Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello. My name is RJ Moore and I’m 28 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from Idaho.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I was born and raised in Idaho on a little ranch. I grew up with riding horses and doing 4-H throughout my youth. I went to college for Equine Business Management and ended up marring my high school sweetheart. We now have two beautiful girls! I recently quit my day job to be a stay at home mom!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m getting ready for my first author signing at the Boise Book Fest that I’m super excited for. I’m currently working on my second book which is a paranormal romance and very different from my first book so I’m a little nervous about it.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote my first novel almost a year ago so I’m still very new to the author world. Writing is something I’ve wanted to do, but something I figured would never happen.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I didn’t consider myself a writer until I published my first book. However, it still feels strange to call myself an author.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My friend and fellow author, Andee Michelle inspired me to write. Like I said earlier, it was something I figured would never happen. When Andee wrote her first book, it made me realize that I actually could make it happen.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I’m not really sure how I came up with the title. When I thought about my character and what she was going through, I realized that she was becoming the person see wanted to be so Becoming Eve just kind of popped into my head.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The story line of Becoming Eve is completely made up, however, I based a lot of the characters on people in real life as well as a lot of the events that happen in the book. They are based on things that have happened in my life.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

If I could travel, I absolutely would. It definitely would make it much easier, but since I’m not able to, I either do a lot of research or ask someone I know from the area to make sure that I’m being accurate in the description.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Becoming Eve was designed by Maria-rose at Cover Me Darling. She did an amazing job!

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Just not to let fear hold you back from what you want to do or who you want to become.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

This one is a hard one since there are so many authors out there that are great and I wish everyone knew about them. My friend Andee Michelle is a new author and I have always loved her books. She writes such strong female characters who never need a man to help find their way in life.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Honestly, it would have to be the author community. I am one that will message an author to let know that I loved their book. I messaged Sara Ney and we started chatting. I told her I was in the process of writing my first book and she instantly introduced me to other authors. From there I received so much help and support.
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It would be fantastic if I was able to make writing into my career, but I write because it’s something that makes me happy.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I wouldn’t. It turned out exactly how I wanted it and really helped my confidence of putting my work out for the world to read.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Being that this was my first book, it has definitely taught me how to improve my writing skills. I make sure to read a lot of the feedback from reviews to see where I can improve. I also learned it’s a good way to release frustrations. I could write out an argument that I’ve had and was able to make it go exactly how I wanted it to.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I love to act so as amazing as that would be, I probably would have another actor play the role while I sat back and watched how another interprets the book.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

One of the things that made me nervous about publishing my book was my family reading the steamy scenes. Some of the best advice I was given was to write everything down. Pretend no one you know is reading it and put every detail down on the paper. You can always delete or edit it later on.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you so much for reading my book and don’t be afraid to message me if you have any questions at all!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently not reading anything at the moment as I’m concentrating on my second book. I did just finish reading Slam by Andee Michelle. It was amazing!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but I do remember the first book that initially got me into reading was Song Of The Lioness Series by Tamora Pierce.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I don’t cry very easily but I do laugh at almost anything. Sara Ney’s books can usually make me laugh so hard I cry though.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would love to meet a lot of authors but I think meeting Laurann Dohner would be amazing just because I have been in love with all her books for so many years.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love to draw and ride horses. I think horses will always be such a huge passion of mine.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t watch a lot of TV but I do enjoy Outlander and The Walking Dead. My all-time favorite movie is Dirty Dancing.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

I love most foods but I could live off of breads and sweets! I have two favorite colors which are blue and yellow. Those were my wedding colors and also my children’s birth flower colors! When it comes to music I listen to everything. From Shinedown to Michael Bublé. It all depends on my mood.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Currently, I would continue to be a stay at home mom but I would devote more time to riding horses if I wasn’t writing.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I haven’t really thought about it. Probably something really simple like here rests the milf. Haha, I’m only kidding. I’ll have to think about what I want it to say but hopefully I still have a lot of time to think about it.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I don’t have any blogs but I do try to keep readers updated on my work through Facebook, where I do a lot of giveaways as well.

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorRJMoore/

Amazon Authors Page

USA  https://www.amazon.com/RJ-Moore/e/B01MFFGZ5M/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_1

UK  https://www.amazon.co.uk/RJ-Moore/e/B01MFFGZ5M/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_6?qid=1505354053&sr=1-6

 

 

 

