Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

I’m Audrey Rich and a lady never divulges her age.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m originally from New York City but now live in sunny South Florida, USA.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I graduated with an M.B.A. in Accounting and a BA in Comparative Literature with a minor in Spanish. I’m a wife to my own happily-ever-after hero, a mom to two teenagers, and a volunteer at both my church and at local middle and high schools for the Jr. Achievement Program (teaches financial literacy to children from Kindergarten to High School students).

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Part 2 of Thinking About Love is over half-way written and will be on pre-order as soon as my cover is finished for releasebefore the year is over.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Late one night in August 2011, when I was too wired to sleep, I opened up Word and out came this story. The moment before my fingers hit the keys, I had no inkling that I would become a writer. Three months later, I had written the first draft of my debut book, Masquerading Our Love.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The moment when I couldn’t stop writing and the stories flowed was when I considered myself a writer.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

No, real inspiration but perhaps unconsciously I may have wanted to read more innocent and hopeful YA Contemporary Romances rather than some of the depressing books out today. I read to forget real world issues and if the book is too real without much hope, I feel cheated.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Masquerading Our Love was not the first title and it evolved from The Reunion to Hidden Love, which a writer friend came up with, and finally to Masquerading Our Love.The title represents what the two teenagers, who are crushing on each other, resort to because of the decade-long silence between the parents.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My writing style is more conversational, so it’s easy for me. And since I’m a kid at heart I find it easy to channel my teenage self.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think all authors bring people and situations from their own lives into their stories. My characters have a little bit of me, my husband, my children, friends, acquaintances, etc. in them but none are totally one person because the characters are their ownbeing.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

For the first three books, I did visit local beaches and the St. Augustine Lighthouse to make sure that what I had written made sense. In the future, my books will be set in the Caribbean and Europe so I may want to revisit these places to ensure that I capture them accurately.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Perryelisabethdesigns.com designed both the Masquerading Our Love and Thinking About Love, Part 1 covers. She will also design the cover for Part 2.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want people to know that Christians are not perfect and they make mistakes like everyone else does. The only difference is that we believe that we can ask for forgiveness and it will be granted to us.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

There are so many indie authors that I enjoy reading that I couldn’t possibly name them all. But two of my favorite Contemporary Romance authors are Liwen Ho, who writes novellas, and VictorineLieske, who writes novels. Both of these authors provide all the feels that I love about the Clean and Wholesome Romance genre.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My Bible Study sisters were wonderful in providing me with encouragement and with prayers when I needed them.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I definitely see myself as an authormaking a living from my writing.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I wouldn’t change anything major but I would read the book outload to catch any pesky typos that slipped my critique partners, my beta readers, and my editor.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

My recent book solidified that my characters rule and I should let them dictate their own stories without much interference from me.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I could see Victoria Justice as Thalía.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

My advice to all writers is to keep writing and find your voice because no one can write as they do and not to submit or publish the first book unless it has been read by many readers.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I would love readers to give me feedback, whether it’s negative or positive so that I can work on my weak areas. It’s the reason I love reviews. And, of course, authors need readers to write reviews, especially on Amazon.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading New Home: Bramble Wood Royal Tea Shop 1 for Ivy Ruthven.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, the first book I read was The Wizard of Oz as an almost eight-year old and I was so proud because I read it all by myself.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My husband makes me laugh all the time as well as my children and romantic comedies. I can cry during emotional movies, when the underdog wins, when the couple finally realizes that they love each other, when a character I was rooting for dies. I also cry when I see clips about a person overcoming the impossible. I’m a real mush.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

This is a hard one but I would choose President Trump to find out how much is accurate from what both his haters and supporters say. I would love to ask him how he makes decisions when he faces the devastating news happening in our world today knowing that he can change the future of our country and the world. I wouldn’t want to be in his shoes just like I never wanted to be in President Obama’s shoes. The hatred toward both these men is mind-boggling.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I enjoy reading, traveling, and ballroom dancing with my own happily-ever-after hero.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love to watch Dance Moms with my daughter.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I love Sushi and Chinese food. My favorite colors are black and green. Since my taste in music is so eclectic it’s difficult to choose one from the many types but here it goes: Christian, old Hymns and Praise music, Electric dance, Merengue and Salsas, Classical, Celtic, modern Classical. I’m sure I’ve left off others but anything with a good beat that moves my soul and feet will land on my list.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

If I couldn’t write, then I would be working, reading, and volunteering more.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“Here lies a wife, a mom, and a woman who wanted to love others by helping them.”

