Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Emerian Rich and I also write Romance under Emmy Z. Madrigal. I am 44.

Fiona: Where are you from?

That’s a trick question. I was born in Colorado Springs, CO. I moved 35+ places in my life and now I live in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

I have a degree in graphics and visual display. I live in the San Francisco Bay Area with my husband, my autistic son, and soon…my retired mother!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My most recent book is Dusk’s Warriros, the sequel to Night’s Knights.

Heaven has opened up and welcomed the vampires of Night’s Knights into a new reality. As they struggle to find their place in their new world, trouble brews on Earth.

Demon servant, Ridge, is causing havoc by gathering up all the souls on Earth that have been touched by immortality. When he injures one of the Night’s Knights crew, he launches a war between the vampires of Heaven, the Big Bad in Hell, and a mortal street gang of vigilante misfits.

Will Julien, Markham, and Reidar be able to defeat the evil that’s returned, or will they once again need Jespa’s help?

Praise for Dusk’s Warriors:

“All hail, the queen of Night’s Knights has returned! EmerianRich’s unique take on vampires delights my black little heart.”~Dan Shaurette, Lilith’s Love

“A world of horror with realistic characters in a fast pacedthriller you won’t be able to put down.”

~David Watson, The All Night Library

Praise for Night’s Knights:

“Fresh, original, and thoroughly entertaining.” ~Mark Eller, Traitor

“Emerian brought the Vampire Novel back from the dead.”~C. E. Dorsett, Shine Like Thunder

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing really young, but I didn’t really know I wanted to be a writer. I wanted to be a singer and then went to art school.I didn’t really know I was going to pursue a writing career until much later as a 20-something.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think after my first publication got some press and I was asked to participate in anthologies.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I always think of my first book as being my vampire novel, Night’s Knights, which I wrote in my college days as a way to escape my everyday life. However, Sweet Dreams was written in High School during the time that my grandfather was dying, so that is real first book.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I love titles. They just come naturally to me. I don’t really think about them. They are just meant to be.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I’m a pantser…meaning I fly by the seat of my pants without an outline. I write until I’m done. If there is a part that I get stuck on, I skip it and come back after the book is done. I am also someone who writes longhand still. People think that’s insane, but it’s more comfortable to me.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All my books are influenced by my real life. Even if I’m writing Horror, I am still writing from my perspective and the characters are either part of me, or people I’ve known.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I WISH I could travel all the time, but no… sadly, author wages do not afford me the luxury of traveling very much.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Depends on what book. A lot of time I am involved in the covers. Being a graphic artist, I’m very picky about how things look.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes. Every book I write encourages the reader to be the strong one in their life. It depends on what specific book for a specific message. In Artistic License, the message is, “It’s never too late to believe in yourself.” For the Sweet Dreams Series, I want young girls to believe in themselves and that they can overcome whatever life throws at them.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

New authors? I read so many submissions for HorrorAddicts.net, that it would be difficult to choose just one. My favorite author right now is Kara Louise. She is a Jane Austen variation author.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My BFF Ari.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

It’s a sequel and I think it’s fine, but I would have changed things in the first book to set up the 2nd better and make things easier on myself.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, tons. I did so much research, I filled notebooks with it. Things the reader will never see but was needed to make the story believable.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I actually haven’t ever seena woman who could pull off Severina’s sex symbol role without being trashy. It would have to be someone very good. Perhaps Sophia Loren when she was younger.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Just keep writing. When you finish one story, write another.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Happy Reading!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading three books now, all for reviews and I can’t talk about them because they aren’t out to the public right now.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

One of the first was Rest, Rabbit, Rest. It was a Sweet Pickles book about a rabbit who had every moment of the day scheduled in a big list on his garage door. I loved it. I used to study the schedule and this is where I learned to make lists myself.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh, my husband. He’s always had the gift to cheer me up. Cry, oh so many things, especially death or lost love.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

My real father. I’ve never met him and don’t know where he is. More to learn about that side of my family more than have any special connection with him. I’ve always felt that piece of knowledge was missing from my life.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Too many! Crocheting, beading, art, music… you name it. Creativity is my life blood.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

This is a big subject! Let’s just go with what I’ve watched recently. I really enjoy Z. Nation.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Food? Things I can’t have like a banana split! Color? Black but I know it doesn’t count, so I’m really digging black and teal together right now. Music? That is such a big subject! I love 80’s and Jazz. My favorite band is A-ha.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I will always write. Whether I make a career out of it or not is the question. I would be fine doing art or MC, but writing is my soul.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?
Died age 125.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Yes! For everything Emz, go to: emzbox.com

https://www.amazon.com/Emerian-Rich/e/B0034MMP40

https://www.amazon.com/Emmy-Z.-Madrigal/e/B004G34P6W