Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi everyone! I’m L.A. Remenicky, a 50-something wife and furkid mom who writesromance.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I live in Fort Wayne, Indiana – a small city up in the northeast corner of the state.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Business/Accounting and I spent years doing payroll before I started writing.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I have a story in an anthology, Forbidden Love, to benefit the March Of Dimes coming out on Saturday. I’m excited to use my writing to raise money for this great organization.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always been a bookworm and I thought about writing for years. It actually started back in high school when two friends and I started writing a story about the three of us – we dated rock stars and had drama-filled lives. A few years ago one of those friends told me she had been adding to the story so I thought that sounded like fun but I had no clue how to get started. She mentioned this writing challenge she had signed up for, NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writers Month) where you try to write 50,000 words in the month of November. I thought it sounded like just the thing to get me started so I signed up. I wrote about 52,000 words that month that eventually became my first book, Saving Cassie.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After I sat down and started writing – that’s all there is to it (sounds easy, right?). Feeling like an author, that’s another thing all together.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was inspired by some dreams I’d had and a Bryan Adams song.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles are tricky. I don’t really know where my titles come from, the stories usually lead me to the title.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I write contemporary romance. My biggest challenge is to tell a unique story without falling into a stereotype – I want my books to stand out.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of my characters share some characteristic with me. Cassie shares my red hair and stubbornness. Laini from Invisible is a shy introvert like me.

 

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Not for the actual writing but travel does seem to inspire me. On a trip to Maryland to see my sister and her family we stopped at some civil war sites that inspired an idea for story that I hope to write next year.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The covers for Saving Cassie and Ragan’s Song were designed by Sprinkle On Top Studios. My other covers were designed by Wycked Ink.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Just to believe in true love. I’m a romantic at heart and I love a good HEA.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

There are so many it’s hard to choose just one. I am always finding “new to me” authors – one day my Kindle will explode from too many books. My all-time favorite writer is Stephen King, he is a true storyteller.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My best friend Karen – she’s the one who got me started writing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, if I can figure out the marketing part. Getting noticed is hard but I’m constantly learning and my first goal is for my writing to pay for itself.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I don’t think so. Each book is a journey in itself and I learn from each one.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

The one thing I learned is that I can’t force the story and that sometimes I need to step back and work on something else for a while.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I see Taylor Kinney as Robby from Where There’s Faith, Faith is harder –  maybe Emmy Rossum (from Shameless)

 

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up and don’t let anyone dictate what/how you write.

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for all your support and I hope to see you at a future signing!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now I’m reading The Casanove Experience by Mickey Miller

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It was probably a Little Golden Book. I don’t remember ever not reading.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Anything can make me laugh or cry on any given day. TV shows, songs, books, commercials about abused/neglected animals..

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Stephen King. Would love to discuss the craft of writing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading and coloring.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Right now I’m binge-watching Supernatural. I also love Hawaii 5-O, The Night Shift, and Shameless.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Favorite foods: Sushi, shrimp, and pizza. I love the color green and I can usually be found listening to a random mix of music – I have very eclectic taste, anything from old school country such as Patsy Cline to Asking Alexandria.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would probably still create stories in my head. It’s as if I can’t turn it off.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Writer, reader, and lover of words.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

You can visit my website at www.laremenicky.com or my Facebook author page www.facebook.com/laremenicky.

 

Book links:

Saving Cassie: http://smarturl.it/SavingCassieAmzn

Ragan’s Song: http://smarturl.it/RagansSongAmzn

Where There’s Faith: myBook.to/WTFaith

Invisible: http://smarturl.it/InvisibleAmz

Loving Jessie’s Girl: myBook.to/JessiesGirl

Last Chance Christmas: http://bit.ly/2hN4zLY

Awethology Dark: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B016RDV1RE

December Awethology – Dark Volume: http://www.amazon.com/December-Awethology-Dark-Awethors-ebook/dp/B018XWC5Z4

Forbidden Love (Releasing August 12 at $.99 for a limited run): myBook.to/LKBforbiddenlove

 

 

