JRRoper

Name: J.R. Roper
Age: 30
Where are you from: Grand Rapids, Michigan USA
A little about yourself i.e. your education Family life etc.
Joe: I am a junior high social studies teacher by day and a writer by night. I have an amazing wife and two sons. I am currently working on a Masters degree in Educational Technology and learn anything I can about writing by attending conferences, reading books etc.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
Joe: My first novel, The Hunter Awakens: Book One of the Morus Chronicles, released July 8th! I am thrilled to share it with the world and grateful that Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing took a chance on me.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
Joe: I started writing in 2007. The last Harry Potter book released in July and I was in Post-Potter-Depression. My sister and I were commiserating and she suggested that I write a book. I have been addicted ever since.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
Joe: I started calling myself a writer when I wrote “The End” on The Hunter Awakens in March of 2008. I could have before then but I didn’t believe in myself until I had a first draft done.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
Joe: I started with the setting, an old farm similar to the one I grew up on. Ethan, my main character, was with me from the beginning. Then I imagined what I wish I would have found on our farm.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
Joe: I like to write simple, vivid description as needed. I try to cut anything that does not move the story forward.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
Joe: I initially titled it Treasure Hunter Tales but when James Patterson came out with Treasure Hunters, I decided to re-title it. The Hunter Awakens speaks to the main discovery in this book. They find the treasure hunter and he begins his journey.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Joe: I really just write the story and let the reader pull whatever message they find. One theme I have infused is the idea that everyone is capable of good and evil. I want the reader to struggle with who the “good guys” are.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?
Joe: The setting is contemporary with fantasy elements. I always like to write stories that the reader feels could happen. We all want to believe in a little magic even though it is hidden from out view.

 

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Joe: With this story, I wrote an adventure that I wanted to read. I think shades of the author are present in every story but nothing specific for this novel.

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life?
Joe: I absolutely loved Harry Potter and it changed my life by turning me into a reader and eventually a writer. Thank you J.K. Rowling!

 

 

Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
Joe: I love Joseph Delaney’s pacing, suspense, and world building. He would be my #1 choice.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?
Joe: I Am Alice by Joseph Delaney.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
Joe: I had the pleasure of hearing Daniel Jose Older speak at the Midwest Writers Workshop. He is amazing and a rising star in the industry.

 

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?
Joe: I am editing book 2 of The Morus Chronicles and plotting book 3.

 

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Joe: My critique group has been instrumental to my growth as a writer. My friends from the Midwest Writers Workshop have been amazing. I am watching them succeed alongside of me and it is amazing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
Joe: I am a junior high social studies teacher by day and a writer by night. I love both and consider them duel careers.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
Joe: Not that I can think of yet. Ask me after I start book 3.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
Joe: When Harry Potter ended, my sister told me to write stories and I have been addicted ever since.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Joe: I never produce as much as I want to. My challenge is balancing time and making sure I write fresh material and keep in on schedule.

 

 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
Joe: J.K. Rowling is my all time favorite. I fell in love with the characters and found the story craft elements to be amazing throughout the series.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
Joe: I am starting to. My wife and I just drove 18 hours each way to Maine for an author convention. I anticipate traveling more and more.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?
Joe: The amazing Rue Volley made my cover. I love it and love her!

 

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Joe: Submitting it for years and suffering rejection. I loved writing the book and editing it. The submission process was not fun.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
Joe: I made lots of mistakes in my first 3 drafts and I kept learning and editing until this story was to publishing quality. Then I learned more and edited 5 more times LOL. I think mastering point of view is a challenge and marks the beginner from the professional.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Joe: Fall in love with your characters and your story but not your words. The words should sweep the reader into a fictional dream making the words invisible. If your readers are noticing your words you have failed.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Joe: I love you! Be patient because I am a perfectionist and only deliver the best and will probably average 1- 2 novels per year as long as writing is my “other” career.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
Joe: I remember Mike Mulligan’s Steam Shovel being an early favorite. Not sure about the first, though.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?
Joe: I enjoy watching American football and reading. I also enjoy watching shows with strong mystery elements.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
Joe: I love Downton Abbey. Favorite right now for sure. I also love Mystery Masterpiece on PBS. As far as movies go, I enjoy romantic comedy and anything related to fantasy.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
Joe: I eat everything but if I had to choose, Mexican food is my favorite. Blue is my favorite color. I love epic sounding soundtrack music and alternative rock.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
Joe: I love history and could see myself as a local historian which I might still accomplish.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
Joe: Yes I do! It can be found at http://joerroper.com

 

51pNX5sg66L

Blurb:
When thirteen-year-old Ethan Morus is forced to stay on his grandparent’s old farm, he expects to find weathered barns, rusty tools, and a creaky house in need of fresh paint. What he doesn’t expect is to hear a legend placing his family at the center of an ancient treasure hunt. Or find burial chambers protected by poltergeists, or a secret lair guarded by an ancient beast. And least of all, Ethan doesn’t suspect that powerful sorcerers are watching his every move.
They’ve found Ethan and believe he is from a line of treasure hunters who possess a rare instinct to locate powerful artifacts. Whether he has the instinct or not, Ethan is faced with a choice—search the Morus property and find what they want or lose yet another family member.
Links:
Available on Amazon: http://smarturl.it/TheHunterAwakens
Available on ibooks: http://smarturl.it/HunterAwakensibooks
Website and Blog: http://joerroper.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorjrroper
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jrroper
Amazon: http://amazon.com/author/jrroper
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7154029.J_R_Roper