61UQzBJdSsL._UX250_

Name Elise Faber

Age 30

Where are you from Northern California

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m a mom, an ice hockey player and married to an awesome guy! As the only female in the household I regularly battle Legos scattered all across the floor and toilet seats that are left up. But my boys are my life and the reason that I found the courage to start on the publishing path. I wanted them to have a real-life example that their dreams could come true!

Other than that I went to college (for something completely different than writing—I received a B.S. in Biology) and worked both as a zookeeper and a dog trainer before writing full time!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My second novel, Dark Phoenix, will release in early February and I’ve got a few more projects in the pipeline that I’m so excited about!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing my entire life, but it wasn’t until my husband read something of mine and said that it was good that I considered the path seriously. I’d always just done it for myself, but once I began to write Phoenix Rising and I had some outside validation that it wasn’t garbage (I think a feeling that most authors are familiar with J), I knew that I had to get the story told!


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After I signed the contract to get my first novel published.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My kids actually. The first scene in Phoenix Rising has a child pulling away from her mother and running into the street. I was walking down the sidewalk with my own kid when the inspiration for Daughtry’s powers struck me. I thought it would both be interesting to be able to see what a person’s future held and also devastating if the future wasn’t good. I wanted to give Daughtry the chance to change those futures — with strings, of course.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’d like to think of myself as a mix of funny and sarcastic with little bit of sexy.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It came almost immediately and wouldn’t let go. Eventually I gave up on the alternatives and stuck with Phoenix Rising.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think there are lots of messages but the most important one is that the future is not always set and even when you believe the odds are against you, even when you desperately want to give up, that is the time to push harder, to preserve the most because coming out on the other side of darkness is the most incredible feeling.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

It’s a paranormal, so not much J But the characters are down to earth and have real-world problems (family, work, and love issues). Magic often ties in with the conflict, but the elements of fantasy don’t necessarily make the book unrealistic.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No. The only piece that came from my life was the opening scene that I mentioned above.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I love Kelly Armstrong and Richelle Mead (both urban fantasy authors) and I devoured books growing up. Ronald Dahl, Beverly Clearly, the Laura Ingalls Wilder series, Jane Austen. Pretty much anything in front of me, I read.

And personally, I’ve had so much help! Patricia Netzley and Anne Elizabeth (both authors) have mentored me. Pat in the initial draft stages and Anne through the pitching/query process. Then there’s Rachel Van Dyken, who is also with my publisher and has helped me so much with everything from blurbs to advertising.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Reforming the Rake by Suzanne Enoch


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Loads! But specifically KD Wood, Cherrie Ravanera— I read and enjoyed both of their books.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m working on revising a Warehouse 13 meets CSI new adult novel called the Sands of Time and I’m plotting Phoenix #3 as well as revising Phoenix #2.5 (a novella featuring the same Phoenix world but different lead characters)


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

So many blogs have supported me by letting me takeover or hosting giveaways and reviewing my book and many other more experienced authors have offered advice and help with the entire publishing process.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I think you always strive to write better or do more, but I’m very proud of Phoenix Rising.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Yes! Dark Phoenix’s first chapter is up on Wattpad (http://www.wattpad.com/myworks/28987258-dark-phoenix) as well as the first three chapters of Phoenix Rising (http://www.wattpad.com/myworks/24311342-phoenix-rising)


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Being fairly new myself, all I can say is to keep writing, keep reading. And keep submitting! Also make sure that you’ve edited your work (or had it professionally done) because that is incredibly important in the submission process!


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you! You guys are awesome!

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Hmm. That’s such a great question! I’d love to meet Jane Austen because I would totally fangirl over her and her books!

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

That I was a kind and compassionate person because I believe that kindness is more important than anything else.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I play ice hockey and love to read.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything that involves cooking and competition. Top Chef, Chopped, I love them all!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza! Purple (take a look at the cover and you’ll see!) J And I love pretty much any type of music.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would probably still be a dog trainer! And a mom, of course!

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Here are all of my social media links. I hope you’ll connect with me on some of them!

www.facebook.com/elisefaberauthor

www.twitter.com/faberelise

www.wattpad.com/elisefaber (Chapters 1-3 of Phoenix Rising are here as well as Chapter 1 of Dark Phoenix!)

www.elisefaberauthor.tumblr.com

www.elisefaber.com

www.pinterest.com/elisefaberwrite

www.tsu.co/elisefaber

http://open.spotify.com/user/12150839362/playlist/4GCKxfrg5JPses6xwOR2wa (Phoenix Rising, Phoenix #1, playlist)

https://open.spotify.com/…/playlist/199AVnf09Os3O213TVxuYs (Dark Phoenix, Phoenix #2, playlist)

 

81YKixTP0+L._SL1500_

Buying links

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1oaTHJs
B&N: http://bit.ly/1rd4cGG
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/1EkXtol
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1qwJzWz
iBooks: http://bit.ly/1pcRA2x

 phoenix rising bannerHandsome young man toned in bluephoenix rising meme 2phoenix rising meme 3