Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Brandi MacCurdy and I’m thirty-four.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Homosassa, Florida

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’ve lived and worked in the same small town my entire life! Something about a small town makes me comfortable. My husband and I have one daughter and we enjoy our close-knit family. At the moment, my husband is my editor, so I believe we make a really great team.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

In 2016, I self-published four books, Destined, Endless, Undeniable and Entirely. I’ve got three other manuscripts, Escape, Becoming and Shattered, in editing and I am currently outlining my eighth story, Breakwater.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing as a child. I can remember taking a notebook and pencil to my father’s after work softball games and making up stories about the people I’d see or about the ballfield. I was always creating imaginary worlds I could control. As I grew, so did my writing. It’s been a passion for me and something I find solace in.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, but I don’t think I considered myself a writer until I self published the first time. Then it seemed real.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The first book I ever wrote, Endless, was a journey for me. I wanted to explore some of the utter most tragic parts of life one could go through and show how you can still shine through the darkness. I wanted to have something out there that people could relate to and feel comforted by.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

One word titles have always been fun for me. I feel like it’s my thing, so I’ll run through words until something just strikes a chord with what the story is about.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I’m not sure if I have a particular style, but I do love the entire process: outlining, creating, putting pen to paper – all of it. Punctuation is my biggest challenge.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There are tons of experiences based on my life and those around me that I’ve pulled from and placed into my stories. I also pull from things I dream about. Dreams are some of my biggest inspirations.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I’m a homebody, all the way. I don’t travel, however some of my stories do take place in regions I’ve never visited. Lots and lots of research go into those.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

All of my covers are photographs taken by dear friends.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That love, no matter what form, conquers all. Perhaps also to lean on those closest to you – family and true friends are rare.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

In my early twenties I was introduced to Sandra Brown and I’ve loved her ever since. I also adore Gregory Maguire and Katherine Howe. I’ve read so many wonderful authors. Anyone telling a good story that I can fall into, I’m in love.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My family and friends are huge supporters, but so are my co-workers. They are amazing!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

That is the ultimate dream!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

You’re always going to find things to change I think, but I also believe they are all gems in their own right.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

The last book I completed was a therapeutic exercise for me. I wrote it as a way to work through a very difficult time in my life, so I learned a lot about myself while creating that story.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

That is a loaded question! Some of my stories I have strict visions of what I think the characters look like and others I don’t at all. I normally don’t share my visions because I want the reader to picture the character as they perceive them, but I’ll do it this once. I’ll go with Endless – My Becca would be Rachel McAdams and my Nick would be Nathan Fillion.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Do what you love and never give up. Whether you want to write for yourself, your family or for the world, just get out there and do it.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I hope the readers fall in love with my characters. I want the characters to feel like your old friends when you’ve finished the book.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I have stacks of books to read. But honestly, I’m so ready to dive into the Harry Potter series – I’ve never cracked one book!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I can remember reading was a battered copy of Kristy’s Great Idea from the Baby Sitters Club series. My nana had found it at a yard sale and brought it to me. I was hooked! I spent most of my allowance money as a teen buying that series. I have the entire series now and can’t wait for my daughter to read it.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Watching my daughter use her imagination makes me laugh. She creates wondrous stories and lands in the confines of her bedroom and she loves it. I admire that. Sincerity and nervousness makes me cry. If I’m afraid, I’m crying.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’ve never really had a good answer to this question. My favorite book is Jane Erye and I’ve always kind of wished I could meet her. That would be something!

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love crafting, creating, organizing and exploring local outdoor spaces.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Our household watches Dancing With The Stars, Once Upon A Time and anything on the ID on Discovery channel. I’m more particular with movies. They have to make me feel something or have a good looking leading man, at least.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Tacos! Goodness, I love tacos. My favorite color is and always will be green. I tend to listen to pop music and some country with little splashes of alternative and rock. I like to sing when I’m alone, so anything I can sing to, I enjoy.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’d probably explode. Or push my daughter to write and neither of those are good choices. So I’ll have to keep writing. It’s my escape, my release.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She fell in love with the moments.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Yes, my website is www.brandimaccurdy.com !

https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B01DZ1OXTE

