Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Cristina Perelman. I will be 60 in December!

Fiona: Where are you from?

Originally from Buenos Aires, Argentina, but I havelived in the States since I was 3 yrs. old. First in Upstate NY, now in Arizona for the last 30 years.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m an only child, so I’ve always been very driven! I am a physician (neonatologist- I take care of sick babies in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit), a wife, a mom of a 24 yr. old wonderful young lady and an author.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I continue to work full-time and write when I have some time and when I find a topic I’m passionate about.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing to give this generation of women a roadmap to help empower themselves at work and at home. I got upset about the popular novels that glorified being a “submissive”, even if it was by choice. Were were the days of trying to pass the ERA??? Of helping women become equals? I felt we had lost our way.

Once I finished that book, I wrote another about employee rights and corporate “internal” social responsibility.  I was fired for having spoken my mind and trying to bring accountability to our practice. Therefore, the corporation I was working with did not feel I was a “team player”!

The third book I wrote was on death and grieving, unfortunately topics I have much experience with being in the subspecialty I practice.

I also wrote a children’s book, that has animals teaching important lessons to a little girl.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I finished my first book. I had, in the past, written articles, but never a book. It was quite the feeling of joy holding my book, in print, for the first time!

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As I spoke about above, my inspiration comes from topics I am passionate about. My first book, as I have explained, came about to to counter the acceptance of being “submissive”. I do believe, we are starting to see women take the lead and not allow the status quo to continue, especially in the work environment. However, we have a long way to go!

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I wanted to give the reader the idea that women can shatter the glass ceiling with the glass slipper. In other words, the glass slipper is a thing of the past and not at all useful to become seen as a true leader.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Since most of my books are self-help, I write them as if I am talking to the reader directly. I try to keep it personal and current.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The books are based on my experiences as a woman in medicine, a woman who was fired for challenging the status quo and a woman who has dealt with death frequently.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No I do not travel to enable me to write my books.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have used free-lancers from FIVVER and UpWork

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Again, these are self-help books, so there are messages throughout.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I enjoy reading suspense novels, such as Robin Cook.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

On of my closest friends, is also an author. We have helped each other during the creative process.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to see my writing take off as a career in speaking, webinars, coaching others to reach their goals. I think the messages I have to offer are important, powerful and helpful to the reader.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, not the latest, which was the children’s book. I would redo the cover of my second book on employee rights.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes! I love to write children’s books too!

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

The two books that could be made into a movie would be my children’s book and the book on Death.

The lead for the children’s book is a little girl. I don’t have any picks for that, just a child who truly loves animals.

The lead for the book on Death would of course represent the interviewer, who was me. (Since Death would be seen as an orb of Light). I think Helen Mirren would be wonderful as the interviewer!

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Persist in your dream, never give up. At the minimum, you will have a book or books to pass on to your children and children’s children. That in and of itself is a wonderful legacy to leave behind.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Read my books! Your life might change for the better!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Nothing right now, I honestly have no time.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Alive in Wonderland

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh at silly things and silly jokes.

I cry at the drop of a hat, a soupy commercials, on internet animal stories and in general on stories about random acts of kindness by others.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Past: Any historical figure that made differences in our present lives, whether scientific or political.

Present: Gloria Steinem and Malala Yousafzai

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Growing roses and vegetables.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Lucifer, Designated Survivor, Modern Family, The Brave, Blacklist, Year Million (National Geographic)

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Foods: anything with chocolate (except chocolate covered insects!)

Colors: all hues of pink and purple and blue

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Speak, teach through coaching or webinars.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

It’s been a wonderful life. Thanks for the privilege of making a difference to many.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Website: www.mpwrwmn.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ccperelman

Amazon page: https://www.amazon.com/Cristina-Carballo-Perelman-M.D./e/B01CRM0512

Twitter: @ccperelman

 

 

 

 

