Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Alexis Kennedy, 44

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Missouri, USA

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a son who is almost 18; I graduated college with a BSE in elementary education and taught school for 5 years before I realized it wasn’t my calling.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m excited to have two new releases this fall. Oct. 7th– Angry House, which is my first horror novel, and Nov. 4th – Birthright, which is my 3rd paranormal romance. Both are being published with CHBB Publishing, whereas I’ve self-published my other books.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written poetry since I was 14, then a children’s book 11 years ago, and a short story which became my first novel in 2014.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I was writing my first novel, which I began in 2012 and published in early 2014. (I’d also started two other books at the same time.)

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wrote a sexy short vampire story for a boyfriend in 2010, and I would go back to it now and then to read it, and one day I said to myself, “Hey, this would make a terrific book.” Thus began the birth of Bound Through Blood.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title reflects the storyline because my heroine is bound to the vampire through her 10th generation great grandmother, who was his one true love three hundred years ago, and he smells her blood in my heroine, who is also the spitting image of the woman.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I write multiple genres, so when I switch to a new one, it’s a challenge. As far as specific style, I don’t think so. I just try to imagine what I’m writing, so I can make my characters as real as possible. I don’t outline my stories. I let the characters lead me where they want to go.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, it’s pure fiction; however, I do a lot of research to make places as close to the real thing as possible, and for my crime novels, I use correct terminology.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No, I’ve not traveled, but I would love to visit some of the places I’ve written about.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have done all of my own covers.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No. I just want to entertain them.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I like James Patterson for his crime stories because they keep my interest. I like Shannon Drake for her paranormal romances because they are sexy.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

A couple of friends supported me, but my greatest supporter is my dog. When I need a break, she pushes my keyboard tray in to get me to play with her.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I spend so much time with my books. Even when I’m not at the computer, I’m thinking about my books/characters/plots.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not that I can think of.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, I learned a lot about ghosts.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I would like it if Greyston Holt played the lead in my 2nd book about a Lycan who has to save the world from vampires. (Under the Blood Moon) For my recent horror book, maybe Kevin Spacey.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Always research information on writing techniques to editing, to background information on what you are writing about.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for taking a chance on an unknown name. Hopefully, I won’t stay that way for long.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Venom and Vampires

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I was a big fan of Dr. Seuss and Beverly Cleary when I was little.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Pretty much everything.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d love to meet Stephen King because after writing my first horror novel, I’m even more curious how he does it.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I like to paint.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Sitcoms and crime shows are my favorites. Two Broke Girls, Mom, Rizzoli and Isles, and CSI are a few.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Pizza, pink, and 80’s hair bands

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’d be moping all day and not doing anything.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I told you I was sick.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers? 

https://alexiskennedy.net

 

https://www.amazon.com/Alexis-Kennedy/e/B00MBG7YKA/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_6?qid=1502551169&sr=1-6

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Alexis-Kennedy/e/B00MBG7YKA/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

