shape to a form beside her.  James.  A young man of a bygone time, but here, now, at least, some part of him.  That wolfish smile still occupied his mouth, and he reached his hand across her as the light faded once more.

A touch, like a cool breeze, drifted across her breasts, caressing the flesh around her left nipple through the satin of her camisole.  Her body responded despite her fears, the warmth deep inside rising back to its recent height.  Whether a remnant from her dream or an instinct of her own she could not say, but she did not think that this visitor meant her harm.  Certainly his touch did not excite pain.  Despite a nagging doubt, she found herself relaxing into this chill touch, allowing it to awaken her in ways she’d not known since before her divorce.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 Sometimes I find it difficult to write what I see in my mind.  In those cases I usually have to work on something else before coming back to that scene when the ideas flow in words more easily.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? 

 I have two I would point to.  Stephen King – he is a masterful storyteller, I love how he carries much of his writing through dialogue.  Stephen R Lawhead – I don’t know what it is about his work, other than it is well written.  He makes it come alive to me.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

  Since I’m only just beginning this adventure, no.  But hopefully in the future.

Fiona: Who designed the covers? 

For the Eros book it was designed by Max Cummings for all of us.  I will likely design my own covers for my own books.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Risking.  It’s a risk every time you put something you created out there, out of your hands.  

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Part of any writing is research, be it an activity your characters are doing, a place they are going, or an event that happens around them, or involving them.  Since I write based on ideas, each time I write I also explore the ideas.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers? 

Ernest Hemingway said “There is nothing to writing.  All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”  I guess I would tell aspiring writers to not hold back.  Give it your heart, feel it, live it.  Then your readers will be able to do the same.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you.  A writer puts their craft in words for others to read.  I am thankful to any who give their time and heart back to me.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 Not the first one I read, but the first one I remember reading is The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkein, followed shortly by Watership Down by Richard Adams

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 I love witty humor and puns. 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why? 

There are many I would love to meet, but top on my list would be Abraham Lincoln.  He had a hard life in a hard time, but is remembered by many as the greatest president we’ve ever known.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

 I want to be remembered as a generous man.  It gives me great joy to give unto others.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

 I play Dungeons and Dragons, the old pen and paper version.  I do origami.  I like crafts.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 I enjoy a variety of shows, from Good Eats on the Food Network, to Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. to Doctor Who (though not as much as my wife)

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Foods: Steak, Hamburgers, Tacos.  Colors: (Hue is important) Sapphire, Scarlet, Ebony and Emerald.  Music: I’m a child of the 80’s!

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I would love to explore acting, but have not had a great chance at it.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?  I’m on Facebook – both as an individual and my author page.

My author page on FB: https://www.facebook.com/RileyBryantAuthor

Eros on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/EROS-Indie-Erotica-Author-Challenge-ebook/dp/B00RPTXHJA/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421161468&sr=1-1&keywords=riley+bryant&pebp=1421161531895&peasin=B00RPTXHJA

 CoverTeaser01Teaser02