Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello, Fiona. First of all, many thanks for letting me revisit. I normally don’t get asked back a second time anywhere.

I’m Seumas Gallacher, self-named ‘ol’Scots Jurassic scribbler’ which puts me certainly above the legal age to be a writer.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Born in Docklands, Govan in Glasgow

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

Government junior school until age 12. Then won a scholarship to a fee-paying school, which meant the fees were taken care of. Almost never went, ‘coz my Ma told the headmaster of the primary school we couldn’t afford the school uniforms. The headmaster paid for it for three years from his own pocket. Won a second three–year scholarship, but had to leave after a year of that as the family really needed money coming in.

Became an apprentice Master of the Financial Universe as a clerk in a bank in Govan. Fell out after a punch up with my father (that’s almost mandatory in Govan), and left home to work in a bank in Tobermory, on the beautiful island of Mull. Started learning and singing in the Scots Gaelic language in which I was fortunate to win many prizes at the Local and National Gaelic Mod Festivals.

My financial industry career took me to London for ten years, and the following twenty-five in the Far East. The past fifteen years have been spent in the Middle East.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m still breathing.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing ‘stuff’ since ever I can remember, but started ‘seriously’ to write novels about ten years ago, as I felt it was ‘just time’ to do so.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

With no false modesty, I was aware that I could express myself well as a young guy, but consider that my learning curve took a terrific upward turn as I progressed into the Jack Calder crime thriller series. I treat the writing with respect, and spend a lot of time ‘sculpting’ and ‘wordsmithing’ my use of language.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

See above. It was long overdue, if only to see if I could actually finish writing a book – any book.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The genesis of THE VIOLIN MAN’S LEGACY title becomes apparent as readers get into the novel – no spoilers here!


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I think most writers who’ve been at their work for a fair period of time develop their own ‘Author’s Voice’ which is a recognisable inbuilt part of their style. I find the writing comparatively easy, but as I said above, I focus on trying to make it as good as I can get it without overdoing the thing. I believe sometimes authors can be a tad ‘too precious’ about their writing content.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The majority of writers either consciously or otherwise have a lot of their own lifetime’s exposure translated into their work. Events, characters, places, feelings, a bit here another piece there and so on. I know that mine has. I would tell you which parts are like that, but then as you know, I’d have to kill you!


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

See the answer above. I’ve already had long experiencein travel, business, intrigue, and been part of some hell raisers along the way.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A commercial artist friend in the Philippines, Edward Lu, who has an amazing knack of interpreting my book contents into remarkably appropriate covers. I consider his charges as an investment, not a cost.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not really, except perhaps that the good guys deserve to win, although there can be some dreadful reversals.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Too, too many to single out any one, but I make a point of trying to support new indie writers of any genre, as a way of ‘paying back’ the tremendous support my work has enjoyed since the start of this terrific literary journey. There are fresh ideas and writing ‘Voices’ coming out every day.


Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

The internet, or more precisely the wonderful people who populate the global writing diaspora.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Love to.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. When I type ‘The End’, that’s it – no turning back. Start another one.


Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Hopefully, as a human being, not just as a writer, I am learning things constantly. The biggest lesson, not just from the most recent novel but through the entire series and other things I indulge, is that it doesn’t have to conform to anyone’s deadlines. I write for me, and I must enjoy it, else I would sling it all in the bin and do something else.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

If we could get him to perfect a Scottish Glaswegian accent, Jason Statham as Jack Calder.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Read, read, read other writers. Keep learning the craft. And enjoy!


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Many thanks for all the fabulous support and love you’ve shown me for the past decade. LUV YEEZ!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Citadel, by Kate Mosse. It was a gift, and not my usual reading genre of choice, but I’m looking forward to it.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not really, but early books were The Scarlet Pimpernel, and David Copperfield. Dickens is still my favourite author (among many).

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh : Billy Connolly/Robin Williams

Cry          : Billy Connolly/RobinWilliams

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Sir Winston Churchill – my lifelong hero. The epitome of the maverick rebel.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I sing a wee bit for my own bathtub amusement. Writing takes up the balance of my interests these days.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Not into television much, and have only been to the movies a handful of times in recent years.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Foods: Most things, including decent fast foods, of which there are some around

Colours:Red, as I’m a Manchester United fan. But for a mix of colours, it’s hard to match or beat the foliage in Vermont in the USA in the autumn, which I saw when I was over there more than 30 years ago.

Music : Anything, absolutely anything that’s melodic and harmonious.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Sulk.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

‘He tried his best.’

Links mybooks

THE VIOLIN MANS LEGACY

myBook.to/theviolinmanslegacy

VENGEANCE WEARS BLACK

myBook.to/vengeancewearsblack

SAVAGE PAYBACK

myBook.to/savagepayback

KILLER CITY

myBook.to/calderkillercity

DEADLY IMPASSE

https://www.amazon.co.uk/DEADLY-IMPASSE-Gallacher-Seumas-ebook/dp/B01M0U7DR8/ref=sr_1_1?tag=geolinker-21&s=digital-text

 

SELF PUBLISHING STEPS TO SUCCESSFUL SALES

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Self-Publishing-Steps-Successful-Seumas-Gallacher-ebook/dp/B00JBL6K80/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1505668299&sr=1-1&keywords=self+publishing+steps+to+successful+sales

 

A FEW POETRY STOPS IN A LIFE’S JOURNEY

myBook.to/poetrystops

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My WordPress blog is https://seumasgallacher.com/

