10491241_649222788488761_5169690864286636145_n

 

 

Name: Rebecca Thein
Age: I am a young fifty-four. It’s just a number, right? Because I certainly don’t feel like I’m in my fifties, more like my early thirties.
Where are you from? San Francisco Bay Area, born and raised.
A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc.
I have one sibling, an older brother. So yes, I am the baby in the family. I have been married 31 years and have three adult children. The most important thing to me is family and my friends. When they’re happy, I’m happy.

 

 
Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
Currently I’m planning on releasing the second edition of my first book, Rise Above the Truth. The release date I am shooting for is August 16th. It is now available on my Createspaec page at https://www.createspace.com/4377280

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
I’ve always enjoyed writing; It’s something I do to relax. I wrote my first book at the age of twelve with a childhood friend. I still have the handwritten manuscript tucked away. It was so much fun to create with someone else. I’d write a page, then she would write the next page. We never knew where the story was going take us. I loved reading what she wrote and expanding on it. In addition, there are characters in my head that want me to tell their story, nudging me to write for them.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
That’s a tough one. Probably after my mother encouraged me to publish my story Rise Above the Truth. She is an avid reader so when she read the manuscript and said I really needed to share it with everyone, I took it to heart. As the saying goes, mother knows best.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
My initial inspiration came from my love of the Bay Area and some of the wonderful sights. I wanted to incorporate them into my story. I started writing Rise Above the Truth while sitting in my car waiting for my daughter after school. I brought a notepad and wrote. It started out just to be something to pass the time, but the story kept growing until I was so taken by the characters that I had to know how their story ended! Part of the adventure of writing is taking the journey with the characters.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
I guess my style is to let the characters decide how their story should be told. Some characters want to tell their story so I write from their perspective. Others characters are more introverted and prefer a third person narrative.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title
Each title actually tells the story. You won’t necessarily know what it means until you’ve read the book. Like my novel Following Sweet Dreams Home, that title took me a very long time to figure out. It says exactly what I wanted it to and tells you what the story is about without giving its secrets away.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
The message in my three books is one of love, acceptance, and forgiveness.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?
I think everything found in my books is real. Even if the character’s story is not something most people have gone through, it is what someone has gone through and the broader themes are universal. Everyone has fears and insecurities but also something or someone who keeps them grounded and makes life the amazing journey that it is.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Most of my stories take something from my own experience or the experiences of people around me and place it center stage. I like that I can change events and the what ifs in life and still have the outcomes I want.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?
I read for the pure enjoyment; I Just love it! I don’t think any book has influenced the way I live my life but they definitely invigorate me as a writer..

 

 
Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
Elizabeth Berg wrote a book called, Escaping into the Open. I read that book and loved her message in it; I did what she suggested and wrote. I have also been reading works that focus on the experience of writing, such as Stephen King’s, On Writing. His book really spoke to me.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?
I’m reading Kristine Raymond’s novel Abby’s Heart. It is book three in her Hidden Springs series. I loved the first two so much. It’s great series.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
I read just about anything with a HEA ending. Ann Lister, SC Stephens, Tina Reber, E.M. Abel, Colleen Hoover, there are just too many great new writers out there for me to list them all!

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects
I’m writing a spin off novel from a scene in Following Sweet Dreams Home. I am also writing an erotic novel that I may or may not publish. I think my youngest daughter will be shocked if I do.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
I have wonderful author friends that encourage me to write. They ask me “When another book is coming out?” I feel really supported and being part of such a great community of writers compels me to keep writing. And I must thank my readers that love my stories and my characters. They are whom I write for.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
It could be, but right now, I write for the pure joy of writing. I do not put deadlines on myself. The stories happen when they are supposed to, so I just let them flow in their own time. When I started writing, I had the three stories I wanted to tell and I got them written and published. So now, I will have to wait and see who else wants their story told.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
No, I would not change a thing. I love the story just the way it is.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
One summer night a bunch of my friends and I were sitting in a circle on the front lawn. I started telling a ghost story and one friend said, “You should write that down. It would make a great book.” I did not write it down but it planted the seed that I should write the stories down that are floating around in my head.

