Name Mark Tufo


Age – Too friggen old, or old enough to know better but don’t, take your pick!


Where are you from – Home of the Red Sox!


A little about your self `ie your education Family life ect – I’m a former Marine from a blue collar family, who tried to better myself by going to school and getting white collar jobs, which unfortunately I kept getting laid off from. During one of my work hiatus’ I wrote a book basically on a dare from my wife. (She really just wanted me to stop following her around)

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I wrote my first paranormal book entitled the Spirit Clearing Which came out on September 1st and Zombie Fallout 6 has released on October 1st!

 

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always enjoyed writing even as my grade school classmates would groan at our writing assignments I would be thrilled. College was when I started my first book, although I didn’t finish it for almost another 15 years.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess I considered myself a writer when someone NOT related to me bought my book and enjoyed it, what more affirmation could I have asked for?


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was the need to finish something that I had started, to complete a story that I had been thinking about for years.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I guess  that would depend on who you asked, but the majority of my stories are character driven.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My son actually came up with the title for the Zombie Fallout series and he lets me know how much cut of the royalties he feels he deserves on a weekly basis.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My main character Mike makes it plainly known that family and friends are all in this life that matter and to help and protect them is held above all things


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

When I fashioned a few of the characters, I wrote what I knew so some of them have some basic characteristics of actual folks.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

At one point in my life I thought a zombie apocalypse would be fun, now I’m not so sure! So nothing actually based on life experience, yet anyway.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

I’m a sci-fi junkie, John Christopher, The White Mountain series was my introduction to the genre and I have read them multiple times, I enjoy them as much now as I did when I was a kid.


Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Stephen King might not think so, but I would. And probably Armand Rosamilia, he’s given me a lot of support and advice the last couple of years and for that I’m appreciative.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Dean Koontz – 77 Shadow Street


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

John O’Brien and James Cook are fantastic. I think Armand is great as well although he’s been around for a bit longer.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have two collaborations coming up and I am also working on the sequel to my novella My Name is Riley, it’s about a zombie apocalypse through the eyes of an American Bulldog.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Rich Baker was a fan that stepped up when I almost pulled the plug on the entire endeavor. (And Armand!)


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I left Corporate America (on my own terms) in July of 2011 to pursue writing full time.
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

In my book ZF5 I may have heeded some of the advice my beta readers had given me but considering I’m a Jar Head I probably would have plowed on anyway.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Growing up we were definitely on the lower end of the income spectrum, my mo would

take me to the library constantly. It was my love of reading that brought me to my love of writing.


Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Right now I am writing the 2nd part of My Name is Riley here’s a small blurb…. We got back into Jess’s car, her hands were shaking as she placed the janglers into their resting spot. Water leaked from her eyes, splashing off the steering wheel. Ben-Ben (the Yorkie) was licking it up.

“It’s salty like bacon, do you want me to save you some?” Ben-Ben asked me.

“You thought him worth saving?” Patches asked me as she sighed from the back seat.

I turned my head to the side which I think is near the same as when a human shrugs their shoulders. “He has his good parts.” I told her. (Riley the American Bullie)

“Let me know when they show, get the girl moving.” Patches told me.

“You are a bossy little thing.” I snarled at her.

“I’m a cat and I’m female, I fully expect others to do my bidding.”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I need loud music playing when I right, my challenge is finding new music to fuel my fire.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I hate to be cliche, but I love Stephen King, he truly laid the ground work for the horror genre in my opinion.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Only in my head. I have separation anxiety, so probably better if I stay home.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

It is my wife’s vision, brought to life byshaedstudios.com


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Editing BLOWS! And rewrites are no joke.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

The biggest thing I learned is that you cannot please everyone no matter how good your work. A book cannot be something to everyone.

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Get an engineering degree, it’s easier. Sorry seriously, write your story for yourself not to make a million bucks but rather to share your story with others for that’s what we are; storytellers.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU! Without you, I’m just some guy clubbing away on my keyboard, two fingered no less.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done ?

Rock God.


Fiona: Do you have a website/blog if so what is it?

Marktufo.com

Thank you very much Fiona for this interview, your time is greatly appreciated.