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Readers can follow me on

 

Twitter  twitter.com/goaudreyrich

Blog goaudreyrich.wordpress.com

Instagram  instagram.com/goaudreyrich

Facebook Author Page  facebook.com/AudreyRichAuthor

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

BookBub

Thinking About Love

 

Audrey Rich is a New York City transplant living in South Florida, who writes sweet YA and NA Contemporary Romances and is an avid reader of novels where love conquers all.
She’s married to her own happily-ever-after Hero, is an inactive CPA, and a stay-at-home mom homeschooling her teenage daughter.
Audrey enjoys volunteering with children of all ages at church and teaching the Junior Achievement curriculums at local middle and high schools. She also loves to travel with her family.
Her first novel is Masquerading Our Love, which she started writing one night when she was too wired to sleep. It took her three months to write and five years for it to be published. Thinking About Love, Part 1 is her second book.
Audrey’s first YA short story, Where There’s Smoke There’s Fire, is in the free You & Me Forever: A Sweet Romance Collection. It hit number one in Amazon’s Top 100 Free slot for the Teen and YA Contemporary Romance category for numerous days.
She is currently writing Part 2 of Thinking About Love, which is scheduled to be published by the fall of 2017

Blurb:

Junior year has been tough on Thalía Reynari.

A new high school, trying to fit in with new friends, schoolwork, family commitments. With everything going on in her life, Thalía could use a break, an adventure.

So when Thalía meets Christopher, the most gorgeous guy in town, her life should change for the better, right?

Don’t bet on it.

Thalía and Christopher find themselves caught in the middle of a simmering feud that’s kept the two families apart for a decade. And no one is sure if young love will be enough to bridge this divide.

As they hide their relationship behind masks Thalía must decide if this new love is worth losing her parents’ approval.

 

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N09BGWD

Find announcements on her blog

https://wwww.goaudreyrich.wordpress.com

and

https://wwww.facebook.com/AudreyRichAuthor

 

What readers are saying:

“Was transported to a sweeter time as I read this book. Got caught up in the innocence and complexity of pre-adult characters. And I languished in their sincerity. Have to applaud the author on a well-written adventure into first Love, and beyond. But even more… Thanks for reminding me of the purity of love at the apex of discovery. WELL-DONE!” S. Clarke

“This is a great YA novel!! I bought the book for my 14 year old daughter and it’s perfect! I loved the fact that it is smut-free but still filled with teen romance.…Kudos to the author given this was her first book. I am looking forward to Ms. Rich’s future work for my daughter to read.” V.C.

 

What other authors are saying:

“A classy, beautifully written novel….Great achievement for this author’s first novel.” Vivan Towers, author of ShuiGui.

“Audrey Rich has written the perfect romance for the awkward teen in all of us. Full of longing, honesty, and hope, Masquerading Our Love is a satisfying and delightful read.” Liwen Ho, International Bestselling Author of Kisses, Kids and Bundles of Joy.

“This is a sweet story about two teenage students…” CeeCee James, author of Wrecked and Yours.

 

Excerpt:

We stood, our hands clasped. Hope filled his eyes. “Remember, I’ll always be your lighthouse against any storm, no matter how severe.” He planted a kiss on my open mouth and winked. “I’ll text you after eight.”

The lights of his car disappeared, but I didn’t head in. Holding the column for strength, the one I needed to continue with this masquerade, my brain again went into overdrive.

What if my dad gets really upset? Well, at least now he knows him. Hopefully he won’t freak when he finds out; although he might be more disappointed than angry at our deception. What a potential catastrophe.He’s my own lighthouse against any storm. My lighthouse

 

