Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Name: J.L. Keathley, Age: 30

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Arkansas, U.S.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I graduated high school from an alternative school.  I moved around a lot, so this was the easiest way, I could learn on my own.  I have been married since 2007, my husband is the best and I have two daughters who are my world.  I love books (obviously) and movies.  I am a huge animal lover, I have several reptiles, amphibians, arachnids, and small mammals. My family also had a couple of cats.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am currently writing my first novel The Shadow Realm: Distant Memories, which I hope to be a series. I am also trying to open up a small general store in the downtown area of my city.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

My writing began in high school, I always have loved to write whether it be in a journal or the start of stories I never finished.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When a friend of mine told me I could do it, she said she would help me with the process, and she truly has been. Again I have always loved books and have always wanted to write a full length  novel or series of novels, but my husband and my author friend encouraged me and still are.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

I see so many other people writing, and I love their stories.  Ideas are always swirling around in my mind, I finally decided to put it on paper.  I figured if other people can do it why can’t I?  Everyone has a story to tell whether it’s fiction or non-fiction, I just had to have the courage to start and the courage to finish.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Honestly, it just popped into my head.   I loved the title Distant Memories, but I needed something else to go with it.   So the Shadow Realm is the book really, it’s the non human world of my series.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging? Not really, I like to plan ahead.  So I think about what do I want to happen and why I want it to happen.  I do an outline this way I can keep the story going and repeat my self so much.  I keep a lot of notes about characters, places, and relationships.  I write when I can, because it’s life, there is always something to do.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The majority of the characters are fictional and so are the events, I do have a little bit of my quirks or personality into some of the characters.  A few of the land marks are real including some of the cities, but the majority of the book is fiction. The events aren’t real.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel?

Before or during the process? Not really, I stay in the same town, but travel to different locations to write, again I write when I can. However, I would love to travel and write where I go, so what I see can influence what I want to write in the future.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Author Mary May, with Blue Lily Publishing.  She has great talent!  I told her what my novel is about and she put together my cover.  I think its amazing and it fits my personality so well.  She took my feedback and she did an incredible job.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

In a way yes.  You may be different, but that makes you who you are, you may have had events happen in your life that you don’t agree with, but it makes you who you are as well, own it!

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Yes quite a few new authors, Mary May, Kacy Hart, R.A. Sears, Andrea Roche, and Megan D. Harding.  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you? I have so many favorite authors, but my most favorite is Stephanie Meyers.  I love her Twilight Series, I first saw the movie then I HAD to read the books.  I love that it’s different then other vampire and werewolf stories.  She made up her own rules and went with it, instead of following the crowd, I think that is awesome!

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Mary May, she has published 11 books on her own, which is amazing and she has been encouraging me since the beginning.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I don’t know, I really hope people like my books, but I am writing it more for me than others.  If it turns into a career and allows me to travel around and just write, that would be amazing.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

It is still a work in progress, but I am open to feedback from my beta readers.  I am sure it will go through several drafts until I feel it is perfect.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned that I can create a world that I like, even if it’s not real.   I can control what people do and what happens to them, it is exciting.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Jana Kramer, I feel as though she would be the perfect lead for my main character Jade.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Write what you want, don’t do it to make money, do it because you want to tell a story that you want other people to read/hear.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Dream big and don’t give up, you can do what ever you set your mind to.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Reading for a review, Fallen, by Megan D. Harding.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Honestly no, I have read so many, even as kid I liked to reach.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Movies or Books when animals die may me cry and a lot of stuff makes me laugh, mostly it’s my kids doing something silly.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet?

Why? I really haven’t thought about it, I feel as though if I am or was destined to meet some one I would have.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading, Writing, Fishing, Camping, coloring, drawing, etc..

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Ah, there a lot.  My top shows are The 100, Shadowhunters, The Fosters, Quantico, Still Star Crossed, Grey’s Anatomy and Nashville, there are others, but I have already listed a lot.   My top movies are The Proposal, Fried Green Tomatoes, The Last Song, The Longest Ride, Avatar, the Underworld series, the Harry Potter series,  The Hunger Games series, Divergent Series, and the Twilight Series.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Foods: Burgers, fries, sushi, chocolate cake, bread pudding, sweat tea, hot chocolate.  Favorite Color: blue, black, and pink.  Favorite Music: mostly oldies from the 50s-90s, country, a little pop and RB.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Travel around the world, even if I couldn’t write, it doesn’t mean I couldn’t dream.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She made a difference in the world around her, she inspired people to be who they are.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I am on a few social media sites, I am sure I will add more once I am published.

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/J.L.Keathley/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/jlk_ya_author

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/j.l.keathley_theauthor/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/26743523-j-l-keathley-ya-author

