Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi everyone! My name is Veronica Del Rosa and I’m 38 years old. Every so often that surprises me because I don’t feel old enough to be an adult.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Here and there. My dad was in the military so we moved a few times in my life, although most of it in Canada. Currently I live in Toronto, Ontario with my husband and our son.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’ve always been fascinated with computers, so it was natural for me to go to college for computer networking. Funny thing is, I’ve yet to have a job that entailed networking. *laughs* Instead, I’ve done computer repairs, tech support, and now customer service.

My husband is a stay at home dad because I would’ve died from boredom. I need the social interaction from a job and it’s given me a lot of fodder for writing.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My latest news is that I’m wrapping up my paranormal romance Enforcers and Coterie series. Book 10 will be out in December and then I’m focusing on two spin off series as well as some standalone urban fantasy books.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in 2013 because my husband politely told me to either put up or shut up when I kept complaining about a popular book series. The books were driving me nuts, yet I wouldn’t stop reading them. His directive gave birth to the Enforcers and Coterie world.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

In 2014 when I published my first book, even though I didn’t *shudder* have it edited. Some writers can self-edit, but I’m not one of them. I have since had the book edited since I do learn from my mistakes. J

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My husband. He also listened to me when I bounced story ideas and helped shape some of the plot. He told me that I needed to have consistent rules and to follow them.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Magic Resistant is the first book in the series and came about because the main character is magic resistant, meaning magic doesn’t affect her the same way as everyone else. It’s also an automatic death sentence.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging? I don’t believe I have a specific writing style—perhaps one that’s minimalist when it comes to descriptions.  With the paranormal romance, it’s mainly told in 3rd person point of view, switching between the two main characters. At first it was difficult to avoid head-hopping, but I’ve learned to curb it.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I’d have to say very little is based on real experiences since it involves demon summonings, kidnapping, and mythical creatures.  *laughs* Some of the men do have personality traits of my husband though, like his nerdy side for one of the characters and his sarcastic side for another.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

If by travel you mean leave my city or province, then no. However, I do enjoy writing in different locations, like the beach near us or outside on our balcony. I find I can’t stay in one location and write. I need different stimuli throughout the process.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Julie Nicolls designed my covers for the series I have out right now as well as the next series I’m writing.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Tolerance and love are the main takeaways from my books.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have two favourite indie authors, Heather R. Blair and Jen Winters. Their writing speaks to me in different ways. I love how I’m pulled into the worlds created by them. I’m all about romance and the happily ever after, so if an author can make me believe that two people have fallen deeply in love, then I’m a happy reader.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Two friends that I met through Goodreads have been huge supporters of mine since I started this journey. They’ve encouraged me and helped me believe that I can succeed as an author. When I’m ready to quit and walk away from writing, they tell me I can do it. Plus they threaten me with bodily harm if I don’t finish the books I currently have on the go.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, it’s a career and an obsession. I can’t picture my future without writing. Whether or not it’s a lucrative career remains to be seen.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, once I hit publish on my books, I’m confident in what I’ve released.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, I’ve learned that I know nothing about viruses and I’m lucky I have an editor who does! *laughs* A virus is a major over-arching plot point in my series and now that I’m wrapping it up, so I need up the stakes. My editor has pointed out the ways to do that.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Hmm, that’s both an easy and difficult question because it depends on which book. Now, I’ve actually only picked out male leads for my books. With Dawn’s Keeper, Elijah would be played by Sean Bean. For Chained in Desire, Victor would be played by Jensen Ackles, and last, but definitely not least, in my current work in progress, Nicor would be played by Manu Bennett.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep writing and find the people who understand you. While it’s great to have supportive friends and family, if they don’t understand the process of writing, they’ll have no clue how to truly help you.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I’d like to tell my readers that I appreciate each and everyone one of them. Without them, I wouldn’t receive as much pleasure from writing.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading a boxed set for Awakened Dragons by Terry Bolryder.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, it’s been an eternity since my first book. I started chapter books when I was about eight and moved on to romances when I was nine.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a strange sense of humour, so lots of things make me laugh. It’s hard to pin down what exactly does it. As for crying, I’m a sap when it comes to books and movies. And if a child is hurt, I’ll start blubbering.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d love to meet Jensen Ackles, because I think he’s an amazing person. Sweet, funny, and a little dorky.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading is my main hobby. I also love camping and hiking with my family. We decided to spend more time this summer outdoors which we’ve successfully done.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

There are a few TV shows that my husband and I keep up on, like Dark Matter, Killjoys, The Expanse, Rick and Morty, Archer, and Westworld. I love the sci-fi kind of shows. As for movies, we tend more towards action and superhero style. Funny enough, as a romance writer, I don’t like watching romance movies.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

My favourite food is lasagna and pumpkin pie. My favourite colour is purple and dark green, though I love green simply because it’s my husband and our son’s favourite. Music is alternative rock. I love Kaleo, Kongos, and Bastille.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Spend more time reading. *laughs* And probably more time with my kid when he’s not playing video games.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Don’t laugh, you’re next.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Readers can visit my website here https://veronicadelrosa.wordpress.com/

Although most of my updates will be done through my mailing list. They can sign up on my website and get the first book Magic Resistant for free for joining.

Thank you so much for having me here, Fiona. I had a great time! 😀

Amazon Author https://www.amazon.com/Veronica-Del-Rosa/e/B00MRY9TY0?tt_source=NULL&utm_campaign=NULL&utm_medium=TinyTorch&utm_source=NULL

Paranormal romance – The Enforcers and Coterie series

Throwing Away the Good: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00KQ3CKBI?tag

Magic Resistant: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00MRMX2I6?tag

Sylvia’s Torment: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00TQ41FLE?tag

Dawn’s Keeper: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00YI58GQ8?tag

Assassinated Love: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B010YTQVQ8?tag

Chained in Desire: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01EBQWUGA?tag

The Love of a Good Fae: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01N8W9WKC?tag

Enticed by Darkness: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01L6FY42M?tag

Dabbling in Magic: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B06XSGJR3M?tag

 