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Rise Above the Truth is about a woman who has to come to terms with some knowledge given to her. It is about how she deals with this information and how she tries to move forward.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Beginning a story and hearing the characters voice is always the hardest part. Once I start writing, the story takes on a life of its own. I have an idea where I want the story to go, but sometimes the characters have other ideas and direct me in a different direction.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I have a few. Sylvia Day’s way with words. I just love all her books. Luanne Rice’s stories seem real to me, as if I’m reading someone’s life story. They just ring so true.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
No. I have not done any traveling for the books but I do find inspiration in the places I have been

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?
I have had three different designers. Not because I did not like the work of one, but because of when I needed the cover completed. The designers can have a waitlist of 6 months to a year. My first book Rise Above the Truth was photographed and designed by Kelsey Kukal-Keeton. She took my idea and delivered exactly what I asked for. My second novel Following Sweet Dreams Home was designed by Sarah of Okay Creations. She came up with the concept using some of my ideas. She hired Kelsey to take the photo. It turned out beautifully. And finally, Blossoming Act. I picked the cover photo and Robin of Wicked by Design worked her magic. Each cover tells the story you’ll read between the pages. Once you finish reading the book, if you think about the title and the cover, you will see the story in them.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Saying good bye to the characters when I type the last word.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learned that everyone struggles but how you deal with those struggles is what sets you apart. Oh, and that I’m no good at the marketing aspect of publishing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Write, write, write. Write as if no one will read it; put anything on the page you want. Nothing is taboo. Write like you would in a diary. Let it all out because it’s what the characters want you to say. What I mean is, write from the heart and don’t care if it may seem over the top, you can worry about that during the editing process.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I just hope that no matter what books they read, that they can find joy in them and that the book in their hand let’s them escape to a wonderful place where they can be a voyeur in someone else’s life.

 

 
Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
No, but I do remember the poem my mother read to me titled Little Boy Blue by Eugene Field. Every time she read that poem to me, I cried.

 

 
Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?
I used to create soft sculpted doll patterns and make dolls for a store. I enjoy gardening. I also love to cuddle with my husband and watch a good movie. And of course I love to read.

 

 
Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
I love a lot of different shows. Sons of Anarchy, Breaking Bad, True Blood, Big Bang Theory, Mike & Molly, Seinfeld, American Ninja Warrior, House, The Walking Dead. Queer as Folk, I could keep going, but as you can tell I enjoy all types of shows. Some of course are no longer on air, but they are still my favorites.

 

 
Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
My favorite food is Italian, second would be Indian food. My all-time favorite color is purple, any shade. I listen to Rock, R&B, pop rock, soul, funk, and my husband and his friends playing their own take on these genres in our living room. My husband also wrote a song for Following Sweet Dreams Home. It is a beautiful song. He wrote it as a duet and he’s waiting for me to record my part. No pressure, right?

 

 
Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
Hmm, not sure, I think I’ve done everything I’ve wanted so far. Maybe art, although I can’t draw, but I love the idea of creating a colourful abstract painting. I just may do that now that I think of it. I’ll post it on my blog if I create one.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
You can find my blog on my website. I also have a Facebook page, Twitter page, and Pinterest page You can find my blog on my website. I also have a Facebook page, Twitter page, and Pinterest page.
Website   http://www.RebeccaThein.com
Facebook   http://www.Facebook.com/RebeccaTheinAuthor
Twitter   http://www.twitter.com/RebeccaThein
Amazon    http://www.amazon.com/Rebecca-Thein/e/B00E552RIE/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1408042207&sr=1-2-ent
Pinterest   http://www.pinterest.com/rebeccathein

.

 

10296621_626039450807095_214354235454322174_n1064357_478285995582442_1941062548_o995309_572070429537331_137485527_n