Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi there. I am Faith Gibson, and I also write under Andi Copeland. I happen to be 51.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Originally I’m from a little town in North Georgia, right outside Chattanooga. I currently reside just south of Nashville.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am married with two grown children. My husband and I like to ride our Harleys and go to concerts. I love to read, but I spend most of my time writing.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I have a YA Fantasy book, The Oracle, being released on September 28th. It is written under my Andi Copeland pen name, and it is the first book in a new series, The Guardians of Truth. It’s a coming of age, good vs evil, angels and demons story with a little romance thrown in.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing stories when I was really young. I had lots to say, so I wrote it all down.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The first time I wrote a short-story in English in high school.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I just wanted to get the stories in my head down on paper. There’s so much jumbled up in my brain, and I think it’s why I have such vivid dreams. The first book I published was the after-effect of a short story.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I actually chose a tongue-in-cheek title (Double Stuffed Eclairs) that didn’t make any sense once the story was finished. I changed the title to Troubled Hearts.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I do have a style all my own, and so far it has been well received. I write in multiple genres, so switching gears is probably the most challenging. I’ll write paranormal where I can make stuff up in a whole new world, and then I switch to contemporary or MM and it has to be more believable.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Every single book I have written has characteristics of someone in my life. I toss in something my son says or something my daughter has told me. My attitude comes through in several of the female characters, and I try to add certain things about my friends into my characters.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I try to write about places I’m familiar with. If it is a foreign country I’ve never visited, I research online before writing about it

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have used several designers, but for the last ten I use Jay Aheer of Simply Designed Art.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In the MM books I want people to realize love is love and you don’t choose who your heart desires. The others are merely to entertain the masses. Most of them do have an element of good vs evil.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Riley Edwards, Chris Genovese, Brooke Lee, Golden Czermack, just to name a few of the newer authors I love. I can’t say I have one favorite writer because there are so many good ones out there, but if I have to choose one, it’s going to be Sherrilyn Kenyon. I have all of her books in hard back. She has been at the paranormal genre for so long and she always comes up with fresh storylines.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

There is a small core group of people that have been with me from day one. There are several who beta read for me, and there are 5 women who are my “posse.”

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I am blessed that this is my career.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not at all. I absolutely love the book.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes. There are a lot of people who love my “adult” books that aren’t interested in giving YA a chance, even though it’s still my writing. I’m hoping to persuade them to give it a try.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I would have to think on this longer than a few minutes. I have seen too many “bad” actors and actresses take over roles. I wouldn’t want the casting job, honestly.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Be true to your characters. Find a good editor. Don’t stop writing.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for every single book you have bought and reviewed. You are the only reason I am able to do what I love for a living.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Secret Life of Cooper Bennett (ARC) by Golden Czermack, Deacon by Kit Rocha, and Blaze by Donna Grant (yes, I’m reading them all at one time)

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but I’m sure it was a Dr. Seuss book

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I cry over every little thing, but a good Dance number on So You Think You Can Dance will move me to tears just like the Budweiser commercials will. It takes a lot to make me laugh though.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would like to meet my biological mother for five minutes, just to see what she looks like

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading, riding my Harley, cooking, my pup (she’s not a hobby, but I’d rather spend time with her than anything)

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Everything Marvel, Game of Thrones, too much to list really.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Pizza and Mexican food, Green (because I love trees) and loud rock music. Shinedown is my favorite band. I have a song title of theirs incorporated into my latest tattoo

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would still write. That’s not an option.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I do not want to be buried. I want to be cremated with some of my ashes being made into a gargoyle statue and some being planted with a new tree. I want my family to throw a party and remember the good times. But if there were words written in stone about me, I would hope they read “she made me feel loved”

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My newsletter is the best place for updates and contests.

Readers can find me here:

 

FB – http://facebook.com/faithgibsonauthor

FB Fan group – https://www.facebook.com/groups/1793040407641729/

Website – http://www.faithgibsonauthor.com/

Bookbub:  https://www.bookbub.com/authors/faith-gibson

Blog: http://faithgibsonauthor.blogspot.com/

Amazon Author Page http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00LKV2U7O

Twitter – http://twitter.com/authorfgibson

Goodreads –https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8414787.Faith_Gibson

 

Oracle blurb and buy links:

Rhennan Ward is no one special. Or so she thought. When her grandmother gives her a Tree of Life pendant for her eighteenth birthday, she finds out how very different she really is.

Rhennan is next in line to be Oracle, the one chosen by the Creator to guard the secret of Heaven – The Tree of Life. Rhen’s grandmother, the current Oracle, fails to pass along the knowledge of Rhen’s destiny, and when strange things start happening, Rhen believes she is going crazy. Coming into her powers before her time, Rhen sees things she shouldn’t. Her parents are keeping secrets from her, and that only adds to the stress she feels about her sanity.

Maddox Bell is the new guy at school. When the tall, good-looking bad-boy shows up in his leather jacket and moto boots, all it takes is one look into his sapphire eyes, and he makes Rhen forget about her ex-boyfriend – the one who broke her heart. He also makes her forget to study, and with only three months left in the school year, Rhen is torn between keeping her perfect grade point average and spending time with the man who has his own secrets. As Maddox and Rhen become closer, things get stranger, threatening to rip them apart.

When Rhen makes one desperately wrong decision, her life and that of her family, is irrevocably changed forever.  <i> If this was Hell, the Christians on Earth were going to be pissed. </i>

Talon Silver is the Guardian who has been watching over Rhen her entire life. He is also the one who rescues her from the hands of a demon. He is supposed to be one of the good guys, having Angel blood. Why, then, is Rhen hesitant to trust him?

Angels and demons. Good versus evil. Things aren’t always black and white, and Rhen has to figure out who she can trust.

The Guardians of Truth is a coming of age YA fantasy series revolving around 2 sisters and their journey of discovery – angels and demons really exist.

In this twist on good vs evil, follow Rhennan and Nikira Ward as they learn who they really are and what that means for their future.

 

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0755XT5CP

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/oracle-27

B&N:    http://bit.ly/2vAvG3J

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1276226770

Goodreads link https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36141736-oracle

 

