Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie. 

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we?

Tell us your name.

Jodie chalker authors name JM Chalker

What is your age? 37

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Australia

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

i grew up in Sydney I am engaged to my partner and I have a three year old son named Sam. Who has OCD and Autism whom I spent majority of my time with since I am a stay at home mum.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am currently updating my novel Bound it getting a bonus 75 pages and new cover. I am working on other projects two novellas called turquoise and Latorie as well as the sequel to bound.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was old enough to learn how. I kept putting writing off because I have a learners disability that effects my grammar. But I decided with help of friends and family to pursue my dream.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

2015 when I became a published author for Blue tulip publishing house..

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Watching American shows and growing up reading the baby sisters club, sweet valley high, Christopher pike and R,L Stine novels.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I originally had a different title called cursed. But there was too many with that title and decided to call it Bound. But I can’t remember what made me consider that one. But it is related to a moment in the book itself.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I find it hard to write passion. And describing things. I am still a very new author.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well my book is ya para but I’ve been told that my character Olivia (Liv) is very much like me.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No but I went to California in America I based my books over there. In hope if my books ever a movie I’d have to go back to watch it being filmed.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Current cover; Jennifer Munswami new update cover coming author and designer Shannon Lee Perrine

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Always keep reading and one clicking on novels. I hope you have an adventure reading Bound.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

This is going to be a long list. Jennifer l armentrout, Mary Ting, Jus Accardo,Brenda Pandos Sarah j pepper, Rachel Van Dyken, Rachel Morgan, Desni Dantone,Wendy Higgins, LA Maldonado, LL Hunter,Shelly Crane, Cameo Renea Cassie Mae, Nicole Yoon, S,L Perrine,LaceyWeatherford. Due to having a learners disability I have very particular taste. I will confess that I do judge a book buy its cover and author. But I mostly stick to ya para. I stay away from blurbs do the book has to grab me by its introduction in order to get my attention. I also prefer to reach books written as the first person.

 

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author

All my friends and family members supported; Author Sarah.J.pepper helped answered my endless questions on how to get started. And Author Rachel Van Dyken helped me be introducing me to a publishing house.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Hopefully but I think it depends on if your book is noticed by readers.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I recently just updated my book so there are changes coming.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

The book community is very supportive of each other.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Some one new and fresh who nobody heard of yet.

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t force creativity the character will Come to you when they are ready

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Keep reading everyone wonderful adventures be patient with authors making novel. It  takes time and patiences to create a whole new world to the point of perfection.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading two arc novels as I also review and promote books and I am listening to one audio. The arcs I am reading are; shadow Faerie creepy halos book 8 Rachel Morgan. And Chasing Shadows Kindra Sowder. The audio I am listening to is actually funny romance called The consequences of Revenge Rachel Van Dyken.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Hmm that could possibly have been the first baby sitters club book: Kristy’s big idea.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laughter something humorous; I love Jim Carry films  has to be something pretty awful or upsetting to make me cry.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I want to travel to America attend a book convention to meet several of my Indy friends.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading writing reviewing promoting I love watching films. I also love playing video games.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

A lot of my shows are sadly reaching there end; but I love Teen Wolf, Vampire Diaries,The Big Bang Theory,Switched At Birth, Beauty and the Beast,once upon a time and Supergirl.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Fav food burgers, pizza and teriyaki chicken with rice and Tacos

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Lol have more free time to read everyone else’s books lol

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“She reads a lot” I have no idea??!  Lol

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

No but I do have a page I use on Facebook to put my news on and promote friends novels

https://m..facebook.com/groups/1593599494225771 book page I don’t use my blog anymore

Book link https://www.amazon.com/J.-M.-Chalker/e/B00VSH9IHK/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

