Name  Tanya Anne Crosby

Age: Not telling – a girl has to have some secrets!

Where are you from: Born in Spain, but lived most of my life in Charleston, SC

A little about your self `ie your education Family life ect

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Tanya: This has been such a great year in so many ways—not the least of which has been the chance to reconnect with my readers far and wide. But what a busy year it’s been! My first new book in nearly a decade came out in March, and I’ve finished the sequel. It’s due out through Kensington books in March 2014. But my biggest news is the book I’m working on right now—a brand new historical series that brings together old friends from The Highland Brides and introduces you to new friends as well. Highland Fire, the first book of The Guardians of the Stone is due to be released in January 2014.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Depends on whether you mean professionally or just period. I decided I was a writer when I was very young, and actually wrote my first short story in my early teens. Of course, my audience was small—just my two brothers and sister. But I started writing professionally in 1992 after selling my first book, Angel of Fire to Avon.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think from the time I could write. I don’t remember when I didn’t have that drive.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Well, the first book I began was actually a contemporary suspense. I never finished that one. I actually wrote Angel of Fire after reading Judith McNaught’s Kingdom of Dreams. I knew then that that was exactly the type of book I wanted to write.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I suppose I have several, actually, but I tend to be very much in the heads of my characters and very introspective, no matter what I’m writing.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Highland Fire? Actually, the first book was originally slated to be Highland Steel, but for reasons that will become apparent, the titles changed. This book is very much in tune with Pictish customs, and because it is, it’s very mystical, so the titles are very elemental – fire, ice and steel. And of course, since they are Highlanders, it just made sense.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think there’s always a message in every book, but I try to reach beyond that sustaining message and just provide a good, fun read. But my messages are different for every book, so I’ll leave that as a surprise for Highland Fire.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

A great deal of it, actually. I pulled most of the storyline out of historical events, and though the core story is not factual, I like to think it could have been – right down to the mystical parts.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I would have to say that there’s a part of me in every character I write, but if you’re asking if there was an inspiration for Aidan dun Scoti, the answer is yes. For Aidan, it’s my husband Scott. In fact, the cover model actually has some similarities to him, which is what drew me to him.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

That’s a really tough question – truly. Because my favorite book is always the one I’m reading (if it’s good). But I, of course, am greatly influenced by Tolkien, Charlotte Bronte, Bram Stoker, Hans Christian Andersen, Mary Shelley, Shakespeare and Mark Twain. I’m all over the board, but the one thing these authors probably have in common is a certain whimsy (maybe all except Charlotte.)

Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Hmmm, again, hard to say. I’ve taken great inspiration from many, but truthfully, I started writing in the dark ages of computers and such. I can’t say I worked closely with any one author and it was a more isolated time.  I don’t think I met another author until I actually sold my first book, and then I was very close with Pamela Morsi and still love her dearly, as well as her books.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished Laurin Wittig’s Highlander Betrayed – loved it!


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Many! My TBR pile, if you could measure it because it’s on a Kindle now, is a mile high!

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I just finished Tell No Lies, and now working on Highland Fire.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely – at this point, I’ve been at it for more than twenty years!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’m a chronic self-editor, but probably nothing major. I was pretty happy with the way Tell No Lies turned out.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

There’s a short excerpt at http://bit.ly/HighlandFire and the first two chapters are now available in Highland Song.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Maybe Laura Kinsale. I absolutely love the depth of her characters. I also truly love Judith McNaught and Julie Garwood.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? I did quite a lot in the beginning. Most of my traveling these days is for my grandson!

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Most of them were designed by the fabulous Ravven – I’m a huge fan.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Discipline, no doubt! Every day, my biggest challenge is writing the first word of the day.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Very simply, that I can whatever I set my mind to do.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write. It’s that simple. It’s like walking. If you put one foot in front of the other, pretty soon you’ll find yourself where you want to be.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you from the heart. You are the reason I write.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching

Game of Thrones, The White Queen, Modern Family, but I don’t watch a lot of TV.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Sushi, green and all music – whatever moves me.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done ?

Archeologist.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? if so what is it?

I do, but I’m probably on facebook more than anywhere else. You can join me there at https://www.facebook.com/tanyaannecrosby