Name– Marie Harte

Age– Over 20, under 100

Where are you from—PA, just northeast of Philly

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc—I’m a single mom to two awesome boys and living in Central Oregon. I write fulltime and am absolutely in love with the snow-capped mountains I can see from my house. Life is good.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have a four book contemporary romance series coming out in mass market paperback and ebook this summer—the McCauley Brothers. I can’t wait to share them. The first, The Troublemaker Next Door, comes out June 3rd.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’m an avid reader and always loved writing. I’d write for fun as a kid. Sick, I know. I tinkered a lot, was a mood writer not a real writer, then back in 2004 made a dedicated effort to write consistently.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I’d sold my first book back in 2004 (or 2005, it’s tough to remember) to one of only three small presses for romance. That was before the Kindle or Nook even existed.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I love telling stories,  but most of mine go beyond a closed door. I like sex, and I like to read romances that include it in the story. Because no one was writing those that I could find, I wrote them to please myself.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

AIS—ass in seat, and I write. I’m more of a pantser than a plotter. In other words, I know the characters will get from A to Z, but how they get there is a mystery until I write the words.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 For Troublemaker? Actually, I came up with around twelve different titles for all four books, and then the publisher gave me something else. LOL But I love the titles, fortunately.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My novels are about people who fall in love, gender notwithstanding. Man and man, woman and man, woman and woman, two or more, as long as there’s love, I don’t think gender matters. I think love is the most important thing on this planet, and it’s sad that’s it’s often pushed aside as a “woman’s” emotion when love drives everything people do in life. In particular, I’m drawn to romantic love, thus my love of romance books.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Many parts of The Troublemaker Next Door are realistic. I based the setting off an area I was drawn to in Seattle, though the characters are purely my own creation.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No. The characters act the way real people would act in a dramatic situation. For once, I’m not writing about fated mates, shapeshifters or monsters, but real people living in a real world that actually exists beyond my brain. That said, some things in the book are based on real experiences I’ve witnessed (not experienced, unfortunately LOL).

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

A Gentle Feuding, by Johanna Lindsey, was the very first romance I ever read. I’d have to say it hooked me on the genre as a whole.

Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Probably Madeleine L’Engle for teaching me to think outside the box. I was fascinated with alternate worlds and tesseracts as a kid. Loved her books.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just checked out from the library The Twelve by Justin Cronin. I loved The Passage, and this is the sequel.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 Scarlet Dawn hooked me on King Hall. I wanted to read an NA book and the premise sounded interesting (it’s a paranormal). I read it and the second book in two days. Now I’m dying to read the third…whenever it comes out.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

 How much time do you have? LOL I’m currently working on the next two books in the Best Revenge trilogy, my new  contemporary series for Samhain. Then I’ll be finishing up my Good To Go military romances for Fated Desires. After that, I’d like to return to my Voider series for EC. I haven’t written anything for them in a while and I miss that world. Then another paranormal romance for Fated Desires. And after that, a breather!

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My good friend and writer buddy Catrina Burgess. We talk daily, and she’s a terrific person, friend, and gives great feedback.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. Writing pays all my bills, so I very much see it as my career.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Perhaps the fact that I didn’t write it evenly over many days, but exploded with intense bursts of creativity. It was stressful and exhilarating, yet I would rather spend several weeks taking my time to write at a more leisurely pace.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 When I’d get in trouble as a child, I’d be sent to my room, no books, no TV. So I’d make up stories to entertain myself. And thus, my love of storytelling was born.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m currently working on Served Hot: Best Revenge (Book 2 in the trilogy). The story involves a woman who’s out to get revenge on the only man who ever “did her wrong” and got away with it. What he did is of little consequence, but that he got one over on her annoys her to no end. Maya holds grudges. But Dex, the once nerdy but funny kid with a crush on her, has turned into a six foot four ex-Marine who’s not above a little more blackmail to get what he wants—Maya, forever. She’s snarky but vulnerable, he’s hunky and alpha with a sensitive side, and I love them as a couple.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 Making sure I write solidly every day. I always have something that gets in the way, it seems. A doctor/dentist appointment, grocery shopping, book promotion, website updates… Everything distracts me from just writing.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I wish I could answer that, but I have too many to count. I love Stephen King for his originality and character depth. Sabrina Jeffries for her erotically charged and enchanting historicals. Shelly Laurenston for her humor and sexy shapeshifters. Nora Roberts because that woman can write. Jayne Ann Krentz…and so on, and so on…

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 I did for my McCauley Brothers series releasing this summer. The books take place in Seattle, so to get the feel right, I visited and checked out a good bit of Queen Anne.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 Sourcebooks, the publisher.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The revisions. *grin* The writing part wasn’t hard. It was getting the books back from my editor and making sure my writing was tight and that the pacing flowed. Books one and two weren’t too bad, but book three about killed me. (And I have one more to eventually revise and edit!)

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

The McCauley books are my first foray into mass market format with a traditional publishing. The process of writing, revising, editing and more proofing is pretty standard. But the style of my editor and need to make my books more mainstream was an interesting challenge, one I met with gusto. J  I friggin’ love my McCauley books, and in retrospect, they’re spicier than I’d thought they’d turn out to be.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes. Write. Stop worrying about cover art and promotion and where to sell your books before you’ve even finished the first draft. Write. The. Book. Then worry about the rest. And by all that’s holy, please use a dictionary and find a Little, Brown Handbook. Spelling and grammar count!

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for reading my work, for taking a chance on one of my books, and for telling your friends. That I can work at my dream job is just about the best thing ever. So thank you.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 I’m sure it was a Dr. Seuss. I sure do love rhyming and rhythm and words. But I do recall The Marvelous Monster. It had a picture of an orange monster with polka dots, I think. Hmm. Me and monsters. Now I get my fascination.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love hiking but don’t do it nearly enough. I also like reading, gardening, graphic design (I love playing with Photoshop and images—I’m very much an amateur) and I’d like to take up snow-shoeing.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like energetic, creative shows. I’m a big fan of American Horror Story. Such fabulous characters and plots keep me guessing. I also like Almost Human, Sleepy Hollow, Blacklist (LOVE James Spader) and Grimm. When it comes to movies, anything with gratuitous sex of violence *hanging head in shame*, scifi and horror.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

 I confess I love a good greasy cheese pizza. I can find no fault with chocolate or coffee. At all. I’m in a purple phase of my life, and I enjoy all kinds of music, particularly EDM, oddly enough. Been a fan for years.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Hmm. I might have been career military or a doctor or lawyer. I do like to be in charge, I’m fascinated with human anatomy and what we’re capable of, and I’m told I like to argue. Ha.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 Yes, I do! http://marieharte.com  I try to keep my blog up to date and do keep my website current. I love visitors, so please stop on by.

Thanks so much for the interview, Fiona!