Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

  • Hi, Fiona. So nice to meet you!

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

  • I’m Dimitar Dimitrov and I’m 41 years old.

Fiona: Where are you from?

  • Sofia, Bulgaria, EU.

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

  • I spent several years in college, learning about ancient civilizations – my hobby at the time… My attempt for marriage fell apart after only two years…

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

  • Well, since 2015 I’m working on an Encyclopedia of popular music. Currently it’s almost 400 pages, with about 1200 entries…

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

  • In 2006. Cause I had valuable knowledge to share with the mass public.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

  • When I tried to put myself together after a terrible break-up and needed to focus on something positive. Maybe because I already had three books published at that time.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

  • The wisdom of the ancient Egyptians.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

  • It was a feeling…

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

  • I flattered myself to wear a label – encyclopedist. Once in several years I feel the need to gather in catalogue a specific part of human knowledge and accomplishments, which I find worthy and in need of preservation and presentation.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

  • I write 85% documentary, non-fiction. Ancient texts, travel-guides, catalogues and encyclopedias…

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

  • In the beginning I preferred to see the sites I wrote about. These days I only take a walk each morning before writing.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

  • Friends or the Publishing house.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

  • I only write about sites and persons I found worthy.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

  • In fact, it strikes me that there aren’t good writers after the 1990’s. Of course, that’s my personal opinion. I think the last notable new name was Stephen Erickson, the Canadian who brought Malazan Empire to us… I like many authors – from Henry David Thoreau and Howard Lovecraft to Jack McDevitt and Michael Marshal Smith. But the top spot is reserved for the Grandmaster Tolkien! Forever…

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

  • Two of my professors – Prof. Moni Almalech and Prof. Valeria Fol.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

  • I see it like almost everything. Especially in a world gone mad like ours these days… It helps me in saving my principles, my values and my intellect…

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

  • It’s perfect.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

  • Many things.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

  • Trust only your heart and the love you feel about the text. Search for the Lord Rama – and by that I mean: the right publisher, the wise boss, who will appreciate your work. Until you find him or her – don’t make compromise! Don’t settle for self-publishing, cause it’s just not right! Our work is a profession! And it’s even a noble profession! So it must be properly valued!

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

  • My books speak of what I wanted to say. And I thank you that we share moments…

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

  • Chronicles of Amber by Zelazny for third time…

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

  • Adventures of Pinokio by Carlo Colody.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

  • Laugh – cold-hearted people – that’s how I survive ‘em… Cry – people I love make my eyes wet… Cause I love ‘em too much…

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

  • A dozen country singers. Cause I adore ‘em!

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

  • Books, country music and walks in the park.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

  • Comedies (The Big Bang Theory and Friends), sci-fi & fantasy (Passengers, LOTR) and romantic (The Vow, Before We Go).

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

  • Chinese, red, Blake Shelton, Aubrie Sellers, Taylor Swift etc.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

  • I’m not sure… Maybe sunbathing in the woods or on the beach…

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

  • My body lie but still I roam… I don’t have the intention to die… Ever…

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My FB pages: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008890511531

https://www.facebook.com/dimitaraldimitrov/

https://twitter.com/DimitarAlekseev

https://dimitaralekseevdimitrov.wordpress.com/

https://dimitaralekseevdimitrov.blogspot.bg/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/2004884673090931/?ref=bookmarks

https://www.amazon.com/Hristiyanskite-balgarskite-%D0%A5%D1%80%D0%B8%D1%81%D1%82%D0%B8%D1%8F%D0%BD%D1%81%D0%BA%D0%B8%D1%82%D0%B5-%D0%B1%D1%8A%D0%BB%D0%B3%D0%B0%D1%80%D1%81%D0%BA%D0%B8%D1%82%D0%B5-Bulgarian/dp/9542972172/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1506597612&sr=1-1-fkmr0&keywords=bulgarskite%20zemi%20dimitar

 

 

  • Thank you, Fiona! It’s been an honor and pleasure!