Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello, Fiona…. It is nice to be back.  I am M.A. Abraham… and yes, it is difficult to believe, but I am a senior citizen.  The Elves are trying to do something about that without sending me to Tantalus.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I originate from the center of Canada… a little town just West of Winnipeg, Manitoba.  Hoping to relocate to the interior of British Columbia one day.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I tend to be a loner, the bane of most writers.  I am the second youngest of eight children in the family.  We were rambunctious… not going to say wild, because that isn’t quite the way it was.  I was also somewhat of a Tomboy… mixed with wildcat, when I was younger.  The family has spread out a little, but I am still home, making sure everyone is welcome when they return.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Well, as most people know, I am finished writing the Elven Chronicles Series.  I have, however, followed it up with the ‘One Empire’ Series,   Book .5 will release this December with ‘Rising from the Ashes’.  It starts off where ‘Kings of the Empire’ left off, as our Elves live behind the veil and rebuild the empire from the ashes of the battles that were fought.  I will follow ‘Rising from the Ashes’ with ‘Hidden Kingdoms’, book 1 of the series, which I will be writing in October.

I am also following the Elven Chronicles up with the Guardians of the Empire Series, Book one, ‘The Goddess’ will release on February 4th.  It begins several thousands of years after the Elves build the veil to shield the empire from the rest of the world.  It will also highlight the Elven/Dragon shifters, as they rise to do battle for the ancestors of the people that had come to the aid of the Elves.  The Elves come to help as well, so you know there is going to be a lot of action.  Over the winter and spring, I want to write books 2 & 3 – ‘The Princess’ and ‘The Priestess’  Book 4 is already pushing at my mind, wanting to form, and book 5 is proudly waiting in a chair on the other side of my desk with its boots on the top my writing pad.  ‘The General’ is not willing to wait its turn.

I released the first of the Daughters of the Valley Trilogy ‘Merika’s story, over the summer, and will follow it up with ‘Teryka Rose’, next year.  The last of the three books in that series will be ‘Angelica Leanne’, which I hope to have written by next summer sometime.

In the meantime, there are several standalones watching to see when they are going to get some attention.  This could be tricky.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote my first book when I was 14, but hid it away as I did many others after.  I took breaks, as life can get very busy and complicated when you own a business.  I travelled and got to meet some very interesting and wondrous people, which I still remember fondly.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

There are many definitions of the word, mainly it is one who has a compulsion to write… So, I would say I have considered myself as one for a long time… but one they refer to as the closet variety.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

That one is still in hiding, but it was a challenge from a friend.  I don’t know why I wrote what I did, the storyline just kind of happened.  (much like they do today.)

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

As there is a none ending list of books that qualify for this question, should we just say that titles suggest themselves, and sometimes even change in the making.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I generally write as a narrative.  I am telling a story.  Sure the characters talk and interact, but it is still a tale.  I prefer the Fantasy/Romance genre… but have also written Science Fiction as well as Historical, Contemporary and Time Travel
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I make the stories relatable.  There has to be some basis for the characters to interact in everyday life.  We life our life surrounded by rules and general attitudes.  People operate on a schedule and that is what they understand.  I do not use the characters of specific people that I know, but I do use a common sense type of outlook to how my people are going to act.  Experiences, I would say to a point, but there is a lot of difference between what I lived and fantasy.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

As I am stuck on Earth and my stories generally happen either in deep space, or in the Elven Empire, I would say no.  I do, however, make sure that my facts are straight, as much as possible.  To do this, I have studied Physics and Astronomy, as well as ancient history.  My past travels have also helped, as I got to see first hand how people must have lived in the past.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

In the beginning, my niece, Becca, made my covers.  Now, Cora Graphics does them exclusively for me.  I love her work and working with her is great… although I am still convinced she is going to send a hit man after me someday. 😉

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

More along the line, that we should live life as was probably intended.  I think the ‘Tantalus Series’ holds more of a message than anything.  It shows how evil has gotten its teeth into our world, and the harm it is doing.  It also highlights the good that is out there.  We live in a complex world.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

There are many really good writers and I have the library to prove that I find many interesting.  I like an author that makes you reach for the ending, to find out what it will be.  The twists and revelations that appear in the storylines, as well as how they came to be.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

There were several, but Eniko Tolnai stands in a class on her own.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I can be for some, but for me it is more of a love affair… LOL.  Anything that comes out of it is a bonus.  You have to love what you do to make it worthwhile.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, not in my latest.  I am happy with the storyline and the characters.  Sure, they could be stubborn and tended to be naïve, but that is human nature.  Sometimes you just can’t see the forest for the trees.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I am always in the process of learning things.  In the book I just finished writing, which is a 2019 release, I learned that the characters have a way of taking over, and then you have to teach them about time, and what it takes to do something in real life.  It isn’t all bump and go in the world.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead? Depends which book.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

There can be a lot of well meaning helpers in the world, and it is one thing to listen to what they have to say… another to know when to say, “Hey, this is my book, my characters, and it will go together as they say, not the way you or I think it should.”  (Yes, as the characters have the final say about what will end up in the story, it can sometimes it can surprise,)  As for the actual work that goes into it, make sure it is well edited and researched.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Beyond the fact that they are appreciated and I love hearing from them, not much.  I really hope they are enjoying the ride though.

Also, watch for how things develop, as there will be a lot of changes coming up in the future… not saying what.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I have about 400 books on my TBR list, and I want to read any one of them, just need to finish ‘People of the Phoenix’ first.  Then I will take a week to read, before jumping into ‘Hidden Kingdoms.”

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

“Besides Dick and Jane… The Bobbsey Twins at the Seashore.”

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I am always pleased to hear that someone is happy in their lives, I get a chuckle out of watching toddlers play, they are so inventive.  Crying, I hate to see people who are hurting for whatever reason.  I wish I could heal the woes of the world, but know this is beyond my capacity.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Beyond the usual names, I would like to say my Grandfather from on my father’s side.  We never got to meet him, and we are not sure whatever happened to him.  I would want to know him a little, and perhaps get to know more about our background.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I crochet and embroider a little, but don’t have much time for it anymore.  It seems as if there isn’t as much time for these things as there used to be.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love the classics.  I also have this thing for Snoopy cartoons… It is the child in me. LOL

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Favourite foods, I am pretty much a meat and potatoes type of person, although I enjoy coming out of that niche from time to time and being inventive.  Colours, blue, depending on the hue.  Music, that depends on my mood.  Lately I have been listening to a lot of Enya.  Other than that, some of the classics, semi classics, pop, rock… I am open to a lot of possibilities.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I can’t imagine a future where I will no longer write.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She never gave up.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

https://maabraham.com

Amazon Authors page

USA   https://www.amazon.com/M.A.-Abraham/e/B00CPBVAIS/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

UK  https://www.amazon.co.uk/M.A.-Abraham/e/B00CPBVAIS/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1505344583&sr=1-2-ent

