Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Mary T Bradford and I’m the wonderful age of 55. The T in my name is for Theresa.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am Irish and live in Ireland. A wonderful country where the weather and tea are the main topic every day as in, “Would you like a cup of tea?” And “Will it ever stop raining?”

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie: your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a middle child, I’ve three sisters and one brother. I met my husband of 34 years at work. We both worked in Customs & Excise division of the Department of the Revenue Commissioners. I neither enjoyed nor disliked school, it was something I had to get through as far as I was concerned so I got on with it. As a child I had a load of mishaps, which meant a lot of doctors’ visits. But the main thing I am very proud of after my four children, is surviving open heart surgery when I was 48. Then I topped that with my debut novel, My Husband’s Sin.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

At present, I am awaiting my edits for my sequel, from my editor Christine with Tirgearr Publishing. I have yet to settle on a title. This book follows on from My Husband’s Sin, and I’m quite excited about it as I think my readers will be shocked with the twist in it. I have also two thirds written on another book but I really don’t know what genre it fits in, I’m forever challenging myself with different genres.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing many moons ago. I guess it came from writing long and winding letters home after I moved away. My letters would fill ten A4 pages easily and then when I had my children, I would scribble down what they got up to and from there it progressed. I enjoy creating stories from maybe a word given to me or a photo that peaks my interest.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Oh Gosh, I suppose when I had my short stories published regularly and was paid for them.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Writing my first book came from a question I asked myself while at a funeral. I was standing at the graveside and wondered how many secrets were buried and never known about. It got me thinking and hey presto, I had my debut novel.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I am not a flowery language writer. I consider my writing to be basic but good storytelling material. I seem to lean towards relationships a lot in my writing. Like I said earlier, I like a challenge and have written in four different genres already. I will probably have to decide to stick with one shortly as I’m sure to confuse readers who have read my westerns and then tackle One Night in Barcelona and get a shock when they realise it is adult romance!!

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I have not yet had to travel for my books, although the places I have written about I have been to. I would love to be told go to a certain place and write about it.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My wonderful publishers at Tirgearr provide great over designers for our books.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I have not thought about a message before now. Interesting question, I shall have to get back to you, Fiona on this, J

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My good friends who are also writers.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, for me, it is my job now. My family are reared and I can give it more time. I would love to be able to earn enough to live off my writing. So please everyone, buy my books and leave a review too. Reviews are important for authors. So I shall thank you all here in advance for rushing out to my book and make me reach number one, LOL

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Good question, as it is with my editor, I’m sure she will have something to suggest that will enhance the story but for me, myself, I can’t think of anything. I’m very happy with the way the sequel took shape. I even surprised myself with how the characters behaved.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Oh yes, for me as a writer, I am always learning. Even if it’s only a piece of flash fiction of 300 words to the 90000 plus of a novel, there is always something that makes you sit up and take notice. In the sequel, I found I believed in myself more as a writer, I trusted I could do it and I did.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I would love Jennifer Anniston to play, Lacey Taylor. I really enjoy her as an actress and it would be a dream come true.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Stick with it! Being a writer means having lots of patience, as it can take forever for publishers etc. to get back to you. Also, we are our own worst critics and although it is okay to seek advice, don’t be hard on yourself. In fact if you have friends who write or know a writers group ask for honest positive feedback. Even negative feedback can be given with a positive spin.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I want to thank my readers and hopefully after this interview I shall have new readers, so thank you in advance. It really is an honour to have someone give their time and money in buying and reading my work.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

At present, I’m reading a collection of short stories by Irish author Nuala O’Connor, titled, Joyride to Jupiter.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I loved all the Ladybird books when I started school and then moved on to everything by Enid Blyton.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love a good get-together with my brother and sisters where we share stories from our childhood, we always end up in tears of laughter. What makes me cry is seeing any of my children hurting and not being able to take their pain away for them, even though I know they must deal with their feelings themselves to learn about life.  There are two books/films that always make me sob crying, The Green Mile and Last Snows of Spring.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

There are many from the past that it is difficult to say, but a woman I would love to meet and spend time with would be my father’s mother, Kate Mackessy. I never met my paternal grandmother but have heard warm stories about her. In the present, I’d like to chat with Oprah Winfrey.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love crafts, in particular, crochet and cross-stitch. Plus of course reading.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I watch very little television.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Love pizza, shepherd’s pie, stews. I love the colours, red, orange, purples, strong colours. Music, I enjoy country rock.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would crochet for a living and read everything while eating my favourite foods and enjoying a glass of white wine.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She Did Her Best

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I have a blog and also Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads etc. accounts. I am in the process of setting up my email list as I plan to send out a two monthly newsletter to those who would like to hear from me.

 http://marytbradford-author.blogspot.ie/

FaceBook:    Mary T Bradford Author

Twitter :       @marytbrad

Amazon author page :https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00BSRPSOC

